We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”
Review of Burke Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burke Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Burke Manor Inn is a hidden gem. The accommodations are impeccable as the owners have paid attention to every possible detail. The only thing that surpasses the accommodations is the restaurant. I had the best meal that I have had in a long time at Saint Jacques. A meal at Saint Jacques is an event, not just dinner. The food and service were five star in all respects. I highly recommend this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10s4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Burke Manor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hubby & I really needed to get away from it all but due to life, work and family commitments we really had no time for a lengthy vacation. We booked one night at The Burke Manor Inn, drove the 70 minutes it takes to get there from our home and could not have been more pleased with our choice!! This was just what the doctor ordered!! We arrived on a Sunday evening, received a very warm welcome, had champagne & chocolates (& gourmet sandwiches!) waiting for us in our suite (we stayed in the "Perch") and everything from the linens to our cooked-to-order breakfast the next morning was PERFECT!!
Speaking of breakfast - Emily is not only an exceptional chef she made our morning so bright & happy chatting with us at our table!
Although we were only able to get away for one day/night, we honestly felt as refreshed and rejuvenated as if we had spent a week there!! We so loved our stay at The Burke that we have already booked a return trip for later this month!! And this time we will be there for THREE days, this time arriving on a Sat. evening so we can also indulge in dinner at Saint Jacques!
Thank you Lil & Lori, Emily, Wendy & Raquel and everyone at The Burke Manor Inn : )

Room Tip: We took a tour of the Inn and were able to check out almost all of the rooms. The way the Inn is sit...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Burke Manor Inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting Elon University. The inn provides a nice alternative to the econo-chain hotels in the area.
The salon and eating areas in the main house are elegant and lovely. We stayed in the Provence cottage which was clean and comfortable. It included a small bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette area and living room with a pull out couch, as well as some antiques, two flat screen T.V.s, complimentary snacks and bottled water.
My only complaint is the wall between separating our room from the other guest's was paper thin so we could hear everything.
What more than made up for that inconvenience was the extraordinary dinner we had; one of the best I have ever had. I felt transported to France for the evening. In addition to the appetizer, entree, and dessert we were served a complimentary bite of alligator and sorbet between courses. We were lucky to meet the owner who added to the experience with interesting conversation.
Although the room and meal were more expensive than other options in the area, they were an incredible value and more than worth the experience.

Room Tip: Request a room other than in Provence unless you are sharing with friends/family.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Inn was beautiful and the staff was attentive and did not miss a detail. right down to the flowers in the room on our suite on arrival. (A 5 star hotel in Charleston SC missed that on our 25th anniversary) I invited 12 guests for a 50th surprise party for my wife from PA and NJ. We had previously dined at their restaurant in Raleigh but never saw the Inn until arrival so I felt I was taking a chance. Was delighted to find the rooms were wonderful, pleasantly decorated in French themes. The food, of course, was unsurpassed. Rooms were very nice and clean but the attention of the staff gave me, as host, the confidence to enjoy the occasion and guests without worrying about the facility or service. Wonderful memories THANK YOU BURKE MANOR!

(The party guests enjoyed themselves so much that they want to plan a party reunion at the Manor for next year!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the "best" room but I felt that except maybe for a few square feet the rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second trip to the Burke Manor Inn in Gibsonville, NC. The first time our schedule was such that we could only stay one night. However, this time we returned to the Burke Manor Inn for a two night stay in Room 204! Please know that the pictures on their website do not do this room justice! It is much, much nicer than the pictures reveal (even though the pictures are, also, indeed beautiful.) The room is elegant, charming, and comfortable! We enjoyed a good night's sleep on the beautiful bed in Room 204. The bathroom is simply gorgeous with the cedar woodwork, chandelier lighting, and water massage shower! Breakfast at the Burke was delicious! The Burke Manor Inn is a "first class" B&B with customer service that exceeds expectation! One of the owners, Lori, was on site the second morning of our stay. She was both warm and friendly. The staff at the Burke Manor are excellent. . . they are friendly, helpful, and make you feel right at home. We cannot say enough about the customer service and wonderful job the staff does. . . they are great! Needless to say, we thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at this B&B and our trip to the quaint town of Gibsonville, NC. The Burke Manor Inn is a lovely place for a "get away!" We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: This room is prettier than it appears in the pictures on the website!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvs2BB4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Unfortunately, I'm unable to write a review on the Inn due to having my reservation cancelled by the staff. Our family was looking for a one night get-away not too far from home. We had a gift certificate for the Burke Manor Inn. After multiple attempts to call to make a reservation, it took days for someone to return my call. I booked our reservation and mentioned we would have our son in tow. I had read their policy on children and while it said it might not be the best environment, it wasn't a clear "children aren't allowed" message. Shortly after my reservation was made, I got a message fromt he staff saying my reservation had been cancelled due to their policy on children. I see now they've updated their policy to say "Prior authorization, from the Burke Manor Management team, is required for anyone wishing to bring children under the age of 8." Still not a clear no. I would have appreciated an explanation or reason, rather than a message turning us away. I have family in the B&B industry and even they were a bit surprised in how this was handled.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Owner at Burke Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Mrs. Frye,

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and always value when guests reach out. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations, even though, after our investigation, it appears our staff did all they were supposed to in order to uphold our policies and to communicate them clearly.
Our records indicate you first contacted us on October 21st about wanting to make a reservation with a standard room gift certificate. We informed you of the presence of a wedding party on the day you requested and only suites would be available. We extended the offer to double check with management to visit any possibility. Once a management decision was concluded upon, we returned your call. As no one answered, we left you a message regarding a slight price addition would you want to stay in one of the suites on that chosen day, the upcoming Saturday.
On your second call, you confirmed receiving our information but, had to check with your husband prior to booking the room and, for the first time, you inquired about the rules and policy stated on the website regarding bringing your 2 year old son. We cautioned you that, approval from a manager was required would you want to go ahead and make the reservation.
On October 22nd, you made the reservation with a different staff member without mentioning a child and only after the room was booked did you mention your knowledge of our policy and the presence of the wedding party but assured us your 2 year old son would remain quiet during your stay.
The staff member then reiterated our policy and told you, she would have to confirm your reservation with management as the presence of a child was involved.
Because of the Inn's delicate situation due to the wedding party, we were unable to confirm your reservation and after being unable to reach you directly, we left a message explaining the matter and encouraged you to contact us with any questions.
Our policy is not "a clear no", as while doing all we can to please as many requests as possible, we want to maintain the right to treat each of them on a case by case basis and accommodate families with children when possible. Our highest priority in any situation is to ensure and maintain a serene environment for all of our guests.
Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
The Burke Manor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed last weekend for dinner and the night. Food was spectacular, service was excellent. We stayed in room 101. The positives: bathroom was probably the best I have ever seen and this is compared to 5 star hotels. Room was adequate but that was all we needed as we did not spend much time there. Unfortunately the mattress needs replacing. My back still hurts....a lot...and that was 3 nights ago. Also, due to the location of this room things got a little noisy when people were coming and going. We put all the pillows and such in front of the door but you could still hear the noise. I would recommend picking a room on the highest floor possible.

Breakfast the next day was fantastic.

Room Tip: pick highest room available. pay the extra $$.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogus n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsonville
4.5 mi away
Ramada Burlington Hotel & Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Burlington
Red Roof Inn Burlington
#11 of 15 in Burlington
109 reviews
6.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burke Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burke Manor Inn

Address: 303 Burke St, Gibsonville, NC 27249-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Gibsonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsonville
Price Range: £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored 1906 home which offers the amenities and privacy desired by today's traveler. Sits on 3.5 acres and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Enjoy complimentary snacks and drinks, a great nights rest and a full gourmet breakfast, all included in the rate. 'It's not how far away you go but how far away you feel.' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing