We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on Hatteras Island”
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
east Noriton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Place on Hatteras Island”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Super clean hotel, very friendly staff, great sunset views. We have stayed at the Breakwater inn many times and we will be returning in the future.
I can go on an on about this place it is one of my top 5 hotels in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    36
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
61
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Breakwater. It is convenient to the beach, charter boats and restaurants. The staff is very friendly. The rooms each have their own deck with great sunset views. The charter boats are steps away. We will be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We booked our room through Expedia for 6 people. When we got there they gave us a tiny room for 4, then basically told me there was no way I booked the room through Expedia for 6 people, Expedia would not have let me do that! (so basically I was told I was a liar) After I showed them my printed itinerary from Expedia, they offered the VACANT room right next to ours for a 10% discount, which I thought was a joke. If I was going to pay over $330 a night for a hotel room for my family, I would not be staying in their little dump. They offered their fisherman's quarters (which looked like a scary motel 6) but then they mentioned it was pet friendly, both my daughter and I are extremely allergic to cats, so that was not a valid option for us. I asked if they had any cots, she said 'yes, but we could not use them because our room was 'too small' and it would bang up their walls". When I asked for blankets for my two sons to sleep on the floor, there were only 4 available in their laundry room. I was hoping they could each get 2 blankets to lay on the floor and one to cover up with. When I saw there was only 4, I asked if we could use some white mattress pads that were available on the shelf. The worker said no, she could not allow that. So I said, "Oh I see, it is okay for my sons to get dirty on the floors, but not their blankets!" She said, "no, it's not that, we are just expecting a lot of guest this weekend". I felt like screaming at her - "Lady - IT IS MONDAY!" but I used my self control, thanked her politely and went back to our tiny room with my 4 blankets. They did offer to cancel our second night's reservation but she told me to come back in the office the next morning at 8:00 am. I wasn't very confident that I would ever really see any kind of refund.
We spent the day at the beach and swam in the pool. Even though the pool was located in the front parking lot next to the road, we really enjoyed it, and there were no other guests in the pool, so we had it all to ourselves. Hatteras is a really neat little community and we really liked it there, I just wish our accommodations weren't so horrible.
We had another condo booked in the town of Duck, but they didn't have the place available a day early, so we were stuck at the BreakYourBack Inn for 2 days.

Regardless of the bad sleeping situation, we had no room service and of course we ran out of toilet paper, coffee and clean towels. When I went down to the office to get a role of toilet paper, and I thought they weren't going to give it to me. The worker said, "you should have plenty in your room". I can't really write what I wanted to say to the sweet little girl behind the counter. Instead, I just smiled at her and said, "I am sorry, but we don't have plenty, and I really need more toilet paper". They acted the same way about the coffee the second morning too. Like they doubted that I REALLY needed more coffee. Again, another worker said, "There should be plenty in your room". I had to tell her, "yes, there was ONE little package in our room yesterday morning but we made ONE pot yesterday. Today, this morning, I would like to make another pot. Do you have more coffee?"
There was complementary coffee and cheap danishes in the office lobby, but of course the coffee pot was empty both times I tried to make myself some.
I was also expecting a few more boats in the docks. Our view off our balcony was of a parking lot and an empty marina. The boat slips directly in front of our balcony and then all the way to the left were all empty, (about 10 boat slips) maybe it was the time of year or maybe they went out to sea for the 2 days we were there. I just expected more activity. There were boats to the right of our room and in front of the restaurant.
The restaurant in the back of the inn looked nice and I think we would have enjoyed it, but with a family of six, we couldn't really afford the $25-30 meals. We ate at Sonny's across the street with meals at $15-20. We all really liked what we ordered, except for my husband, he got the crab cakes ($24) and they were really gross. Everyone tried it and we all had to actually spit it out. The restaurant is good, just stay away from the crab cakes!
We also ate at Quarter Deck down the street. The fried flounder was the best I've ever had! It was locally owned, kind of dumpy, with 30 stray cats in the parking lot, but the food was really good. It was also priced at $15-$20. It's just one of those places you don't want to miss.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if more than 4 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
This guest booked through Expedia. Our account with Expedia is set up so that customers are not able to book a room with more than four guests total, whether you book adults and children. This limitation was set because our rooms are only meant for four guests. They are not tiny by any means and the private decks also offer more "living" space, but six adults is excessive. Our reservation that we recieved from Expedia was only for four people. Our staff was very accomodating, as we usually would not allow this amount of people in a room.
The guest stated that there was no room service provided. This happened due to the fact that she was set to check out and was allowed by the staff to have a late check out. When she decided to stay another day this was after the fact when housekeeping was available, of course we offered extra towels and supplies upon reqest. Our staff was also told by the guest that the "floor was not so bad for her adult sons and they were enjoying themselves". The fact that they were miserable was never expressed to our staff.
The guest stated that there were no boats at the marina. Our marina has been at 75 to 100% occupancy all summer. Our charter boats and head boats have been sailing every day that they are able. I guess that she looked out at the slips during the day when they were naturally out fishing.
As for the critisism concerning Sonny's and Quarterdeck, these are both wonderful, locally owned restaurants with fresh NC Seafood, locals favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, va
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband, son and myself booked a room here on a last minute whim during the peak tourist season in the Outerbanks. The staff was friendly and the room was perfect for our overnight stay. We had drinks and appetizers that we had brought, on the balcony overlooking the marina and watched the boat "Miss Hatteras" launch for its sunset cruise. Then we had a wonderful meal at the Breakwater Restaurant next door and watched the sunset over the sound. Hatteras Island is a hidden, rustic jewel on the outerbanks and we felt as though we were in a different world than the hectic one an hour north in Nagshead. The Breakwater Inn is not the Ritz Carlton but we had a 'five star' visit there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OvertimeAtDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here over my birthday weekend, and, while we LOVED the Outer Banks, we were NOT impressed with this hotel.
We were staying in the "Fisherman's Quarters" rooms - make sure to AVOID this side of the hotel. They also have "Sound View Rooms", which are supposedly much nicer, but they were all booked up when we made our reservations.
The rooms in the Fisherman's Quarters were dirty and poorly maintained. The shower was broken, and the electricity was wired up strangely - flip a light switch and the TV turns on, or the toilet flushes....The linens were VERY uncomfortable, and, BE WARNED, the wireless internet DOES NOT reach the Fisherman rooms. But, they WILL charge you automatically unless you say something.
In addition, the continental "breakfast" left something to be desired. It was nothing but coffee and packages of Hostess mini muffins.
We won't be staying here the next time we visit the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the Fisherman Quarter's Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthroNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We are sorry that your experience in the Fisherman's Quarters was not to your liking. Here at the Breakwater Inn we strive to keep our rooms comfortable and clean. However, we specifically advertise and inform our customers that the Fisherman's Quarters are more basic, nothing fancy and the Soundfront rooms are upgraded. We also make it a policy that when a customer is unhappy with any issue we aim to correct the problem immediately. Our staff was not informed of any of these problems and would have been more than happy to make it right. Also, the wireless internet is free of charge. Yes, at times we have a problem with connections, as the whole village has had issues with wireless over the past couple weeks.
Again we sorry about your experience and hope that you would consider staying in our Soundfront rooms the next time you visit Hatteras. Please give us a call with any other concerns [--]~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here 2 nights in a 3rd floor room with a very nice balcony facing the harbor where we could watch the sun set into the sound. The A/C worked great and the room even had a very nice kitchenette. Fresh cookies in the lobby when we checked in. The pool was nice too. My feeling was, despite the $150 price tag, that a room like this would normally run over $200 a night. In some sense, this hotel seemed a bit out-of-place with all of the sporting types in this area.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank femtoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

While it is situated overlooking Hatteras Harbor and the world famous Hatteras Charter Fleet, the Breakwater Inn is too nice to be considered only as fishing headquarters. Sure you can walk to your boat in the morning and grill your catch on outside grills in the afternoon, but it's much more than that. The staff is genuinely friendly and willing to accomodate your needs and requests. The afternoon view from the individual decks has to be seen to be appreciated. It is an excellent place to enjoy your favorite beverage as sunset overtakes the harbor and fishing boats. It's also quite refreshing to wake up and have a cup of coffee while the harbor comes back to life in the mornings as the fishermen arrive. A definite "Thumbs up!"

Room Tip: Stairs are only on the ends of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerryoinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
7.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
1.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
10.4 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Property: The Breakwater Inn
Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing