We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine food on Main Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fine food on Main Street”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited on a rainy evening (also graduation) which limited outdoor seating and caused a wait of about 20 minutes.
Once seated we were promptly greeted and service was excellent. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable of the menu and specials. Started with assorted salads. The mussels on the appetizer menu were exceptional.
Our group ordered a variety of entrees including salmon, trout, chicken and a wood-fired pizza.
All served up nicely, all enjoyed thoroughly. Enough variety to please all.
Had a good selection of drinks and microbrews.
Worth a return visit next trip to Hendersonville.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    195
    59
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Waitress did an adequate job but told us they were changing the gas on the draft beer. After a 15 minute wait - finally ordered a bottle. Doesn't seem right for a tap room. The food was pricey for what you got. Small bruschetta appetizer (only 3 thin slices of bread with topping) was $7. The salad and pasta portions were small. Chicken Parmesan was burned on corner and pastas were not hot enough. After reading previous reviews, I was very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Hendersonville”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

When we aren't at Hannah Flanagan's in Hendersonville, we totally enjoy eating at Mezzaluna! While service isn't always what it should be, they make up for it by having an outstanding kitchen staff who prepares the most delicious food, The menu is varied and there is something for everyone from Mezzaluna's outstanding pizzas, made to order, to a delicious Quail dinner and the most amazing Eggplant Parmesan I've ever eaten,

We love the outside dining and actually prefer it due to the one problem we find with the restaurant - it's acoustics are terrible! One cannot have a conversation over dinner due to the very poor acoustics - they have baffles on the ceiling but they don't seem to help one single bit. Since the restaurant is almost always packed because their food is so good, the loud conversations from table to table, booth to booth is disruptive to those people just trying to have a nice, quiet dinner and converse with one another. Surely, there must be something that can be done to fix this.

Thanks for the opportunity to rate Mezzaluna - we do go there no less than once a week for the delightful menu and food, but we almost always sit at the outside dining tables.

Please, Mezzaluna, do something about the terrible acoustics!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saraarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this place, great food, great service, great wine...salmon and roast chicken were very very good. Must see when in Hendersonville

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Winegirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
430 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Decent meal, slow service”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Have been here a few times when visiting the area. This trip my wife and I shared a pizza and had two different salads. Well made, good elements, a little dull on the house dressing. Pizza was fresh, some nicely made elements, good crust, balanced. We enjoyed. Solid fare. Can get loud at times. Service was nice, but on the slower side. Took longer to get order and our check than the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezzaluna also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing