We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hatteras Sands Campground
Reviewed 5 July 2010

4 single adults ranging from 28-30 years old.
I've been going to Hatteras for 25 years and I've camped all over the island.
Being that I was a last minute customer on the 4th of July weekend, I had no problems with the warm friendly welcome we had from Hatteras Sands Resort. It's your typical Hatteras campground, no campfires. Only on the beach, park rules. Bathrooms were very clean (important) with hot and cold showers. If tent camping, ask for a canal front site! We very much enjoyed the wildlife every morning over coffee and the wonderful sunsets! Grab a local biscuit and pork barbeque from Hatterasman restaurant on the corner... so yummy!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank ehillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

75 - 78 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed in one of the camping "condos" for 3 nights. We usually tent-camp and were relieved to find a place that offered a safe place to leave our dogs for a few hours while we went to the beach and a sense of relief that we would be out of the weather.

Each unit has two single built-in beds on the second floor, a narrow staircase, a double built-in bed on the first floor with small fridge, microwave and cable if you brought your own television, a broom/dustpan and a fire extinguisher. The exterior included a small front porch with screen door, outdoor cold shower, water faucet and picnic table. Both floors had an air conditioning unit, overhead fan and light and two extra electrical outlets. There was no grill but I'm sure the office would have loaned you one of theirs or you could have used one at an empty RV spot.

The grounds include a wonderful pool and hot tub (we had it to ourselves each morning) with chaise chairs surrounding, a small playground, a gameroom with pool tables, an office that offered comfortable sofas and a television, men's and women's showers/toilets surrounded by a canal. While everything was in good working order, it all seems a bit tired - especially the wood walkway fronting the canals. Sadly, the owner has a for sale out front so we'll see what the future holds. Bring repellant as there are biting gnats and mosquitoes regardless of how windy it is.

It is about an hour's drive once you leave the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area, the gasoline gets more expensive the further you go and there are no chain type restaurants but wonderful smaller shops and restaurants with the folks all wonderful and professional (ice cream at the Happy Belly was to die for). Our camping condo caught the eye of a couple driving by who thought they were so cute, they had their photos taken in front of the pink unit - oh yes, they had just gotten married and were driving around with their photographer looking for desirable photo ops. Overall a very relaxing trip and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ineedsumnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Stayed November 2007- RV with hookups

Overall, this campground was great, though it did have one or two issues. We went during off season, so there were only about 4-6 RVs in the campground any given night. I believe that the grounds can hold up to 50 or so camps in various capacities (RV with full hookups, RV space w/out hookups, tents, and small bungalows).

- The people in charge were very helpful in showing us where to park and helping in backing up our trailer.
- Free WiFi- although we were at the end of the zone, so it kept going in and out but it was nice as an option and Free
- Neat canal system- there are canals going throughout the camps and they divide it up. We saw jumping fish and many birds. The camp also had paddle boats available to rent, though it was too cold while we were there.
- Heated (in winter) bath rooms. There are communal bathrooms with showers and toilets that were clean and heated. They were redoing several things since it was off season, and the bathrooms were being upgraded.
- Convenient grocery store- there is a grocer just down the street and around the corner. Very hand when a Doritos craving hits.

-This site is WAY down Hatteras Island toward Ocracoke. It took about an hour from leaving mainland NC. Be prepared. Also- it isn't beach front, but It would only take a few minutes to get to the beach.
- If you had a tent, it would have been blown away with the wind. If you are planning on camping here with just a tent, bring weights and stakes to hold down your tent!
- They had the cutest "cottages" for rent. We looked into them and they weren't what we expected. There were no kitchen or bathroom facilities in them. Cool idea, but not for us.

Again, I would recommend this camp site. Very cute and efficient.

1  Thank dbsk8dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank voyageur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
10.5 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
0.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#5 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
316 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatteras Sands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Sands Campground

Address: 57316 Eagle Pass Road, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Beach Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Hatteras Island
Price Range: £79 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Sands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island's only campground located in the heart of Hatteras Village, in the scenic Outer Banks area of North Carolina. Set amongst beautiful canals and grassy fields, our resort has over 60 Full Hook-up paved RV sites and 10 Tent only sites. We welcome "big rigs" with sites featuring water, sewer and electric hookups, cable and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hatteras Sands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatteras Sands Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing