We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fare in a lovely place...”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #128 of 229 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh fare in a lovely place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Great food! Very fresh, I recommend the bento boxes. Also had the ika salad, wonderful blend of flavors. My husband had the pork Gyoza followed by chicken fried rice. Not very adventurous on his part, but we both agreed The quality was superior to what we have had elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and very convenient to the Movies.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Our friends have been telling us about this place for a while. We decided to try it out before going to the movies. Their Sushi is excellent. I got one of the combos and the waiter was very attentive. He brought out a varied selection of sauces. Really liked their Eel Sauce. We'll definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

service good, food good. nice place. we will try them again. we have been in a few times, its always good and the place is always clean and neat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenee i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sushi was very fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Service was good and so was the fresh sushi. The meal was reasonably priced as well. The atmosphere is OK.

Helpful?
Thank AEN524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Took Way TOO Long --- Not worth it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The sushi was so so, but not very good. We had to wait almost an HOUR to get our food, and there were not many people in there. When we asked the server if it was almost ready, she said it would be ready in a minute. Then she kept saying that every time she came back through. Then she said there was a big group in front of us. I think she was just making up stuff off the top of her head. They did not offer to comp our meal or even part of it. She just kept saying, " I hope it was so delicious, it made you forget how long it took." LOL - NOT!

Oh and it was super expensive --- my husband and I got 2 rolls each, and he got a soda, and the bill was close to $30. RIP OFF.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banjopickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing