We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice room in the newer building. It had a frig, sink, wifi and a killer view. I would stay here again. You do not need to spend more bucks elsewhere. I had returned to Hatteras to take a pelagic birding trip. I really like this newer building. I had stayed in the older building years ago and it needed remodeling. All rooms in this newer building seem to have a view.

Room Tip: There is a bit of early morning dock noise. If you want to sleep late, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    35
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
60
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed on 3rd floor level, soundview room was outstanding. Nicely upgraded and very clean.

The detached restaurant at the inn is also the best in Hatteras village. Classy feel with nice bar as well. It is elevated with great views.

Very close to all the marinas for charter fishing.

This is the place to stay and very reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Decent, fairly modern room. The ones in the main building all have balconies that look over the harbor - really nice - great sunset views. It was off season and we arrived after the office closed, so they left us keys and a long sheet of rules (which weren't disclosed prior to our visit...) I really hate it when properties do this - what if we didn't agree with or could not comply with the rules? It's really too late for us to find another place, and there is no staff on hand to help. All rules should be disclosed on the web site.

Another problem is that rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor have an outdoor staircase and it's a bit of a hassle to get belongings to the room, especially if traveling with kids. It looked like there was a small baggage elevator, but we couldn't use it since it required a key.

The web said the restaurant wouldn't be open off season in the middle of the week, but it was - and we could see a small crowd at the bar from our room. We didn't go, since we had planned ahead with a meal to make in the little kitchen (fridge/sink/microwave).

The TV is large, standard definition, and hung from the ceiling. It would be nice to update these to flatscreen at some point - would open the room up some more.

Oh, and one of the beds was very squeaky. Kept my wife up because the kids toss and turn when they sleep.

But even though it sounds like I'm complaining, this was a nice place and we will definitely return.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank travelswithtwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

stayed in the "fisherman's quarters" on account of our dogs, rooms were sizable & smelled clean, tile floors and freshly painted walls, with working mini-fridge and microwave. friendly and helpful staff, quick check-in even though we hadn't made a reservation, great location just a minute or two from the end of hatteras & the ferry docks. unlike a lot of the places on the island, they are open year round- next time we'll be back with friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We just returned from our first trip to Hatteras Village and we were fortunate enough to stay at The Breakwater Inn. From the very beginning, the staff over the phone to call for information and when we called to book our room were well informed, helpful and friendly. Check in was very fast and easy. We stayed in the main inn and had a room with 2 queen beds. All rooms in the main inn have at least a kitchenette and has a private balcony that faces the sound which offers a beautiful sunset view. The room was not fancy or stuffy, but very clean, well maintained, tasteful and comfortable. I was pleased to see that the "kitchenette" was a small counter area with a sink, upper and lower cabinets, built in microwave, coffeemaker and a small refrigerator. The beds and pillows were very comfortable to us and we slept well. The beds are nicely layered with covers, including a light down comforter, so that you can cover up as much or as little as you prefer. The rooms all have individual heat/air units and they work well without being too loud (none of them are silent) and there is also a ceiling fan to circulate the air. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a tub/shower combo. The private balcony was nice to use to sit and watch the fishing vessel coming in and out and to see the beautiful Hatteras sunset over the water. The office had a free breakfast consisting of packaged muffins, coffee and fresh fruit. The wifi in the room worked great and the TV was large with a great selection of channels. There was adequate space in the one dresser to put away clothing but there is also plenty of space so that you can leave your suitcase out and accessible. The room also has a nightstand and a table with 2 chairs.

From what I found out, the Fisherman's Quarters section of Breakwater is part of the original hotel. There once was another building identical to what is referred to as the Fisherman's Quarters today that faced the sound. When Hurricane Isabel came through in 2003, the soundfront building was completely destroyed. So they left the remaining original building as the Fisherman's Quarters and built the nice inn on the site of the building that was destroyed. The rooms in the main inn are newer, nicer and a bit more expensive. The main inn is also smoke free and pet free. The Fisherman's Quarters is a small, simple one story brick building that sits behind and to the side of the main inn that allows the option for pets and smoking in certain rooms.

We have been to the Outer Banks many times but this was the first time for us going this far south into Hatteras. We enjoyed our stay a great deal and do plan to go back again and stay at Breakwater. It was wonderful all around. It should be noted that the desk is NOT 24 hours but they do leave a phone number is the room and at the office door to call should you have an emergency. The area was so friendly and relaxing. Many interesting sites and stores are within walking distance and many other things (Ocracoke Ferry, Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, Cape Hatteras lighthouse, etc) are just a short drive away. The winter business in this charming little village is mostly it's sport fishing offerings but regulations are starting to strangle the fishing industry and winter business is declining sharply. I would recommend a trip to Hatteras for anyone, whether you fish or just want to take in the sites of a charming old village and a beautiful and unique area.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main inn are great with a view of the sound, but if you stay on the end the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovesJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here 2 years ago, because they allow dogs in the "Fisherman's Quarters" section of the motel, which is a separate building.
It did the trick then, and we just stayed there last night again, and it was another pleasant experience. Even better actually, because I think they painted the walls, and upgraded the furniture. (at least in the room WE stayed in, they did!)
We're happy to have somewhere to bring our little dog to in Hatteras Village. And the price is right, too. It's your basic room, no frills. But that's all we need, so we love it.
My sister stayed the night too, and they put her right next to us.
The new part of the motel, another building, is even nicer. (I saw a room there two years ago.) Very cute rooms, and very nice looking.
Walking along the docks at night was amazing. And the sunset view over the sound is just a step outside our door. (or right on your private deck, if you're in the other building!!)
The pool still looked clean, although since it's October, they had it locked.
Love this place. Would stay again, and have told my friends and family about it.

Room Tip: If you bring a pet, then stay in the Fisherman's Quarters. They allow pets there. If not, defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjcraftery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I have been to the Breakwater Inn several times and never had a bad experience. The staff is very friendly, rooms are very clean with beds that are so comfortable that i slept better than i do at home in my own bed. The best part of the rooms would be the deck over looking the marina, whether its checking out the boats or watching the sunset . I have stayed at the Breakwater over the past few years and would never stay anywhere else. In addition to the hotel you have access to walk the docks, check out the boats and the fish that was caught. If you have children they will love it! Everyone is very friendly and welcome you. Lastly if you have never eaten at the Breakwater Restaurant you need to... the food is excellent! Cant wait to head back in September for "Days at the Dock"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
7.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
1.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
10.4 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Property: The Breakwater Inn
Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing