We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the time to find it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Henderson
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not worth the time to find it.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a coupon from the rest area, we arrived about 9pm. We almost didn't find it as it was off the road with no sign behind a boarded up store. The area looked dark and we were not sure if it was safe or not. The girl that greeted us was nice and friendly. She said they were sold and would be another hotel within another month. She said there was not a good place to eat anywhere around there and we should travel down the road to eat. The room was clean, nice and we rested ok. Next morning the breakfast was ok not as good as some we had had. We checked out and left. Glad we arrived at night once daylight came, the area was scary and we felt it was not safe. We left as soon as we could.

Room Tip: Keep traveling to the next exit, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutmom509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Scoutmom 50,

I apologize that you had such a difficult time locating our hotel. The building it is located behind is actually the Mayflower Seafood Restaurant, not a boarded up store. There are several good restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel, although most of them do close at 9:00PM. This is probably why the GSR suggested one at a different exit.

I am sorry that you did not feel safe, but the area in which we are located is actually one of the safest neighborhoods in Henderson with a shopping center, restaurants, and other stores located nearby.

Sincerely,
Susan Lail
General Mamager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    36
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
59
38
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was an unexpected stop in Henderson so I had not done my usual research. I had always thought HI Express were pretty new so we took a chance. It did look fine on the outside and the lobby had a gorgeous floor. The staff at the desk and breakfast area were extremely nice and helpful. The rooms however were a bit disappointing. the first room looked lovely but had wet carpets as if it had been shampooed and not dry. We were promptly moved to the room next door. It had a big hole gouged out of the headboard and the bathroom door. The carpet was not very clean but it was dry. The bed was ok. Bathroom clean although not much water pressure in the shower. The breakfast was ok. First time I ever saw a pancake machine- it was pretty neat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Maryland Sharon,

I am very glad that you found our staff to be nice, although I am sorry that you had to move rooms because of the carpet being wet. I regret that you did not find the second room to be as nice as the first. I am also sorry that you had problems with the water pressure, as we normally have excellent pressure.

Sincerely,
Susan Lail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBIA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just stayed overnight while on the way home. Hotel is extremely hard to find (GPS does not locate it). Took 20 minutes at 11pm to find it.
I am a high level Rewards person and this was not noted upon check-in (which was very unusual in my experience with HI). First room assigned had a faulty air conditioner so back to the desk. Clerk found another room for us with a functioning a/c so got into room by midnight.
Room was very clean but is really an old hotel. They have updated the hotel in some ways (lobby, front desk, ext) but rooms are very dated. Bed was very hard so it needs to be replaced.
All in all, an old motel that needs to be sold by HI to a second level motel chain. Not up to Holiday Inn Express standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear MickeyD77,

I am sorry that you had a difficult time finding our hotel, and that you were not recognized as a elite IHG Rewards member. I am glad that you found our property to be clean. Although we are an older Holiday Inn Express, we try very hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness. I also regret that you did not find the bed to be comfortable.

Sincerely,
Susan Lail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night while on the way to another destination, and we were only there from around 10:30 pm until 7:30am the next morning, so for our purposes, this was a good stop.

I agree with some of the other reviews that there were some areas that needed sprucing up, but overall our stay was positive.

We were able to clearly hear the guest in the next room snoring. That's one of the reasons I always carry a sound machine when we travel. The machine did drown out the snoring so that it wasn't really an issue.

The ladies working at night and in the morning, both on the desk and in the breakfast dining room, were some of the friendliest hotel staff workers I've ever seen. These women were cheerful and helpful, and that's always nice to get on the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lordnelson1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear lordnelson1805,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent stop in Henderson and for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad that you found your accommodations to your satisfaction and that our staff was helpful. We are scheduled to undergo a major renovation in the very near future.

I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Henderson area.

Sincerely,
Susan Lail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caeur D Alene
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed

First. Find it if you can. It's hidden behind a restaurant and the gps doesn't even know where it is.

Lady in front desk was nice. The bed seemed clean.
That's about all the positives

Let's start.
Elevator takes as long as of the hotel was 15 stories and it's only 2
The elevator smells bad. Like old humidity
Fridge makes too much noise.
The shower/tub doesn't drain. (Nasty)
Doors walls and carpet is outdated and looked worn
The electronic key takes 5 Attempts to work.
The office chair was broken and the back rest was in full recline even though it's not a reclinable.

I don't understand how it is a holiday inn express. They are always newer and sharper.

I strongly encourage you to look elsewhere

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jaime U,

I am very sorry that you had a difficult time locating our hotel, and that you did not feel that it met your needs. Although we are an older Holiday Inn Express, we try very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness and service. We normally do not have any problems with our elevator so I apologize if it took longer than you expected during your stay.
We are planning a major renovation in the near future, so I hope you will give us another chance to impress you the next time you are in the Henderson area.

Sincerely,
Susan Lail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very old Holiday Inn hotel and very outdated. No greeting of any kind from lady at desk when I checked-in. Beds are very old and sunk in just by appearance so didn't even need to test how old they were. Flooring in my room had stains in many palces and had hard time in bathroom because it was microscopic. Thin paper walls which resulted in hearing a lady in a different room yelling at someone 2-3 rooms from me. Hallway is filthy (stains on walls, doors, and flooring). Paid over $100, at most the price should be $65 for the poor facility and service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jeff H,

I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Although we are an older property, we try very hard to maintain a high level of service and cleanliness. I regret that you did not feel this to be the case during your stay with us. I hope that the next time you are looking for a room in the Henderson area you will give us another chance to impress you.

Sincerely,
Susan Lail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was my first time staying in a Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The hotel was clean, my room was very nice. The service of the staff was excellent. The breakfast in the morning was great. Ms. Carrie who prepared the breakfast was very nice and she keep the kitchen clean for the quest. Thank you Ms. Carrie and the rest of the staff. I will us this hotel again when I travel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Lisa R,
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express and taking the time to write a review. I am very happy that you had a pleasant experience while staying with us, and that our staff was helpful. Carrie in the breakfast bar is a true treasure. I am glad that she made you feel welcome.

Please do come back to see us the next time you are in the Henderson area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 9 in Henderson
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Henderson
Hampton Inn Henderson
#1 of 9 in Henderson
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Henderson Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Henderson
84 reviews
3.0 mi away
Econo Lodge - Henderson
Econo Lodge - Henderson
#5 of 9 in Henderson
50 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Oxford
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson
Address: 200 Simmons Dr, I-85 Exit 212, Henderson, NC 27536-4074 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Henderson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The non-smoking Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson is conveniently located off of I-85, just 3 miles from downtown Henderson. Shopping nearby includes The Henderson Square Mall and Outlet City, as well as many other shops and restaurants. Catch a movie at the Marketplace Cinema, or bowl a few games at Carolina Lanes. Adventure Island is only 1 mile away and offers bumper boats, batting cages, laser tag and many other family fun activities. For business travelers, we are close to Revlon and the Walmart Distribution Center. If you are looking for fun outdoors, Kerr Lake and Satterwhite Point are only 10 miles from the hotel. Come experience the hospitality the Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson has to offer! All guestrooms at the Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson include free WiFi, flat screen TV, microwave & refrigerator, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and in-room coffee. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Free coffee & tea are available 24 hours a day in the lobby. Enjoy free hot breakfast daily (6:30-9:30am) including eggs, bacon, sausage, gravy, biscuits, pancakes, bread and fruit. Use of our on-site fitness room is included with your stay. The hotel offers a business center which include a computer and printer for guest use, as well as copy and fax service.* A meeting room which sits 15 people is available for an additional fee. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Henderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Henderson Hotel Henderson
Holiday Inn Henderson
Henderson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing