We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Family Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allegria Family Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Gavrio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We found this place in Andros on our upteenth internet search. Our original thought was to stay in Batsi where, years ago, we had been happy to stay. But times have changed and Batsi on a summer weekend is hard to come up for a family of four adults and two toddlers. So, as a last chance we gave Allegria Studios a call to see if there were any rooms available.

Immediately Georgia (if I remember correctly), the co-owner, answered the phone and was as friendly as can be. She guaranteed a good time for the entire family, and I must admit that we were not disappointed. The owners, a couple, go to great lengths to make sure that the visitors are happy and feel very much at home. The hotel itself is in a small village between Gavrio (the port, just 2 km away) and Batsi (5 km). The place is not for those who are looking for action, but for a family with children it is great!

Just down the street from Alegria (a dirt road, about 150 meters, perhaps) is the beach. From what we gathered it's one of those wonderful beaches mostly frequented by the locals and the water was crystal clear. Our daughters were happy as can be. There are no services on the beach that I recall, but a short distance away (across the main road) is a bakery and tourist items store, a small supermarket just a little further down the road and a great taverna (traditional restaurant) a little further than that (maybe 500 meters further).

George and Georgia, the owners, will often bring out goodies for those sitting around the back yard which was the highlight. The lone tree covers almost the entire back yard and creates a beautiful shade for those wanting respite from the mid-afternoon sun. Though unadvertizes, this tree is probably the best thing about the place if you like the outdoors. On the other side of the tree is a small set of child play things (a plastic house, a small slide and some swings). Out there, while supervising my daughters, I had a chance to chat with the owners about the local history, about their lives and favorite Greek discussion items: politics, economics and sport.

Between the beach, the supermarket and the hotel, it's the perfect place for a family prepared to make it's own meals. In fact, the only drawback to the place is that the breakfast is very basic and not worth the money (5 euro for bread and jam, essentially). Better to buy your own things and keep them in the fridge of the room and enjoy them with the family.

By the time we left we felt very much at time here. Georgia noted that the majority of their clients are return guests, and it's easy to tell why. This probably isn't where you want to go for a honey moon, as it lacks the over-the-top amenities. But if you want a clean and friendly place for a family, this is a great option!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have a view to the sea (in the distance). Though they are all basic and clean, perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Laurence1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allegria_balogiannis, Διευθυντής at Allegria Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to provide you with the Cycladic hospitality. It was the less that we could do so as to make you feel like home! In my opinion many visitors may regard your comments as a good guidance.
Best regards, Dimitris Balogiannis.
P.S. Please allow me to make a small comment. I acknowledge the fact that the breakfast served in the past was poor. Currently, services have been reorganized and guests can start their day with buffet breakfast prepared with fresh, local ingredients and served daily at the garden (it is included in the price).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gusperinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zouzumbazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christos45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sokrates A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank franca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gavrio
10.1 mi away
Paradise Art Hotel
Paradise Art Hotel
#19 of 23 in Andros
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perrakis
Hotel Perrakis
#1 of 1 in Gavrio
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andros Holiday Hotel
Andros Holiday Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gavrion
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chryssi Akti
Hotel Chryssi Akti
#3 of 7 in Batsi
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas
2.3 mi away
Krinos Suites Hotel
Krinos Suites Hotel
#1 of 7 in Batsi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegria Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Family Hotel

Address: Agios Petros beach, Gavrio 845 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Andros > Gavrio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gavrio
Price Range: £41 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegria Family Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cycladic-style Allegria Studios is located at the unspoiled coastal settlement of Agios Petros, surrounded by a lush garden with bougainvilleas 200 meters from sandy Agios Petros Beach. It offers air-conditioned studios with free Wi-Fi and a furnished balcony overlooking the Aegean Sea or the mountains of Andros.A kitchenette with cooking hobs, fridge and dining area is included in all the spacious studios at the Allegria. Each has an LCD TV and private bathroom with toiletries.Guests can relax with a book from the small library in the 600m²-garden that features seating areas and BBQ facilities. A children’s playground is available for younger guests.Restaurants and shops are within 200 meters. Gavrio Port is 2 km away. The lively Batsi is at 4 km. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Allegria Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing