We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the relative value”
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Love it for the overall value, especially relative to other available hotels/motels in the OBX. Paid $150+ on an extremely busy island weekend where nearly every single place was booked in the entire OBX.

Our favorite thing about this hotel is its location, waterfront on the sound (not ocean obviously), right in front of Oden's Dock, "the" place where fishermen get their boats ready to go out in the morning, and where they return with their catch later in the day to sell, and even clean right there. Cool to go down and watch the latter after you check in late afternoon, and cool to get up with morning coffee at 6am and watch the former right from your balcony in the morning. Charter boats, fishermen, sea gulls, waterfront, cool, really neat.

Room was comfy and clean. A bit dated, older looking rooms with one of those wall unit a/c's that runs constantly on a dial setting (as opposed to holding a digital temp), but at least a flat screen tv, and again, was comfy and clean so gets the job done. Had a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave even. Hey, other than condos that require longer stays and cost more, there aren't many options anyway, so this worked out just fine.

Nice front desk gals both days, sweet treats in the lobby when we arrived in the afternoon as well as checked out in the am, coffee as well.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are pretty much the same, all with balcony views so doesn't much matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jboynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Clean as a whistle, wonderful cheerful staff, and the best views across the Pamlico sound on the island. Oden's dock is right out the back door, and you can catch the fleet unload their catch.

Walk over to their restaurant, the Breakwater, and relax on the back porch and watch the sun set! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the soundside have the best view on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandSunSurf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed for one night off-season (April) and selected the hotel as all others require a two night stay. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. I had to hold the toilet seat up, but other than that the bathroom was fine. My room had a microwave and refrigerator. The restaurant next door (sorry, I forgot the name) was excellent with a friendly staff. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous. I can't say how quiet the hotel would be in-season (there was one other guest that night), Watching the boats arrive back to the marina was cool, but even more cool was watching the USCG boats doing some tricks off the breakwater. These are 60 ft fast-boats that seem to turn on a dime.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building are elevated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Our room - well all the rooms actually - have private porches looking over the marina and the sound beyond, and it provided a beautiful sunset view for us during our one-night stay in Hatteras. The hotel is pretty basic but clean and comfortable. Located near the ferry and across from a great little breakfast place. If you're a fisherman with a boat ... this place is great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

It's still winter in Hatteras Village NC as the cold Atlantic wind blows in from the East... but we aren't concerned. The view we have from our Breakwater Inn veranda is a sunny clear day with a cool breeze drifting over the Pamlico Sound. Fishing boats in the distance, gulls and pelicans gliding on the breezes overhead.

If one desires a short break from the everyday chaos on the "main land", the is no better place to visit than Hatteras Island during the off-season. There are no crazy summer tourists and children frolicking about this time of year, no sir! Only the locals and a few island guests stroll along the pier and walkways of Odens Dock, and late in the day when the local charter fishing boats come back to their slips, excitement fills the air as the catch of the day, a huge yellow fin tuna, weighs in at 215 pounds!

Even though it is the off-season, and many businesses are closed, there is still local dining at Sunny's across the street for breakfast and lunch. Then the Breakwater Restaurant provides fine dining in a casual way for the evening meal, with something on the menu for every taste; from fresh seafood and fish, to steak and homemade soup and bread; its truly a taste treat.

The staff at the Breakwater Inn are friendly and courteous, and always eager to answer any question or make wonderful recommendations about local sights and activities. The rooms are clean and spacious, and as mentioned before, the panorama is serene. If you want a light continental breakfast in the morning, the staff provides coffee, fruit and baked goods in the lobby each morning.

Overall, our stay at the Breakwater Inn is sure to be remembered. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We did a 3 night groupon trip and this has been a great place to stay. We had the room with 2 queen beds and the room was very clean and the view from the deck is amazing. I like how the deck area is private to each room. You are looking out over the sound and an active fishing area. It has been windy and cool while we are here but is still just so beautiful. We hiked the new Hatteras Village Trail and along the extended docks right in front of the hotel. Were able to sit on beach as the dunes protected us from the wind. Very relaxing and enjoyable time and I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sound and have private decks so I don't think there is a bad one. Not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purlinlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We used a Groupon getaway and were not disappointed in our room here. It had a nice little balcony right on the sound where a lot of fishing boats docked and left around 5:30 a.m. It was cool to watch them leave in the dark. The room was comfortable with a refrigerator and microwave if needed. Everything worked just fine, bed was comfortable and room was very clean.

Room Tip: Stay in the part with view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
1.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
314 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
288 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing