We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, fantastic service”
Review of The Copper Door

The Copper Door
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Hayesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hiawassee Street
Description: Fine dining in Historic Hayesville, NC. We feature the finest steaks, fresh seafood and signature dishes to please the discerning palate at prices that won’t break your budget. Come enjoy the intimate atmosphere. Our attentive staff will anticipate your needs and insure that your dining experience is exceptional. We are one block west of the old Clay County Courthouse, next door to Square One Interiors by Design. We are two hours west of Asheville, two hours north of Atlanta and two hours east of Chattanooga. We accept Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

While in the mountains of Georgia, we met friends for dinner in the small town of Hayesville, NC. We did not expect to find such marvelous food in the middle of nowhere! I had the Surf & Turf and it was probably the best I have had. My husband had the Tuna Ahi and he said it was perfect! We really enjoyed our food and our time with our friends. This was fine dining at it's best!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We love surprising people in the middle of nowhere! Glad you enjoyed your meal - thank you for taking the time to tell us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The ambiance, food, and service are always good at the Copper Door. The fish specials are usually outstanding. One member of our party had the pasta with crawfish and raved about it. The desserts are always good if you have room for them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eyedoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We strive for consistently excellent - glad to hear we don't disappoint! Save some room on your next visit for our new dessert item - lemon crepes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently visited the Hayesville area for a vacation near the lakes and best roads in the region. The Crane Creek Vineyards recommended a visit to The Copper Door for our anniversary dinner. We weren't disappointed. Tucked away off the city square, the restaurant was brimming with activity on our visit. Once we were escorted to our table, we were delighted by the wood interior and quiet surroundings. The drinks and food were excellent as was the service. The duck entree was fabulous and not what you'd expect to find in the area. We finished our special meal with a banana foster prepared table side. Lovely evening at a lovely restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveler44056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

So glad you came to celebrate your anniversary! I'm glad it was a great experience; hope your travels bring you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our group of six ate here on May 20, 2014. This was the second time in two years we have ate dinner here with friends. This is one of the best restaurants we have been to in the Western North Carolina area. The food and service is always exellent. Some entrees are over twenty dollars each but you can view their menu online before going to see other options. Here's what we had: three people ordered the scallops casino (all cooked perfect and tasty); I ordered the catch of the day, which was a Corvina fish fillet, excellent; one had the spinach salad and one had an order of mussels and a crab cake. For my appetizer I had 7 oyster shooters (excellent and only a dollar each). My wife had the mushroom soup and I had the soup of the day, new england clam chowder, excellent. A friend had the shrimp kristine appetizer, excellent. A few of also had their excellent deserts. Our waiter, David, was outstanding, as he has also been in the past. The restaurant's Chef Dennis, also occasionally has cooking classes people can attend and at a reasonable fee. I found out about the classes about three weeks before the evening mentioned above and took one where the subject was cooking fish. I wish I lived closer so I could attend more. The restaurant is not open for lunch and I would suggest you make reservations because it has been very busy when we went in the past.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank norme-ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Great pictures! Thank you for taking the time to post and tell us about your experience! Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We are frequent visitors to this great restaurant. We have never been disappointed with a meal here. The ambiance is warm and inviting also. He does some excellent cooking classes also. If you have never gone, you are in for a great evening. We are very fortunate to have this gem in our area of the mountains.

Thank Patr7306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks Pat! We appreciate your continued patronage - and glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Copper Door also viewed

 
Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Copper Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing