We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garysburg
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This certainly not a fancy spot to stay, but I always stay here if I have my dogs with me. The only place that lets pets stay for free!!! I don't need anything fancy to just get some sleep and stop on the highway. Front desk staff are always pleasant, and there is a gas station and burger king right next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husbands family was having a reunion in the area. We choose Super 8 and what a surprise. The price was right and the hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. This will be the stop for my family members when we travel through the area.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a good night sleep stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I feel that our card used to save our room online was spitefully charged for a 3 night stay because we politely complained to the desk about the broken AC in our room 15 minutes after check-in on the 4th of July weekend. We requested to leave the hotel and stay some place else since online said they were booked up. Well, I'm 8 months pregnant and was not going to stay in a hot room. The front desk lady said we would be responsible for at least a 1 night charge, so we used a different card for the transaction, no problem. 30 minutes later, while at another hotel, we noticed Super 8 charged us, anyway, for the whole 3 nights using the card I saved to make the reservation online. When we called Super 8, the front desk lady working Thursday night on the 3rd behaved incompetently about the extra charge claiming she didn't see it, which was well over $200 dollars. We asked for the manager and she said she was not there, so we left our info to receive a return call, but the desk clerk called us back instead to explain again how she only see's a 1 night charge. For what purpose she decided to call, I do not know, because I wasn't trying to hear that when I was currently looking at the charge on my online statement. Finally, we got a call from the manager at Super 8 and she was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. She fixed the mess that was made by the clerk and did it promptly. The charge was reversed and refunded. I was very pleased with the manager and thankful for what she did. Because of desk clerks like the one we experienced, I do not recommend online reservations if you feel you may be unsatisfied with your room. This hotel is not likely to book up, so I suggest walk -ins only. My husband and I felt access to our credit card was abused intentionally because we wanted to leave the hotel rather than switch to another room. Financial errors of this sort could place a damper on your holiday plans, especially when the error was completely avoidable. So, please be advised.

Room Tip: Make sure the heat and air work properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meke-Meke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very poor service
Horrible experience
Save yourselves the trouble of going there
Front desk isn't at all helpful
They take upfront money and don't provide any service
rooms are not clean linen is dirty

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eshaqj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

DO NOT PUNISH YOURSELVES by going to this motel. The bullet proof reception window should have warned us, but we were tired driving all day and needed a place to crash. So I ignored the “red flag” warning signs of a motel which needs bullet proof reception.

Anyways, after checking in, we found the room was hot and humid, the air conditioner was not working, we called the front desk and he came in after about half an hour. He tried to fix it but couldn’t do it. He then asked us to wait for an hour more to see if the AC works! I refused, and asked for another room immediately. We also pointed out to him that the liens were worn and had spots on it, the shower did not have water pressure, and there were some foul smells in the room. He eventually gave us another room. But we discovered that although the AC in that room was working, rest of the room was as bad, if not worse than the previous room.

We were too exhausted to have another conversation with the front desk and tried to get some sleep as it was about mid-night and we were planning to resume our journey South by 7 am. But we couldn’t. The stink, the foul smelling bed sheets etc was just too just much. There was also a lot of commotion and arguments going out in the parking lot throughout the night.

Although they take full payment when you check in, they give you payment receipt only when come back to the front desk to check out, else they don’t! (Does it have to do with avoiding IRS/ taxes on rooms paid for by cash? I don’t know.) So at checkout I went to collect my receipt and the clerk gave me an invoice for TWO rooms stating that we had used two rooms. I said off course, we there sweating in the 90 degrees heat for an hour till we were able to get an alternate room. I said how anyone stay in a room 85-90 degrees with no AC or fan? But she did not relent. I asked the receptionist to call the Duty Manager listed as Ms Patel, but she refused to neither come in person nor speak to me on the intercom. After the receptionist discussed my case with her on intercom, she told me the matter is settled and handed my invoice for one room that I signed. Imagine my frustration when the next day I discovered that they charged my card once at night, and again second time in the morning!

Once we drove off from there about an hour or so drive south, we come across many billboards of motel chains advertising their current rate which was in between $30 to $50, almost 50% of what we paid! We got ripped off not just rate wise, but got charged twice for the rat hole!

My suggestion to the travelers going South, just dive on for an hour or two max and you will get a better value and priced motels then this rat hole and those traveling North, do stop a bit early to give this Super 8 Roanake Rapids Motel a miss.

My earlier experience with Super 8 had been acceptable, but this franchisee has ensured that my family and friends will not be giving any of our business to Super 8 unless they remove or rein in what I believe to be such unscrupulous operators who double charge their unsuspecting guests, cut corners and pinch pennies to make larger profits and give horrible time to their guest.

Super 8 Chain could do well and put in some random inspection program that ensures to us customers some minimum level of room cleanliness and service standards that are actually in practice rather than only in manuals.

But alsas, I don’t see that happening. Their royalty comes from these operators, and they will not discomfort the goose that lays them eggs! It is their short term profits v/s long term losses. As more and more people get ripped off by similar franchises and starts avoiding Super 8, the time to redeem their goodwill may have already passed them by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Asme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garysburg
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke Rapids
Hampton Inn Roanoke Rapids
#1 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
683 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Rapids
Quality Inn Roanoke Rapids
#3 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Roanoke Rapids
Sleep Inn Roanoke Rapids
#6 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Roanoke Rapids
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Weldon Roanoke Rapids
5.0 mi away
Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids

Address: 6785 Nc Highway 46, Garysburg, NC 27831-9630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Garysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garysburg
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing