We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little over-rated; but still a nice dining experience”
Review of The Copper Door

The Copper Door
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Hayesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hiawassee Street
Description: Fine dining in Historic Hayesville, NC. We feature the finest steaks, fresh seafood and signature dishes to please the discerning palate at prices that won’t break your budget. Come enjoy the intimate atmosphere. Our attentive staff will anticipate your needs and insure that your dining experience is exceptional. We are one block west of the old Clay County Courthouse, next door to Square One Interiors by Design. We are two hours west of Asheville, two hours north of Atlanta and two hours east of Chattanooga. We accept Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I enjoyed the decor and was a romantic dining experience. The seafood dish I had was over seasoned for my taste, but would attempt again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks for your input, Susan. Would you mind letting us know what dish you had? We strive for customer satisfaction and consistency so customer feedback is always helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great presentation of food. Atmosphere is perfect for dates. Wine list is impressive, for such a small town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ParadiseCollectibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for the kind review. We are proud to offer an extensive wine list - you'll have to check out the cellar next time you're in! But may I ask, what do you mean by "Fox Owned"?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Copper Door never disappoints. We have been there a lot, and it is the best restaurant in the GA/NC border area, hands down. The service is outstanding. The wine list is without equal for the area, and the food is always great. The catch of the day changing frequently, and is always wonderful. You can not go wrong with this place if you are looking for fine dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manager V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks so much for the great review! It's nice to hear about an excellent experience but it's great to hear about consistently excellent experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I were visiting friends in Murphy and they said we had to go to the Copper Door during our stay. I checked Trip Advisor and immediately said "lets do it". Boy are we glad we did. This place rocks! We arrived a little early for our reservation so we grabbed a drink at the bar. Our friends ordered a bottle of Desero Malbec and it was awesome. We ended getting a second bottle for dinner. When we got seated the dining room was gorgeous with the focal point being the huge fireplace in the middle. So warm and inviting was the fireplace along with the 3 appetizers we tried. Escargot, smoked salmon plate and the brie in puff pastry we wonderful. The entrees was awesome as well. I had the crawfish tortellini. Yummo! My wife had the duck breast and she said it was the best ever and I agree even though she would only give up one bite. Our friends had the ribeye and the salmon and loved them both. Oh I forgot to mention the oyster shooters we did right after our apps. Pretty good way to clean the pallet. Dessert? Forget about it! Creme brulee, some white chocolate mousse concoction and a third I cant even remember due to being in a food coma at that point. Sorry. Service was excellent and timing of food perfect which always seem to be a struggle for restaurants. Bottom line is if you are anywhere near this joint you got to find a way to go. Great people, outstanding service and rockin' food. Keep on Rolling! To bad your over 500 miles away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

What a great endorsement - and delicious sounding meal! Hope you'll make it back in soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went for wedding rehearsal dinner. Excellent EVERYTHING. Service-10+, Food-10+, Atmosphere-10+. Delicious Pinot Noir wine. Terrific appetizers and entree selections. Anything you want, they have it...and they prepare it excellently. Good place to go if you're staying at Brasstown Valley Resort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sparker926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Copper Door also viewed

Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Copper Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing