We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good first impression”
Review of Osaka Bistro

Osaka Bistro
Ranked #71 of 275 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good first impression”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I came to Osaka Bistro with some new friends, and we were seated at a large table in the back. The waitress was quick and attentive but did not bother us needlessly, instead leaving the six of us to converse freely.

Their idea of a buffet was unlike anything I'd seen before, but very good for our meeting. You indicate up to four things you would like, and they bring it out on small plates. A Lazy Susan helps reach the people in the back.

The food was delicious, hot, and met and exceeded my expectations. However, I had two minor problems. One, anything with beef carries an additional charge. This adds up fast. (But don't pass on it, it's good, but the chicken is just as good.) Second, despite the fact that you put your name on the order card, they don't know whose plate is whose. You kind of have to remember what boxes you ticked.

I did not try the sushi so I cannot comment on that. Definitely would go again, though.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inappropriate Service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My friends & I love Osaka. The food is great, affordable, and plenty to choose from. It's a usual go to for our crowd, but after a recent visit I'm not so sure.

There were two young male servers "joking" around with the customers & often coming up to tables, including ours and would interrupt our conversation mid sentence.

They then began talking out loudly to one another so all the guests were distracted by this, but what took the cake for me is when they began singing songs from Disney's Frozen while walking through the restaurant.

I found this very unprofessional. Our table as well as several others were exchanging looks and eye rolls by this display. It truly made our dining experience uncomfortable.

Keep up the great deals and excellent food, but please let those two servers know that no, "I do NOT want to build a snowman", I want to enjoy my sushi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jonsey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food too!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I went here for the first time with a friend of mine that is Chinese. She introduced me to the owners and then she ordered a few of the authentic dishes on the menu. The food was amazing! Also, they have a buffet that is amazing. It's not your typical buffet where the food sits out. They bring you all you can eat to your table and it's freshly cooked. Also, on weekends they offer dim sum! I would recommend this place to anyone that enjoys Japanese/Chinese cuisine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BriaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a great idea, menu ordering buffet. You can order from a large menu of about 40 items from Chinese to Japanese to sushi and they make it fresh. Want more after that, just order more. prices very reasonable and food quality was good. Wait staff was on spot everytime i needed something. Would recommend you try this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NcTravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegrass state
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Unique buffet, made to order food. Fantastic concept.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We were in Greenville for a business. Our hotel staff recommended this place. So happy she did. Love the fact you order off the menu tickets. You choose 4 items. They cook your food to order. Then if you are still hungry you fill out another ticket.
I started with California rolls. Very tasty. My friend had the crab & cream cheese rolls. Not my favorite. Too creamy for me. I then got the hibachi chicken & veggies with steamed rice. The flavored were great. Round two was more california rolls and two chicken wings. they were cery crispy and flavorful. I am wheat free. Just told the hostess and wrote on my ticket no soy sauce & no wheat. They accommodated that nicely. They were very kind & helpful. We are planning on going back later in the week. Ice cream comes with it. Did not try too much already.

Helpful?
1 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osaka Bistro also viewed

 
Greenville, NC
 

Been to Osaka Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing