We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to stay here forever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendale Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New River Inn and Cottages
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I wanted to stay here forever!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family and I are on a road trip and stayed here two nights ago. It is the best place I have been to since arriving in America. I booked some time ago and at the time was a bit concerned as I had some trouble booking using their website and had to phone several times. So when we arrived and Faye told us there was a mix up with the computer and spelling my name wrong had resulted in her giving Drew cottage (2 bedroom) to someone else my heart sank. But then she said she would give us Emily cottage (3 bedroom) at no extra cost, so panic over.
The cottage was beautiful. It was at the end of the grounds with a view over open fields and a lake. The cottage had two floors and a porch with a rocking chair and swing seat on. The early evening sun shone down and I could have sat on that porch swing for ever, it is my idea of heaven. Inside the cottage there was a kitchen/dining room at one end and a sitting area at the other, with a beautiful stone chimney, everything else is decorated in wood. The main bedroom is downstairs also, with a huge en suite bathroom. Upstairs are the other two bedrooms which are open to the downstairs via bannisters. There is also a bathroom upstairs with shared access from both bedrooms.
Everything was clean and looked new, like it had only just been built. Faye and Bobby made us feel very welcome. It was a beautiful place to stay and I would have liked to spend longer there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at New River Inn I will start with the welcome we received was so heart warming with a big howdy and walking us to our room. The room was spotless!!! The cleanses room I've ever stayed in. Bobby was the friendless and most accommodating ever, like a new best friend. Will close with the beautiful grounds the were so very will kept. Can't wait for a return trip:)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We originally wanted to stay in the 1BR cottage, but it was already booked, so we opted for a King bedroom. The door opens to the outside which is nice since you can park right in front of your window. This place definitely has an outdoor cottage type feel. The Lee House has a deck where you can sit outside in rocking chairs and enjoy the country view. We enjoyed the stay so much we are going back real soon to stay in that cottage with a hot tub. Thank you Bobby and Faye. We'll see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hillary327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I, and our dog Sadie, visited the New River Inn for a second time in early June, reserving the same room. Again, the room was very clean, had everything we needed, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We hope to stay again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonesFamily323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Avoid this motel, I killed at least 15 earwigs on the bed, spiders on the walls and a few crickets, nothing that would do you harm but who wants bugs crawling on them at night. The smoke alarm's battery was missing and their wasn't any coffee or cups in the room, just a dirty coffee maker. The next morning at 8:00am the office/Lee House was locked making the continental breakfast with coffee impossible to obtain. The note on the door with a number to call is another hurdle since T-Mobile doesn't have coverage there. The room was clean with clean sheets and the TV worked so I opted to stay since I was extremely tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have been staying here weekend after weekend since Oct. 2013. WE LOVE IT!!! It is our home away from home. Bobby and Faye have been so kind and generous to us, we consider them friends. You will not be disappointed. The Inn is wonderful, the ppl in Glendale Springs are so very kind, and you are right on the Blue Ridge Parkway. <If you are traveling to Boone/Blowing Rock you are only 30 min away by the Parkway, you can be close but not in all the traffic.>

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I,along with our dog, spent 3 nights at this motel last weekend. Our king size room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and had everything we needed. The guy who checked us in and looked after our needs was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking the grounds and sitting on the nice deck at the Lee House. The cottages looked very nice also and we hope there will be a pet friendly cottage offered in the near future. Thank you for a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonesFamily323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Springs
6.6 mi away
Nation's Inn
Nation's Inn
#3 of 4 in West Jefferson
85 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
85 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
321 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Vista Inn
Park Vista Inn
#2 of 5 in West Jefferson
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New River Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New River Inn and Cottages

Property: New River Inn and Cottages
Address: 264 Trading Post Rd, Glendale Springs, NC 28629-9108
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Glendale Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glendale Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North Carolina mountains, off the Blue Ridge Parkway, you will find the New River Inn and Cottages. The New River Inn features 20 rooms total, 16 doubles and 4 king bed units. Rates from $49/night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing