We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could use some updating but excellent location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatteras Sands Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hatteras Sands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could use some updating but excellent location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

the campground that time forgot. When we first arrived we had to wait about 20 minutes before anybody showed up in the office. Once someone showed up they were extremely helpful, friendly and apologetic for making us wait. During our stay we had a few minor issues but none that weren't taken care of immediately and followed by a heartfelt apology. The facilities are a bit run down but you can tell that renovations are pending. the pool itself was extremely clean but could use some new pool furniture. The greatest draw to this facility is its value and location. This place did not empty my bank account and we were centrally located to all things Hatteras. we definitely will be going back if we decide to camp in Hatteras again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank py1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
43
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was my first trip to Hatteras Sands and it will definitely be my last. This campground is not under new management, as mentioned below, but under new ownership. From what I understand last year this campground was much nicer. This year was horrible. We arrived on Wednesday and left on Sunday. The bathrooms were not cleaned once during our stay. The pool was also filthy with algae growing on the walls. The hot tub was also disgusting and not operational. When we asked why the hot tub was not heated, the first response was that the water was too hot and people were getting sick. After more probing we learned that it cost too much to fill the propane tanks. It's too bad because this campground has a lot of potential and is in a great location. I hope the new owners and current property management get their act together!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

A very pleasant surprise - understand Hatteras Sands is under new management. Very reasonable rates. Nicer than the alternatives, so we stayed an extra night. Full hookups. Level concrete pads + grass for tents. Above average swimming pool. Canals are a plus & have fish.

Sound-side harbors are walking distance & the ocean beach is a longish walk.

Only negative: No shade trees - but the Hatteras area really doesn't have trees.

Room Tip: Scope out the available RV sites when you check in. Sites are pretty uniform, but for long rigs, man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wboehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We were camping at Frisco Woods for 3 days after wife left the reunion rental machine on Hatteras. Hatteras sands was cheaper and friendlier than FW. We have an vintage airstream which allowed us to sleep and cook. The restrooms were clean and air-conditioned, no sand, no pine needles. We were there just after the 4th holiday and there were perhaps



10 large campers there. There was an ocean breeze which kept the bugs away. We enjoyed the pool which we were told was being upgraded. A smaller pool and spa were not operational. The couple who are the managers were very friendly and helpful and can only care for the facility within the OWNERS budget. The park was recently purchased. The ocracoke ferry is 1000 yards away and beach access is not much further as is the graveyard of the Atlantic museum. Coffee shop, produce, fuel, hardware are all close by. At $32.00 per nite you couldn't beat this place. The outer banks are remote, hurricane season is 6/1-11/1. It's the south , it's hot, can get buggy. It's not Vegas, NYC, or Miami. We had a great time here. So if you are a whiner like to complain or don't like roughing it please stay away, we don't want to meet you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kkatz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family & I stayed here last August 2011. I was very surprised after reading the reviews once we arrived. We thought that the place was very nice, clean, & mosquito free. Patti & Jackson were very helpful with everything. They brought over fresh fish, gave us extra fishing lures, gave my dad who wasn't feeling well bullion cubes & icees, they gave my daughter baby sunglasses from the lobby store too. They were willing to lend a helping hand whenever it was needed. Even tho we didn't get bit by any mosquitoes a truck came thru & sprayed for them. The bathrooms were always clean & the grounds were very clean. We enjoyed laying in the game room, fishing, playing volley ball & the pool/hot tub was MARVELOUS!!!!!! My mom loves the ocean but it is a little too rough for her so whenever we stay somewhere it has to have a pool & this pool was very spacious & clean & just wonderful. My mother & I would go on the lobby porch & use the porch swing they had to rock my daughter to sleep. The breeze & the wind chimes were soothing. Our trip was cut short due to the hurricane but they kept us up to date on the news & when we should evacuate. We had a great time here & will stay again this year (Just not so close to hurricane season). So please go see for yourself & don't always rely on others opinions. Again we wanted to say thanks to Patti & Jackson for all that you did to make our "cut short" vacation a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

After reading the reviews from as recent as 2009, I was only going here for the location. I usually stay just south of Oregon Inlet but wanted to try somehting different. The first impression I got was not exactly good because of the size and closeness of the sites. The sites are small and have very little room between them. However, I did not plan on spending many waking hours at the campground so really didn't care. Then I met the Taylors.

You just couldn't make this couple up. To say they made our week enjoyable is an understatement. I am used to most campground management to be very draconian and disruptive to most attempts at fun so I did not know how to take the Taylors at first. They met us as if their only reason for being there at all was because we were on our way. They went out of their way to make sure we had a WONDERFUL time there. They stopped and made sure we had everything. They gave us great scoop on fishing and where to find things out in town. They took it upon themselves to show the insurance adjuster to my pop-up while I was on the beach (we were a$$-ended in DC on our way to the campground). The kids caught soooo many fish in the canals that they were ecstatic! We had guests with us who had never been to OBX and are now HOOKED!

Yes, the bathrooms need some updating but everything was serviceable and well maintained. The pool was as it should be and the tightness of the sites was obviated by the Taylors making sure that incoming campers were spaced as far apart as possible. For as much as we bled over onto the empty site next to us, I was expecting to be charged for it (and would have at other parks, no doubt).

We are staunch supporters of the place now and plan on returning. We were made to feel at home - even like family. The Taylors are wonderful people who guenuinely cared if the kids (and us adults) had fun. I can't begin to thank them enough. Once they updating is finished, this place will EASILY garner 5-star reviews.

Room Tip: Call ahead and tell them what you are looking for and what your group is made of - if you have very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We absolutely enjoyed this campground!! The bathrooms were clean and the pool was great! Patty and Jackson were such nice people- so happy and accomidating. We loved the fishing you could do from the canal behind the camper (my son caught a shark) and that it was 2 minutes from the Ocracoke ferry. We are definately going back and bringing friends. The price is unbeatable, you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 'island
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
7.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.5 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
0.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatteras Sands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Sands Campground

Property: Hatteras Sands Campground
Address: 57316 Eagle Pass Road, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Sands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island's only campground located in the heart of Hatteras Village, in the scenic Outer Banks area of North Carolina. Set amongst beautiful canals and grassy fields, our resort has over 60 Full Hook-up paved RV sites and 10 Tent only sites. We welcome "big rigs" with sites featuring water, sewer and electric hookups, cable and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hatteras Sands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatteras Sands Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing