We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn of the Patriots B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Grover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I don't understand all the 5 star reviews – this place is a joke.

The "Culinary Museum" consists of 3-4 curios cabinets full of "trinkets" collected by Chef Marti - who was only the chef at Camp David, not the puffed up White House Chef he advertises. His “autographed cookbook” is a pamphlet. We were suppose to get a free copy but didn’t pursue it when we saw the copy in the gift shop. His historic tour is not totally accurate and he is often “politically incorrect” – I cringed at many of his comments.

The rooms were clean but dingy. Our bed had fake rose petals on it, the room was freezing, and bathroom was full of half used Avon toiletries – courtesy of Marti’s wife who sells Avon. There are plenty of Avon brochures available.

The food was so-so. The best thing we ate was a cake made by one of the cooks – and it was from a Duncan Hines mix! We barely put our forks down before Chef Marti began his daily tour of the museum. So much for visiting with the other guests at the breakfast table.

I do think Chef Marti is very passionate about his work and history. He’s a first class B&B owner and museum curator wannabe. Not quite there yet, Marti!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have private baths.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for The Inn of the Patriots B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We received this as a gift and as I read the reviews they are all accurate, the good and the bad. I was in the area so I did not have a long drive to get there.Also I knew what Grover had to offer (nothing) so I knew upfront that to do any of the attractions it would mean travel.It is a house not a mansion. Yes, the shower and toliet are like single closets and if your big
I am not sure how you would manage. . Did like the Clinton memorabilia.The cookbook,yes is a pamphlet not a book.but nice. The breakfast was by a Chef, ,she was very friendly I enjoyed talking to her., breakfast was modest.:servings a slice of quiche,grits, fruit,potatoes. Note some of the best grits i have eaten.From the reviews I read thought it would have been elaborate?Yes there is a train that seems to come by ever coulple of hours in the night,if you like trains you will enjoy, if a light sleeper maynot. Met two other couples all had received their stay as gifts also. Overall it was a pleasant get away, Marti and Stormy were likeable. If your looking for excitement, attractions nearby, this is not for you. If you want to feel like your spending the night in your Grandparents house this is it. But you will have to drive to eat out.nothing is walking distance.and no meals except breakfast served. Did have snack in our room on arrival.

Room Tip: noise from road,ask for the room with full size bath.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank loretta8315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was a repeat trip for us, and we were again treated as honored guests here. Great food, great service, eye-popping decor! Central location to day trips to Charlotte or Greenville. The comforts of home nestled within a place that still feels like "an escape." Celebrated a belated anniversary with this trip.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Oceanicus room this time. Very nicely decorated, but of the less expensive upstairs r...
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This isn't your typical B&B. Chef Marti and the rest of the crew made us feel right at home. This is a great place for all you history buffs. The food was great! This is a cozy B&B where you can take a break from the busy life. However, is isn't a B&B that has the white glove treatment with extravagant trappings. The Inn of the Patriots is simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much at the Inn of the Patriots that we are attempting to get a family reunion together at the property. The Inn (museum) is full of Revolutionary history and Chef Marti makes it come alive with his informative and fun tour. Out back there is a enactment campsite with campfire that can be used. In addition to the good food and comfy room there is a lot to see within 30 minutes of the Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the spacious Grover Cleveland room that had a full bathroom, some rooms don't so be...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harrietann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I purchased the package on livingsocial.com for three nights at the inn. When we pulled up my adult daughter thought we had driven to the Texas chain Saw massacre! Our room was nice and clean. The toiletries were big bottles of shampoo and conditioner from Walmart. The closet activity is the winery about 20 minutes away. We arrived on Sunday and could not find a single restaurant to have dinner at. Everything in this small town was either closed on Sundays or closed by 7pm. Thank goodness we had packed a few snacks and drinks or we would have had nothing to eat.

We saw Stormy once for five minutes and Chef Marti briefly when we arrived..... We NEVER received the so called tour of the property! Which is a house in a neighborhood not the sprawling estate they lead you to believe. We again saw Chef Marti one morning after breakfast when the six guests received a 10 minute tour of the house which ended in a gift shop in the basement. There is also a gift shop up stairs. The only other time we saw him was for a few seconds walking through the house.. Breakfast each day was cooked by someone he brought in to cook each morning.. NOT a chef! I spoke to one of the cooks after breakfast and asked her how long she had been cooking, she chuckled and said three months!

We were to receive welcome cake and coffee.. It was a cake several days old sitting on the side board in the dining area and an old cold pot of coffee.. No service, it was self service. The hot fudge sundae was a bowl of Neapolitan ice cream with store bought chocolate syrup prepared by the hired cook. The cheese platter was several pieces of information cheese left on a plate uncovered in the fridge so it was dried out.. We were really looking forward to the trip away. While we enjoyed each other the Inn Of The Patriots, was a huge disappointment!

Lastly the list of all of those things to do at the intersection Inn are at least an hour to ninety minutes away!

I guess if you pay full price or pay for his cooking classes you might fair better than we did but I would never return and would never refer them to anyone.

Room Tip: The Polynesia room has a shower literally in one closet and the toilet is in another closet the sink...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Soccermotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

When my husband and I first pulled into the driveway we weren't sure what to expect. We came to meet Marti, a former White House Chef and history buff. We weren't disappointed. He immediately made us feel right at home and give us a tour of the house. The accomodations were comfortable, the food was delicious, and we learned so much about the area and about his former career. Fascinating! We also took his cooking class, had a wonderful time and enjoyed some delicious food. It is an experience we will never forget. This is a place for people who like to meet great people and learn about food, history, and more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cleaveland Room and were most comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pahl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#5 of 8 in Shelby
42 reviews
18.4 mi away
Best Western Gastonia
Best Western Gastonia
#5 of 15 in Gastonia
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
13.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaffney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn of the Patriots B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Patriots B & B

Address: 301 Cleveland Ave, Grover, NC 28073-8571
Region: United States > North Carolina > Grover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grover
Price Range: £76 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn of the Patriots B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Diamond ranked Inn with former Executive Chef to the President of the United States. Featured on CNN Worldwide, FOX, PBS television and Wheel of Fortune. Located in quaint Grover, NC - doorstep of the famed Kings Mountain Battlefield. Outside of Charlotte, NC on I-85. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn of the Patriots B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Of The Patriots Bed And Breakfast
The Inn Of The Patriots Hotel Grover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing