We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn At Glen Alpine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Eastanollee, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have ever visited”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at the Inn at Glen Alpine in a year. Each time we have been trated like royalty. Jane is more than an innkeeper - she is more like a favorite relative we don't get to see often enough. She prepares a special breakfast
just for me because of food allergies. That is above and beyond any expectations we have for B&B's anywhere. The Inn is immaculately clean, wonderfully comfortable, and ahhh, that porch!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpaxton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
56
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I have to say the home is beautiful, private bathrooms in each room, nice porch but I feel like you need to be a type to actually enjoy being there and not "bother" Jane i think was her name. Don't come in to late or shes gone to bed and she doesn't leave her front door unlocked no keypad/code and you'll wake her up to get in. No requests for breakfast. If your personality or childrens isn't a certain way you may notice her personality go from 'warm' to where you can tell shes ready for your stay to be done. I've never met someone who seems like there not a people person but they own an Inn and have strangers stay in there home? Bed and breakfasts are nice but only certain types I guess.You'd have to be the judge on this one. Also sheer curtains in the rooms so you'll have blinding sun at about 7am to wake up to no dark anything to cover it up to sleep in. oh yeah the cable she has is the worst I've ever seen like 20-25 channels no movies to curl up and watch, weird channels and programs I have never seen, like Islam talk or something weird, and sports like pool, bowling, blew.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAndersonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We were attending a wedding in near by Morganton. Our preference is always a bed and breakfast and we found this one on line and read the reviews. We made the perfect choice for our weekend. The home is beautiful, the porch inviting, the breakfast delicious, the wine and cheese in the evenings delightful. And all even better because our our gracious hostess, Jane. The room was very spacious and comfortable but we spent most of our time outside on the front porch just relaxing and enjoying conversation with other guests. Although it was a wedding that brought us to the area, the Inn at Glen Alpine is a place we could easily run away to for a get-away weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rslinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I was in Morganton on business and wasn't overwhelmed with the selection of local hotels (I think it's just the Hampton Inn?). I found Jane's lovely B&B and booked a room here. Picture perfect, flawlessly clean, and positively fantastic host AND at a reasonable price. Couldn't ask for much better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyLexKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

What a delightful, historic, and "home away from home" place to stay! Jane is as delightful a host as one could hope for with a flair for breakfast and a historian, par excellence! The ambience of this lofty southern estate is elegant, yet homey offering to us a kingsize featherbed and old charm furnishings. If you are looking for an peaceful, comfortable, elegant, yet affordable place to stay, the Inn at Glen Alpine is it! It also is a beautiful setting and accomdation for weddings and family celebrations. Perhaps one we may enjoy in the future...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbk678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington KY
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Great breakfasts and wonderful ambiance. Innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. Convenient to beautiful mountains with parks and incredible views. Lovely evenings on the porch even during thunder and lightning storms.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalpalLexingtonKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Jane is a warm and wonderful host and her homemade breakfast and cookies are not to be missed! If you're looking for a B&B with southern charm and a warm welcome this is the place for you. Theres a great history to the house that Jane will be happy to tell you and she even has photographs. Every room is absolutely beautifully restored and decorated with lovely little trinkets. Thank you so much Jane for a lovely stay, we'll be back!

  • Liked — the house and the host
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arcoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Alpine
17.5 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
198 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 9 in Morganton
330 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Morganton
76 reviews
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
125 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 9 in Morganton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Glen Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Glen Alpine

Property: The Inn At Glen Alpine
Address: 105 Davis Street, Glen Alpine, NC 28628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Glen Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At Glen Alpine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1913 Country Manor turned Bed & Breakfast offers four luxurious guest rooms including two suites, spacious and elegant common rooms, a 'green' environment, the best porch in Burke County and unbeatable outdoor event space. In November 2014 your new hosts, Teresa and Craig Sellman, purchased the Inn. After 6 months of renovation (which we like to call ‘putting red lipstick on the pretty lady’, as the house was already so beautiful), the Inn At Glen Alpine has opened its doors once again. Conveniently located 3 miles off Interstate 40, the Inn At Glen Alpine is only 50 miles east of Asheville, 25 miles west of Hickory and 30 minutes to the entrance of the famous Blue Ridge Parkway. A short 6 miles to the east finds you in the historic town of Morganton, the Burke County seat. Surrounded by the natural beauty of the Appalachian foothills, South Mountain, Grandfather Mountain and adjacent to the southeast corner of Pisgah National Forest, you will experience all the best there is to offer from outdoor activity to nearby historic towns in the heart of Western North Carolina. A short drive brings you to many amazing local wineries and breweries (Lake James Winery is within walking distance!), and just 10 minutes from the Inn you will find Lake James State Park which was voted the best state park in North Carolina in 2014. Breakfast at the Inn is a feast not soon to be forgotten! We specialize in locally sourced ingredients and allergy friendly alternatives to all your breakfast favorites, especially gluten free. With the new addition of a commercial kitchen, we proudly offer a la carte meals that can be served in your room, in the beautiful dining room, on the porch or taken to go as you embark on your outdoor adventures. The Inn At Glen Alpine is also a Premier Event Site in Burke County with an outdoor pavilion available for all your celebration needs. With a 200+ space parking field, events of all types can be held from weddings and reunions to festivals and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn At Glen Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing