We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glade Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glade Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick retreat for Valentine's weekend. We had never been to a B&B so we decided to give it a try. Jim and Margaret's home was beautiful. Hunter greated us at our car door and showed us the way. The house was set back in a very large secluded lot. Very easy to find. We were greated by the hosts and given a tour of the home and where we would be staying. Homemade chocolate chip cookies and lemonade awaited us. We stayed in the Denali room. We were getting snow all day so we could not enjoy the large deck outside our bedroom door. We relaxed in our jacuzzi tub. Margaret made a wonderful breakfast (and made a goodie plate of left over cinnimon buns to take home) the next morning and we enjoyed talking about this history of the home and chatting with the other couple also staying that weekend. The whole place was spotlesss, candy bowl awaited in our room, bath and body works soaps and lotion in the bathroom, and soft comfy robes in the closet. We relaxed all our stress away. We will definitely return when the weather gets warmer so we can enjoy the outdoors. We highly recommend this property for anyone traveling the Blue Ridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceGirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    3
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
84
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

First, this was the best bed my husband and I slept in on our vacation! Breakfast was plentiful with options for everyone. The rooms were clean, but not overly quiet as we could hear the couple next door to us talking. It was perfect for us for the one night to sleep. Note: There is no television in the room and the deck off the room was a shared narrow deck.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tako59
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A couple of years ago, my husband and I stopped at this B&B and found it to be very comfortable. This year, we went back for just one night and really felt at home. We loved chatting with the other guests and Jim and Margaret were their same hospitable selves. Margaret was busy making baked goods for the Farmer's Market, but somehow the chocolate chip cookie plate stayed full with warm cookies. Having left our furbabies at home, Hunter sensed our emptiness and was a playful companion. The cat was friendly, too, so we felt right at home. The bed was comfortable, small touches such as fresh flowers in the room and sweet treats capped off a perfect stay. The only negative thing about this place is that is so far away from our home.

Room Tip: We stayed in Yosemite and the fireplace really added ambience to our night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tako59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Recommended by friends, and it was a GREAT recommendation.

Quiet, with convienent access off of the Blue Ridge Parkway, for those taking the leisurely route through the mountains of North Carolina. The hosts - Jim and Margaret Connor - enjoy meeting new people, and it shows in the hospitality they afford their guests. Hunter, the wonder dog, was there to welcome us, and say goodbye, as expected. The Denali room had the advertised moose and bear in the room, and they were agreeable companions too.

The breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: Those with older knees, like us, appreciated having a first floor room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainmaster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast is a lovely, secluded mountain hideaway. Tucked back on a very private lot, away from the sounds of traffic, yet very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, I could feel stress just melt away as soon as we drove up. Hunter, their ever-vigilant canine companion, greeted us as soon as we stepped out of the car. He made us welcome and walked us to the door, where we were greeted by Jim and Margaret. The whole house is an absolutely beautiful log cabin, with comfortable and private rooms and baths. We stayed in the Denali room, and loved the comfortable bed as well as the huge deck just outside the back door of our room. Jim and Margaret are gracious hosts who have thought of everything for their guests' comfort. The food is great and the ambiance perfect for the location. For a small additional fee, Margaret even prepared a picnic for us to take on our drive down the Blue Ridge Parkway. My only regret is that we only stayed one night. Guess we'll have to come back when we can stay longer!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Denali room, so I can't really speak to others. I would certainly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had such a wonderful time. The moment we arrived we were greeted by their lovely dog, Hunter. So cute! The hosts recommended restaurants for dinner and greeted us with homemade cookies and lemonade. Yes! We stayed in the Yosemite room, which was lovely and I was able to take a very relaxing bath. That night was the BEST night of sleep I had all week (out of 6 other B&Bs). Breakfast was a traditional and YUMMO southern breakfast - cheesy grits, biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs, cinnamon rolls, etc... a meal fit for a king (or queen). Most of all, we enjoyed their company. We talked and talked during breakfast about their home and received goodbye hugs as we were leaving. If you are traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway - make a stop at Glade Valley.

Room Tip: The Yosemite room and Yellowstone are right behind the kitchen... so if you are a late sleeper or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masongirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that was close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and this B&B was perfect. The house was beautiful, and very clean. Jim and Margaret are great hosts along with their dog, Hunter, that greeted us by the car. Our room, the Mauna Loa, was very nice. They also provided a delicious breakfast with plenty of food. If we are traveling through NC again, we would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glade Valley
7.6 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
85 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
563 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
14.8 mi away
The Doctor's Inn
The Doctor's Inn
#1 of 3 in Galax
110 reviews
13.3 mi away
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast
Address: 330 Shaw Ln, Glade Valley, NC 28627-9605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Glade Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glade Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast is the coziest place to stay in Alleghany County, North Carolina. It is located within walking distance of the Blue Ridge Parkway and is less than 7 miles from Sparta, North Carolina. Built in 2006 the Glade Valley Bed and Breakfast is perfect for a tranquil escape. It has 5 guest suites with private baths. Accommodations also include a full country breakfast that you will never forget! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing