We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIX always good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Clayton
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Garner
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

As with others, this HIX offers good value. It is a nice clean room with a comfortable bed and all the necessary room amenities. Free breakfast includes eggs and 1 meat. I would prefer catsup and hot sauce to be available. Worst problem for me was they offer no "same day" laundry service, but price for laundry was great. Not easy to find, tucked in behind a Cracker Barrell but worth the effort.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

we appreciate your thoughts on our property

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel when visiting the Raleigh - Cary North Carolina area. It is right on the Highway 40 / Highway 42 exit so it is very easy to access off of Highway I-40 via Exit 312. Since it is only 8 minutes from nearby shoppes in Garner, NC White Oak Shopping Center and 10 minutes to either Cary or Raleigh, NC you are close to everything, but at less expense. Beds are great, bathrooms are great, and breakfast bar is good, but there is a Cracker Barrel 20 yards away, so just walk across the parking lot. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Even though you seem close to the interstate, there is no road noise at all, so no worries on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very clean, modern hotel. Great breakfast and room. Comfortable bed, nice TV, great furnishings and bath. Manager was awesome! Let us see and inspect our room prior to booking. Very helpful and accommodating. Could not have ask for more. Great service! Great value, will stay again. Highly recommend! Ranks right up there with more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28ACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Everything was clean and neat friendly staff comfortable bedding plenty of room in the rooms for moving around! I will stay again for sure on our next trip through. Breakfast needs some work but not horrible Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Nov 10. Rooms were clean. Heater did not work properly, very loud noise. No wash cloths. Alarm clock did not work. Wake up call button on phone did not work. Finally, no ability to print boarding passes. Not terrible, location has many restaurants, some within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wedge777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

issues that concerned you have been addressed and fixed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We've stayed in one-star hotels and five-star hotels and the Holiday Inn Express is squarely in the middle. Check-in was not as smooth as it might have been. We visited Raleigh for a college graduation and several major universities in the Research Triangle scheduled their graduations for the same weekend. We arrived a little after 11:00 pm and had to wait about five minutes for someone to show up at the reception desk. Since the hotel was fully booked, it was not enough to show the reservation confirmation, I was asked to show the credit card I used to make the reservation.

On the plus side: the room was large, with the amenities you would expect from a national chain. The hotel was quite, despite the fact that there was at least one high-school basketball team staying there. they served a complementary breakfast from 5:30 to 9:30 am.

Not so great: the breakfast was buffet-style and the choices were fairly limited. The flavor and texture of the scrambled eggs were sub-par. At a restaurant, I would have sent them back.

I found the bed comfortable, but my wife did not.

Room Tip: I made the reservation only two days in advance, through Hotels.com, starting from the Find a Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeFlynnLaPlataMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I have never written a review and rarely find anything to complain about in a Hotel stay. I feel I pain @ least twice the value of the room, as the bed was very uncomfortable, televion is older model, hall on 3rd floor and room around 90* upon checkin. Hall still hot upon checkout. I have stayed in mycg nicer hotels for much less money. I shared this with management and he didn't seem too concerned. Not his money. No more of mine : )

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelsafe4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garner
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh / Clayton I-40
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Clayton
Comfort Suites Clayton
#1 of 2 in Clayton
78 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Garner/Raleigh South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 9 in Garner
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Garner
Sleep Inn Garner
#7 of 9 in Garner
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Garner/Clayton/Raleigh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Clayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Clayton

Address: 105 Leone Ct, exit 312 I-40 & hwy 42, Garner, NC 27529-8475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Garner
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Garner
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Clayton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Clayton / Garner, located approximately 12 miles southeast of Raleigh and just minutes from many Johnston and Wake County attractions. The hotel offers easy access to I-40 at Exit 312 and is located just inside the Johnston County line. Alltel Pavilion and other convenient venues are all within a short distance from the hotel. There are also several major businesses within a short driving distance like Talecris Biotherapeutics, Caterpillar, Novo Nordisk, and PCX Corp. The hotel is also convenient to shopping and dinning including the Cracker Barrel and Ruby Tuesday. One of the larges shopping centers in the area is located within 6 miles of your stay at Holiday Inn Express - Clayton / Garner. We offer free High Speed Internet and local calls, delicious Express Start Breakfast Bar, 24hr. Front Desk Attendant, safe deposit boxes at the front desk. We provide a hair dryer, coffee pot/Smart Roast coffee, and iron/iron board in every room. Guest comfort and satisfaction are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Clayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Clayton Hotel Garner
Holiday Inn Garner
Garner Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing