We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cleanest for a Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Let me preface this review by saying cleanliness is most important when it comes to any hotel stay so that impacts my rating heavily. We checked in for our family reunion weekend and the ladies at the front desk were really pleasant. It was a nice touch that they offered pretzels to the guests as they checked in. The lobby was very clean as well as the breakfast area and pool. The breakfast selection was good and met everyone's palate. We had a double room and it appeared to be very clean until we entered the bathroom. The shower was gross and luckily we brought shower shoes. The glass was covered in scum top to bottom and the floor looked like it had not been scrubbed since installation (yuck)! I informed one of the ladies at the desk who offered to clean it but it didn't change. There was also something on the floor under the vanity so Housekeeping just needs to be trained on how to clean a bathroom. I sprayed with Lysol but somehow my husband and daughter's allergies were still triggered to the point they both travelled home sick. We treated her asthma with a nebulizer twice on the ride home and my husband was barely well enough to drive a few hours. If the cleaning improves, this would be a top choice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iido1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear iido1,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We are certainly elated that you enjoyed our breakfast selections and pretzels at check in. Clean, spacious rooms and friendly service are a hotel’s highest priorities. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations particularly with the cleanliness of the bathroom and poor housekeeping service. I truly apologize for the inconveniences that happened during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Any expectations have to be tempered by the fact that (1) Havelock is not a resort city, and (2) I would guess that most of the transients are TAD/PCS to MCAS Cherry Point. So this Holiday Inn and the next door Hampton Inn are about what you should expect for this area. As for my review--
Pluses: The staff was very pleasant, there was free bottled water, the rooms and common area were reasonably clean, it was very convenient to MCAS Cherry Point, and the workout room was adequate. My room was an upgrade and had full frig, microwave, washer.
Minuses: The hotel is showing signs of wear. No tub -- just a shower stall. The Internet connection was pitifully slow. It can also be pretty noisy at night if the neighboring room has children.
Bottom Line: I recommend it if you are conducting business at Cherry Point, or if you just need somewhere to spend the night on your way elsewhere. Otherwise, I'd stay on the shore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milt_Thanatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Milt_Thanatos,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our staff service as well as our facilities. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the internet speed. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stopped at the here after walking out of another local hotel that was so nasty we refused to stay. The Holiday Inn Express was a refreshing change. Very clean, modern, and pretty. The rooms were big, clean, and decorated nicely. We loved the couch and the bed were very comfortable. We loved the big shower (even though our door leaked a little.) We will be back, no doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stopped in to Havelock after being gone for 15 years and was surprised and glad to see a new hotel on the main road. It sits back a little and is very quite. The staff are so friendly and they took the time to get us caught up on what was new in town. The place was new and spotless, rooms are big and the beds are comfortable. The best part is the pancake maker, you just press the button and a hot pancake comes out in like 30 seconds and taste so good..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for the review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you came back to Havelock after being gone for so long! I hope you will come back soon and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I must acknowledge that I booked this hotel through a bidding website that blinds the name of the hotel until a bid is accepted. I was bidding on what I thought was a hotel in New Bern, but was given this hotel, which is located in Havelock and is close to a 20 minute drive from downtown New Bern. So, I was disappointed with the hotel sight unseen. The hotel is new and its common areas are nicely decorated. The rooms are adequately sized and the decor is modern; however, it's a very cheap modern. For example, the shower was enclosed with large glass panels and a glass door; both leaked all over the bathroom floor despite what appeared to be repetitive and messy attempts to caulk over the cracks. The room doors were fitted with the bane of any hotel - hydraulic door closers which forced the doors shut with a bang. Through the thin walls, the slams of doors echoed throughout the night along with conversations in the hallway of the many contractors coming and going on beer runs.

On the plus side, the front desk receptionist was extremely nice and welcoming. The complimentary coffee and breakfast were good. The complimentary bottled water was a very nice touch. The night we arrived, a large flock of swallows migrated in and began fervently building mud nests underneath the roof of the portico. Obviously, the hotel was erected on their nesting grounds and I sincerely hope the management does not try to exterminate these birds. They are very pretty and their presence adds a nice touch to the property.

Good luck finding a decent hotel in Havelock. We ate at the Carolina Diner directly in front of the hotel, which seemed to be the best choice in town, which is a very sad statement. The food and presentation were similar to a diner although it was located in what appeared to be a refurbished Applebee's building.

All in all, not a particularly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupecoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear cupecoy,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. On the other hand, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Lana, lady that works breakfast is amazing. She kept everything well stocked and extremely clean. Best service I have ever experienced.
Stuf at the front desk was welcoming and helpful.
Rooms and entire property was extremly clean. We will definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luis203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for the review and staff acknowledgement! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

From the minute I walked in the staff made me feel welcomed. I decided to stay here for the Cherry Point half marathon since it was only 3 minutes drive to the base. My room was roomy, clean and the bed was so comfy! Glad I put in a wakeup call because I would have overslept in my plush bed. WiFi connection was good. The indoor pool looked very inviting but I did not get a chance to use it. The race started early so I wasn't expecting breakfast buy the hotel had several runners staying there so they opened it up early, which speaks volumes for their customer service. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for the review and staff acknowledgement! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Havelock
Hampton Inn Havelock
#1 of 7 in Havelock
322 reviews
15.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Havelock
Quality Inn Havelock
#6 of 7 in Havelock
51 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 7 in Havelock
29 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock

Address: 103 Branchside Rd, 105 Tourist Center Dr, Havelock, NC 28532-8002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Havelock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Havelock
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Havelock boasts 95 single, double, and executive style suites. Kitchenettes, jet bathtubs, and glass showers are among the upgraded amenities. All hotel rooms are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, daily newspaper, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. We offer a Complimentary hot breakfast each morning consisting of fruit, hot/cold cereal, assorted bakery items, eggs, pancakes, biscuits, gravy sausage and our famous cinnamon rolls. For your convenience we offer complimentary use of our business center, fitness room, and indoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express is centrally located near various restaurants, MCAS Cherry Point, Coastal Carolina Regional Airport, Atlantic Beach and is only fifteen minutes from downtown New Bern. We look forward to making your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one!** If you have trouble finding our location on a GPS please use the address 201 Tourist Center Dr. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Havelock
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock Hotel Havelock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing