We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Cabin?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frisco Woods Campground
Broadway, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haunted Cabin?”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just spent 7nights here and had a blast! The price is reasonable for the number of people the cabins accommodate but it would be nice if the full size mattress wasn't so thin as our hipbones were digging into the plywood bed all night. Rectified this situation by taking the two extra twin mattresses and putting them side by side underneath the full mattress. We brought a mini fridge which would be another nice convenience if they could add a couple ammenities to the cabins. The only weird thing I am left wondering is if our cabin was haunted. I can't find any other reviews or stories about this but one member of my party heard somebody calling her on the last night of our stay and felt a small child's hand push her as if nidgingg her to get up and this happened twice. Anyways, not worried about it, I felt very comfortable here.
Otherwise the bath house was always very clean, we enjoyed kayaking on the sound out back and the pool is very nice with ample seating and a cute wooden rockingn deck chair.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hlt2obx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    52
    19
    11
    20
See reviews for
69
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First let me say that we have never been to OBX or Hatteras during the peak season - I would imagine it can get quite crowded during the summer! We hit Frisco Woods at least once per year - always the first two weeks in June (arriving after Memorial Day Weekend), then usually again in the Fall, sometimes as late as Thanksgiving Weekend. We always stay on one of the soundfront, full hook-up sites in our travel trailer. We are beach people, and love to surf fish, so spend most of the daytimes on the beaches from Avon to Hatteras Inlet. Evenings at Frisco Woods are great - best sunsets around! Watching the windsurfers and kite boarders is always fun.

We seldom use the washrooms or pool, but the pool has always looked clean, and the washrooms near the pool have been recently redone and air conditioned. The utilities have always worked, although the WiFi is sometimes spotty, and we have never had a problem with late partiers - although it does look like some of the young people have fun down in the tent area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wiliwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My favorite place to go...some sites are a few steps literally from the sound...nicest sunsets I've ever seen..photographers dream. Not a fancy campground but the sound is beautiful...not deep, great for kids to play in, dogs to play in, kayaks, boards etc. the access road to the beach if you want to drive on the beach is very convenient..nice people in the office

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdeleRouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A friend and I decided last minute to take a weekend trip to the OBX. After looking at hotels, almost everything was either sold out for a Saturday night or was expensive. I researched other options on TripAdvisor and found Frisco Woods Campground. I am so glad we found this gem of a place because we will be returning the next time we stay overnight in the OBX. Frisco and the southern beaches are so much more laid back and "local" compared to the northern beaches (Corolla, Duck). Reserving a spot was easy over the phone and they had plenty of availability even though it was less than a week notice. Once we arrived, we checked in at the office and were able to set up our campsite right away. Everyone staying at the campground was really nice and courteous (a neighbor helped us blow up our inflatable chairs for the sound after seeing us struggle to blow them up ourselves!) We reserved site P60 but once arriving we decided to stay in site P59 because it was more shaded which wasn't not a problem because all we had to do was call the office and we switched. We did not use the bathrooms that were closest to us because we heard the bathrooms by the pool were much nicer and they were! They were 3 private shower stalls and when we went to shower there was a little bit of a wait but i guess it just depends on the time you do. This is a great alternative when staying in the OBX . We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbrow022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Was our fourth year in a row staying at Frisco Woods Campground. The owner was very kind and helpful to us as well as his employees in the midst of an impending hurricane evacuation. Sunsets are beautiful every night. I recommend staying in sites C18 - C24. Amazing to stay there for two whole weeks. Newly revamped and climate controlled bathhouse was a treat after three years of it being run down. I would guess that many more improvements are on the way.

Room Tip: waterfront sites have better sunset views
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellwood City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Sadly, this is true. Our dog was attacked by another (unleashed) dog while my young daughter was holding our dog's leash. I tried to speak with the owner. He refused to help beyond giving the other dog owner a reminder. He stepped uncomfortably and threateningly close to me. He raised his voice several times saying that he is NOT responsible for keeping his patrons safe, his sign stating that dogs MUST be kept on a leash was only for his protection, and it is "not his job to make me happy." I walked away from gim, and he was yelling after me as i left. I felt so uncomfortable that we checked out a week early. Very strange and scary experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pumpernudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slf1552, Manager at Frisco Woods Campground, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Owner refunded this guests money (which he was not obligated to do) told them to file a police report and take their pet to the veterinarian in order to start a legal claim against the other pet owner. There was nothing further the owner could do under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frisco hotels

Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first time we had been to the OBX. Staying a Frisco Woods was nice. Our site was in very close proximity to the sound. We were able to enjoy the beautiful sunsets without leaving our camping site. The staff was friendly. Due to circumstances Frisco Woods allowed us to pay for just a few nights at a time so don't be miss lead by their Webb site. The one set of bathrooms had been remodeled and were really nice. The other bathrooms were ok but no air conditioner. The bad thing that I really hated was cigarette butts at our campsite. A special thank you to the Hispanic lady who cleaned the bathrooms. She was very friendly and everyday she got them really clean and fresh! The camp ground is in close proximity to several beach accesses, the ferry, Hatteras Island Ocean Center and much more. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeannLikesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frisco
5.9 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
3.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
69 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frisco Woods Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Woods Campground

Property: Frisco Woods Campground
Address: 53124 Nc Highway 12, PO Box 100, Frisco, Hatteras Island, NC 27936
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Frisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Frisco Woods Campground Hotel Frisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing