We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the wall with good food.”

Sakura Asian Express
Ranked #33 of 272 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with good food.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The food is excellent and you get a ton. The service can be slow and the owner a bit abrasive, but it's worth it. They also do a brisk takeout business.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kakistos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Each time we go to this little restaurant in Greenville we never leave disappointed. The owner is high octane, remembers customers preferences, meals, drinks and such.
The food is second to none in quality, freshness, and taste. I always order a three or four in hotness and love the heat and flavor.
My wife loves the curry and smiles when she knows she is going to sakura's.

Eat there once and you are forever attached like family.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mapk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Asian Food- Best in Town”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

They serve the best Asian dishes in Greenville area where the owners prepare the dishes with fresh food in the kitchen. The south Asian food they serve are truly the taste of home. Japanese and Korean food are not exactly they are, but they are delicious as well. We eat here almost every time we come to Greenville. There are lots of comments about the owner but you need to enjoy that as the unique entertainment ! Tiffany is really a hard worker trying the best to serve the great dishes and get to know her customers. Some of regulars come from other town (like us) just to eat their food! Enjoy!!

Helpful?
2 Thank SallySapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What awesome food! Everything is so authentic & more importantly, delicious! The Pho is just what you need on a cold rainy night. All the broths are different so you must try all of them. And they tend to run on the hot side so when they ask you how hot you want it on a scale of 1-5, you might want to start w/a 1. I've tried several things now & they are all good. I have to take some home though as the portions are large.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food but not worth it”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

On occasion if the owner feels like making the dish you prefer that and if she still has any left by the time you get there, some of the best food in Greenville can be found here however about 50% of the time the item you want was not made that day, out of stock, has been taken off the menu entirely or the restaurant is randomly closed with a little sign on the door to let you know. On top of that the owner is coercive about everything from where you sit(even if the place is empty) to how spicy she thinks you want your food. She is also overly defensive about, asking a simple question about the menu can turn into an unexpected verbal assault where she thinks she needs to defend her honor when really I just wanted to know what the base of the sauce was due to dietary restrictions. Anyway, if you go good luck you could be in for an amazing meal or a terrible experience that leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth that the food cant take out

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Asian Express also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Asian Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing