We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House - CLOSED

The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a mom and pop operation. Sue Green is mom and Ben Green is pop and we offer classic breakfast items, custom sandwiches and salads for lunch, and steak, seafood, etc for dinner. Please join us for a semi-fine dining experience in a casual atmosphere.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
508 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I tried out Green Room Cafe a few weeks ago for breakfast. I had two bagels and my wife had the French toast. We both had coffee as well. Everything was very good. The staff/owners were very friendly. Convenient location right on Main Street. This location has been home to a number of establishments over the past few years and I think Green Room Cafe is the best of them!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    48
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DE-LISH!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Of all the many great restaurants in downtown Hendersonville, I had not tried this one before today. Had the vegetarian Cuban sandwich and was WONDERFUL. Service so pleasant; nice quiet, clean atmosphere. Great cup of hot tea and a waitress who knew quite a lot about the tea offerings. Just a great experience! Can't wait to try some other things.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank touristy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Owner at The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thanks for the glowing review! We really appreciate it and it keeps us on our toes to always provide the best and freshest food possible. Most people don't realize what goes on behind the lines. We work in a totally electric / grease free kitchen without a walk-in refrigerator or freezer which forces us to make small batches of our sauces and therefore quite often. Your experience reflected this and we look forward to seeing you again. By the way - if you are a vegetarian - we can create dishes upon request provided i have the ingredients on hand. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our first visit but it won't be our last!

The food was outstanding (best prime rib I’ve had in five years; the shrimp chowder was a treat; the braised kale vegetable with sautéed wild mushrooms was amazing; portions were very ample.) Interesting choice of excellent beers and wines.

The hostess (owner?) was warm and welcoming. Service, from Keith, was quick, personable and very attentive. The prices were very reasonable. The pianist and guitarist were an added bonus...very mellow and enjoyable with a wide repertoire. For most of the evening, every table was filled.

I don't know why it took us so long to discover this gem. We will go back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BScottMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Owner at The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Glad you found us! Tell your friends. The Prime Rib is a recent addition that we are going to keep for Friday Nights. We are coming out with a new spring menu soon with some wonderful new changes while keeping the house favorites. Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks, Ben Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining in a small, intimate cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I hold many of my mid-morning business meetings at the Green Room simply because it's quiet and set up as a tasteful small living room & dining area. The coffee is great and with Wi-Fi available, it allows the meetings to take place in a calm, professional atmosphere.

My wife and I enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner, dined there on Valentine's Day and recently stopped by for a glass of wine on a Saturday evening to also enjoy the jazz-guitarist and wonderful voice of Elise Pratt that added to the delightful atmosphere of the cafe feel.

The food is very good, the service very attentive, and the small, quiet venue makes any evening a totally pleasant experience. The owners, Sue & Ben are often on site in the evening to be sure that every guest has an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Owner at The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for the glowing review Ron! We appreciate you for you patronage and for bringing others in with you to experience The Green Room Cafe. We look forward to seeing you again. Many blessings to you and your family. Thanks again, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth the Visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

New to Hendersonville. Trying to support local vendors. Went in for lunch. Received a discount card for new citizens in community from another local business in town. Showed waiter our Gateway card, which this restaurant is affiliated with. He was unaware of discounts, then made one up...which by the way, doesn't match the website info on card. Waiter overcharged us initially. We brought this to his attention. He told us he would correct the bill. He didn't. Brought this to his attention again. He then went to one of the owners (female). Owner came out stating she can't do business like this (e.g. "extra $5 charge wouldn't waive due to their error with up charging). She also proceeded in talking extremely loud (other customers in restaurant). Would not recommend anyone go to a restaurant with this type of service, lack of integrity, respect and aggressive/inappropriate behavior by owner and waiter. Quite taken back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Owner at The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you Ms. Andrea for your review. Although not glowing we appreciate your feedback - it helps us keep on our toes. I encourage you to check your receipt as the stated soup up-charge was in fact removed from your bill. Wishing you many blessings in life. Thanks, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Room Cafe And Coffee House also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing