We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hatteras Sands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Buckroe Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will visit again”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Patty & Jackson are the managers here and are the hardest working people I have met. The campground has seen better times but they are determined to return it to it's hey day. The pool is big enough and clean. The bathrooms are dated but functional. Hatteras Sands is in the middle of Hatteras Village. You can walk or bike to almost anything you want to see in Hatteras Village. The ferry to Ocracoke Island is very close. We took a day trip to there. The beaches are within reach. Before this visit, I've been to other campgrounds on Hatteras Island. The others, in my opinion, really didn't care if I had a good time. They had my money. Patty & Jackson acted interested. They visited the campers and interacted with them. The campground is not perfect but Patty & Jackson are working to make it so.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubbaJePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    23
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
44
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were extremely greatful we could get into one of the cabins last minute for 4th of July weekend. The price was decent for an air-conditioned cabin, no kitchen or bathroom but had a fridge and microwave, and a grill outside, so just what we needed. We were traveling with our 13 month old daughter, and wanted to make sure she was comfortable when the temps hit 90+. It's true that the place was for sale, and could have used a bit of work. The staff was super-friendly, from the time we called for a reservation to the minute we left. They were very helpful in aiding us to navigate around the area, and had several great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. We loved it so much, we ended up back there 2 more times in the same summer. We're already starting to plan our vacation there for next summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Campground is right in the middle of Hatteras Island. Close to beach, Pamlico Sound, and ferry to Ocracoke Island.
I'm still here. Just wanted to let everyone know it's open. Went to the beach yesterday with 10 year old son. Children are fishing and crabbing in the canal that runs through the campground. Pool is full of families with young children. Staff is friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable about the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

4 single adults ranging from 28-30 years old.
I've been going to Hatteras for 25 years and I've camped all over the island.
Being that I was a last minute customer on the 4th of July weekend, I had no problems with the warm friendly welcome we had from Hatteras Sands Resort. It's your typical Hatteras campground, no campfires. Only on the beach, park rules. Bathrooms were very clean (important) with hot and cold showers. If tent camping, ask for a canal front site! We very much enjoyed the wildlife every morning over coffee and the wonderful sunsets! Grab a local biscuit and pork barbeque from Hatterasman restaurant on the corner... so yummy!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ehillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Way way overpriced, ive been to alot of campgrounds and this place was the quality of a 30 dollar a night campground. With two adults, two teenagers and a dog it came to 72 a night, 4 dollars per kid and 2 for the dog. The sites were the smallest ive ever seen, take a look at my pics. There is just enough room to open your awning and maybe two feet beyond that before the next site. The electric hookups dont have a seperate outlet to plug in an extension cord, which i needed. Our cable was ok but alot of the people said theirs was fuzzy. You can only pickup the wifi signal on a few sites, but they advertise you can get it anywhere. The campstore was a joke, there was maybe five items on the shelf. They did have ice but it was twice as much as everwhere else. They have over 100 sites but only three shower stalls, you do the math. One of the stalls was torn apart with no signs of anyone working on it. One of the showers drained into the other so if your in the other stall your standing in someones urine and dirty water. We didnt use the pool or hot tub but the pool looked pretty small, nothing special or resort like and the baby pool didnt have any water in it. The very small playground was right next to the canal with no fence around it. The decking around the canals is falling apart. Whenever I would dump my holding tanks I had to do it very slow or it would backup and spill all over the ground. It would be nice if their website said your not allowed to have campfires, I went through alot of hassle to bring a bunch of firewood. Your view is of either swamp grass or someones backyard. I dont think they spray for mosquitos because they were pretty bad. Dont arrive early or they will make you sit in a parking lot. We travelled for seventeen hours with a toddler and two teenagers and got there a little after ten AM. When I went inside to checkin the guy looked at me like I was an [--] and gave me an attitude because he said he tells everyone on the phone that checkin isnt until noon. So we all had to sit in the motorhome for two hours even though the campground was almost empty and there was nobody on our site. I dont know what qualifies a place as a "resort" but Im sure this isnt one. The maintenance guy was very friendly and helpful and the campground is in a good location and those are the only positives i can think of about this place. The canals are nice and I think there are fish and crab in them but nobody I met including myself was catching anything. There are a bunch of little fish a little bigger than minnows that attack your bait. Like i said 72 a night is alot for this place, if it was 30 a night a would have been content, I paid premium prices and got a 3rd rate campground. There was a place called Frisco Woods a few miles away that looked nice and were 20 a night cheaper and didnt charge for kids. They had a big well stocked store and were right on the sound with a little beach. I wanted to packup and move there but we had already paid for the week for this [--].

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbd444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed in one of the camping "condos" for 3 nights. We usually tent-camp and were relieved to find a place that offered a safe place to leave our dogs for a few hours while we went to the beach and a sense of relief that we would be out of the weather.

Each unit has two single built-in beds on the second floor, a narrow staircase, a double built-in bed on the first floor with small fridge, microwave and cable if you brought your own television, a broom/dustpan and a fire extinguisher. The exterior included a small front porch with screen door, outdoor cold shower, water faucet and picnic table. Both floors had an air conditioning unit, overhead fan and light and two extra electrical outlets. There was no grill but I'm sure the office would have loaned you one of theirs or you could have used one at an empty RV spot.

The grounds include a wonderful pool and hot tub (we had it to ourselves each morning) with chaise chairs surrounding, a small playground, a gameroom with pool tables, an office that offered comfortable sofas and a television, men's and women's showers/toilets surrounded by a canal. While everything was in good working order, it all seems a bit tired - especially the wood walkway fronting the canals. Sadly, the owner has a for sale out front so we'll see what the future holds. Bring repellant as there are biting gnats and mosquitoes regardless of how windy it is.

It is about an hour's drive once you leave the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area, the gasoline gets more expensive the further you go and there are no chain type restaurants but wonderful smaller shops and restaurants with the folks all wonderful and professional (ice cream at the Happy Belly was to die for). Our camping condo caught the eye of a couple driving by who thought they were so cute, they had their photos taken in front of the pink unit - oh yes, they had just gotten married and were driving around with their photographer looking for desirable photo ops. Overall a very relaxing trip and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needsumnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Stayed November 2007- RV with hookups

Overall, this campground was great, though it did have one or two issues. We went during off season, so there were only about 4-6 RVs in the campground any given night. I believe that the grounds can hold up to 50 or so camps in various capacities (RV with full hookups, RV space w/out hookups, tents, and small bungalows).

Positives:
- The people in charge were very helpful in showing us where to park and helping in backing up our trailer.
- Free WiFi- although we were at the end of the zone, so it kept going in and out but it was nice as an option and Free
- Neat canal system- there are canals going throughout the camps and they divide it up. We saw jumping fish and many birds. The camp also had paddle boats available to rent, though it was too cold while we were there.
- Heated (in winter) bath rooms. There are communal bathrooms with showers and toilets that were clean and heated. They were redoing several things since it was off season, and the bathrooms were being upgraded.
- Convenient grocery store- there is a grocer just down the street and around the corner. Very hand when a Doritos craving hits.

Negatives:
-This site is WAY down Hatteras Island toward Ocracoke. It took about an hour from leaving mainland NC. Be prepared. Also- it isn't beach front, but It would only take a few minutes to get to the beach.
- If you had a tent, it would have been blown away with the wind. If you are planning on camping here with just a tent, bring weights and stakes to hold down your tent!
- They had the cutest "cottages" for rent. We looked into them and they weren't what we expected. There were no kitchen or bathroom facilities in them. Cool idea, but not for us.

Again, I would recommend this camp site. Very cute and efficient.

Helpful?
1 Thank dbsk8dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
45 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.5 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
287 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatteras Sands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Sands Campground

Property: Hatteras Sands Campground
Address: 57316 Eagle Pass Road, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Sands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island's only campground located in the heart of Hatteras Village, in the scenic Outer Banks area of North Carolina. Set amongst beautiful canals and grassy fields, our resort has over 60 Full Hook-up paved RV sites and 10 Tent only sites. We welcome "big rigs" with sites featuring water, sewer and electric hookups, cable and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hatteras Sands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatteras Sands Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing