We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barry's Walnut Island
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In May of 2014 I was house-sitting for my daughter and son-in-law who live up the road from Barry's. I've always thought it had a great location, right on the sound. So, I thought I'd try it out.
I went for dinner alone one night and had scallops in bacon. Very good. Priced well and satisfying. However, when the children returned, I took them out for dinner at Barry's. Again, nice ambiance, good service, and prices. However, while the main dishes were good, the side dishes were very mediocre. My son-in-law's mashed potatoes were boxed and his green beans were canned. With more than several farmer's markets available nearby, it is a shame they resort to less than fresh sides. It was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBXEASYRIDER, Owner at Barry's Walnut Island, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed Barry's Good Service, ambiance, main dishes, and prices. I try very hard to give personal southern hospitality and service . As to the side dishes, we do use real Idaho potatoes most of the time, but when we run short we do use Idaho Potato Pearls so that customers can be served the side dish of their choice. WE BUY LOCAL tomatoes,broccoli, and asparagus,and melons from a farm right here in town. Understand that most of the produce sold at road side Farm Markets is trucked in and is not local....it comes from out of state sources including Latin America and for this reason we purchase produce from other US sources. We buy our green beans from a national supplier and their quality, cleanliness, and spoilage is minimal. I am sorry the side dishes did not meet your expectations but glad you were please with our Service Ambiance,Pricing , and Main Dishes, something we take great pride in providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can't say enough great things about this place.
Wonderful food, wonderful owners and staff. A great bar. Fantastic little hotel. I stayed in the Butterfly room. It was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, large flat screen tv, newly updated and decorated, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee pot, fresh linens.
The place has a beautiful view of the bay. Every one I met was very friendly and made me feel very welcome.
Live band on Friday and Saturday nights. HUGE Military supporters.
Enjoy my time at Barry's very much. I hope to make it back to the area again also looking forward to future stays at Barry's

Room Tip: The Butterfly room is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexkb1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa, Kentucky
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped on a Sunday morning . The place was amazing . The view of the sound was good . I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich and my wife ordered a burger both were great . The staff was great too so if you are on your way to outer banks make sure too stop

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mack2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We looked the place up just before leaving central va. and wanted a clean room maybe with some breakfast in the am.This was on 5-30-14.the advertising is misleading. the bathroom was terrible the toilet was leaking water and rocked like i was in a noreaster on a small skiff 20 miles out in the atlantic.Did not want to take a shower. no one on staff sat. morn. when we left. I carried my teenage son and my wife....his bed was so full of hair, i let him sleep in the truck for a few hours. You know it is bad when a teenage boy considers the back cab of a truck to a twin bed. If course, we were willing to risk it to have a little weekend enjoyment. I paid way too much money for the room, (the next night, we stayed at a another place with granite floors, a walk in shower, closet, and a view for 4 dollars more than what we paid at Barry's). I would advertise a spade a spade and not a diamond. I was expecting what could not be delivered from this owner. No one was available in the am to even complain a little too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBXEASYRIDER, Owner at Barry's Walnut Island, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Our web site advertising highlights the RENOVATED rooms. The reservation was made a late ,required two beds and a late check in , , we did not have a renovated room available . . Our off hours phone number and emergency phone number are posted on the entrance door We do not serve breakfast, nor do we advertise that. I checked the toilet and found it to have a 1/4 inch play and have corrected it. Our rate is advertised on our web site under lodging at $75/night in a resort=vacation season where most motels are charging $220-$300/ night and we feel our rates are fair and reasonable. We do not keep staff at the registration desk 24/7 because we are a small operation, only 12 rooms, and most folks leave early in the morning to avoid the traffic.I called and apologized to the guest who was understanding and we are sorry for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

OMG!!!! Best hamburger EVER! This was old school!! All meat from the grill!!! I live in Virginia Beach...will drive for it! Oysters huge and plump! Crab balls outstanding! Waitress top notch! A nice, quiet place on the water to just relax!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vickie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stopped here for the evening and dinner on our way to a week in Corolla. From the time we walked in Barry and Donna and their staff made us feel welcomed. Donna herself showed us to our very clean room. We both enjoyed our dinner overlooking the sound. The seared tuna was perfect. I am not a big fan of cole slaw but really liked it and the hush puppies were sweet and tasty. We met some of the regulars and they too made us feel welcomed. We both bought souvenir Barry t-shirts. Would have stopped for lunch on our way home if we had left later.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 381SandyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been staying at Barry's Walnut Island now for 3 yrs during my business travels up and down the coast of North Carolina. I even stay here for pleasure trips. It is a very comfortable place to stay with a relaxing atmosphere. Barry's and his wife Donna are people that make you feel right at home. They are the type of people I felt I have known my entire life. Their staff is all about customer satisfaction and service. The restaurant I give what I call the 3G rating...Great Service, Great Presentation, Great Food! The accommodations are very comfortable and with the NEW REMODELING and UPGRADES done with the rooms, they are quite accommodating. Other thing that I have enjoyed about Barry's is that you can watch the sunrise and set on the water while sitting in the same location along the bay. Bring your camera for some great photos of sunrises and sunsets that are complimented with the wildlife that are native to the area shores. Barry also offers Camper hookup if you are riding in you Travel Trailer or Motorhome.

Barry's is also located in a great place to see all the Lighthouses that North Carolina has to offer. Also the wild horses up HWY12 in Corolla where you can also visit the the first of 5 lighthouses on the OBX!

Very affordable for the family and the individual traveling on the road. I highly recommend visiting Barry's Walnut Island. You can not go wrong

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandy
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
13.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
18.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
21.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Walnut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Walnut Island

Property: Barry's Walnut Island
Address: 169 Walnut Island Blvd, Grandy, NC 27939-9794
Region: United States > North Carolina > Grandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grandy
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barry's is a full service family restaurant serving American Foods and specializing in Local Seafood, Steak, and Pizza meals. A sports bar and a 12 room lodge adjoins the restaurant. A protected inland marina with a boat ramp, including RV hook up sites with 50, 30, and 20 amp plug in, city water and a dump station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing