We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and Secluded! Worth the trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenville B&B and Inns
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic and Secluded! Worth the trip!”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband and I were recommended to the Innisfree Inn by a friend who stayed there 10 years ago! It was so memorable for them and it is now a wonderful memory for us as well!
Clare & Henry are delightful Hosts and make you feel so welcome with their inviting smiles and their sheer enjoyment in making your stay the best it can be. We stayed in the Lord Tennyson Suite in the Garden House which is one of the largest suites and well worth it! The furnishings are tasteful and every detail in it meant to keep the guest pleased---and we were! The romantic fireplace that can be viewed in the bedroom area as well as the bathroom made the romance divine! Fabulous tub for 2 overlooking the mountains at sundown or the little porch balcony had us mesmerized with the Fall leaves and mountain views. A lovely breakfast served in your room left us wanting to spend one more day!!!!
One of the best B&B's we've stayed in!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lord Tennyson Suite in the Garden house although other guests we spoke to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I decided to "get out of the Atlanta heat" at the last minute and came across Innisfree on the internet. We arrived on Friday at the time of the hosted Happy Hour with the other guests at the Inn. The hosts, Henry and Claire, were a delight! They made dinner reservations for us, gave us interesting walking directions and entertained us one morning with a boat ride on the lake. The weather was perfect, the grounds were beautiful and I read a book while sitting in front of a beautiful pond one afternoon. A full, hot breakfast was served each morning.......the food was delicious! The guest room was not decorated in my taste, but it was clean and used towels were replaced each time we left the room.
I am very picky about lodging and have traveled extensively on business for over 20 years. Innisfree Victorian Inn was a pleasant surprise and relief from everyday corporate travel.

Room Tip: Garden House has larger rooms which were all taken when we reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbcwilliams2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLEN SAINT MARY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

While the Inn and surrounding property were gorgeous, the Rose Cottage was not satisfactory. The water would shut off unexpectedly and Henry would have to come down and "flip a switch". There was no a/c or heat but we were only uncomfortable one evening. The Cottage was nicely furnished and included a hairdryer and iron but no microwave or toaster. We would not return again as the water situation was very irritating and we were not told to expect this.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbesslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Our suite, Lord Tennyson, in the Garden House was especially well appointed with beautiful furnishings and a touch of class including classic books. Our host and hostess, Henry and Clare, were warm and gracious and were very attentive to detail. The breakfasts were just great and were brought to the suite each day. You can't go wrong in planning a stay at The Innisfree Inn By The Lake!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NavigatorOcoee_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

If you are looking for seclusion, nature's beauty, and luxurious accomodations, this is the place. It is located about 5 miles outside of Cashiers on Glenville Lake. There are lake views from the main building, but there is a short walk for lake access. The main building is a recently built victorian style mansion. We stayed in a nearby (100 yards away) beautiful four apartment quadroplex. That description does not adequetly describe the large and luxurious accomodations that are all a part of the large property. The host and hostess are very gracious, and offer evening wine and snacks. The hostess, Clare, is a hiker and guide for those who like a vigorous hike, and included us in her excursions with friends. The area is located near wonderful waterfallsand hiking trails. Breakfasts were great. This is truely a four star event.


in the evening prior to dinner

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeebee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

After hiking the lower White Water Falls 5 mile trial, we then drove our weary bodies to the Innisfree INN bed and breakfast. The Inn was gorgeous. We were offered juice and cookies and then went to our room the Emily Bronte in the garden house. Gas logs were burning in the fireplace. The fireplace could be seen from the bedroom and the bathroom. The room had a canopy king sized bed. There was sherry to drink by the fireplace and soft violin music was playing. The best part was a tub big enough for two +. We climbed in the tub with our sherry and washed the weariness away. There was also a balcony that over looked the beautiful property. There was only one chair on the balcony though. There was also a large walk-in shower with a glass wall so that you could look out the window and see the lawn while you showered. We then headed back to the Inn for complimentary wine and cheese. The cheese was very fine and the two large glasses of wine after the sherry gave us a nice buzz. The next morning breakfast was served in our room at the table by the bay window. It was a huge disappointment. After being pampered the day before I expected great things from breakfast. We were given a quiche loaded with mushrooms and onions and it tasted reheated. It was not edible. We were given a fruit cup, but the fruit was not very fresh. There were two pieces of bacon and no muffins or Danish as expected by a bed and breakfast. If I stayed there again I would differently ask what was for breakfast.

  • Liked — The Room, the bed and the bath room
  • Disliked — The breakfast was a big disappointment
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstridWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenville
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
8.1 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.7 mi away
The Chandler Inn
The Chandler Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake

Property: Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake
Address: 108 Innisfree Dr, Glenville, NC 28736-8859 (Formerly Innisfree Victorian Inn & Garden House)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Glenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Innisfree Bed & Breakfast By-The-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing