We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One hell of a Wednesday night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel Bass Restaurant - CLOSED

Channel Bass Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One hell of a Wednesday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Showed up from ocracoke and saw they had live music so the family and I went to the outdoor patio ordered the softshell with fries... Very tasteful the wife and kids got the fried shrimp and channel bass platter a great variety of local seafood... A pretty loaded plate all in all after an evening full of food and a bottle of wine with the wife while watching the band had a great time and can't wait to go back again. Do yourself a favor and visit this establishment.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank armyscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

After a long drive down from Kitty Hawk we were ready for lunch. We chose Channel Bass because there were a number of cars outside. Turned out it was a large party not individual guests. Our server wasn’t familiar with the menu and explained she usually worked breakfast. I ordered the scallop burger and fries. The fries were real fries not processed. The scallop burger was interesting but not something I would order regularly. I learned that “lightly dusted” means something fried does not have a heavy batter that disguises a small portion of meat. Several other people (owner ?) checked to see if everything was to our satisfaction. All of our requests were met so the experience was satisfactory.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We ate there for dinner on our way back from Ocracoke. Our service was good, but we were literally the only customers in the place, so of course the service was good. Two people in our party ordered hamburgers, which were good. The rest of the food was not, however, and the cupcakes (which came with the kids' meals) had mold growing on the bottom of them! All-in-all, we had MUCH better meals during our vacation than this one, especially considering the high prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best on hatteras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Great service reasonable prices and one of the best philly cheese steaks I've ever had I will for sure be back

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank armyscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
193 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Just opened and off to a great start!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stopped in on Easter Sunday for take-out lunch since we were out for a Sunday ride in the sun and had our dog with us. I ordered the soft shell crab sandwich and my wife had the cheeseburger, both came with fries. The owner, who took our order was pleasant and said that the restaurant was closed for 4 years and they just opened recently. I could tell there were perhaps some bugs in the system, but nothing that affected our order or they way they greeted customers and waited on them. By the time we got our order, 10-15 minutes, the restaurant became very full, church got out and it was 12 noon. I wished the owner good luck and took our lunch and sat outside overlooking the canal. My soft shell sandwich was great. The crab was lightly dusted with corn meal and cooked just perfectly. My wife’s burger was also cooked to perfection and was great! The fries were crispy and of course, they had far to many for us to eat. We left very full and satisfied that we had found a great restaurant. We will be sure to stop back when our travels get us to Hatteras.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2RVers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Channel Bass Restaurant also viewed

 
Waves, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing