We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pass this up”

Hands On!-A Child's Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hands On! is the place where LEARNING comes into PLAY! Located in Downtown Hendersonville, Hands On! is a children's museum that provides educational exhibits and science programs to children ages 1-10, along with their caregivers. More information can be found at their website on special programs and classes, memberships and birthday parties.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“pass this up”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

good if u want a playroom for a toddler. areas separated, for example a play with the dolls room, a huge room but kids run through it. staff is not friendly, no place for adults to sit and watch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, affordable place.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We finally ventured here over the New Year. It was fun for our preschooler. Lots of activities geared towards her age. Very affordable and clean. It can get a bit chaotic when it's busy, which it was on this particular day. We will be back, but we will probably go on a weekday morning when kids are in school.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, TN
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun For Kids”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We love taking our daughter to children's museums. We were surprised to find that Asheville does not really have one (not the type we were looking for anyway) so we were happy to find this one on a Google search.

While it is a small museum in terms of space, they have managed to pack in quite a bit of fun. Our daughter is 9, and we spent an hour and a half before we needed to move on with our Hendersonville visit, and she was very reluctant to leave. We ended up coming back for another 30 minutes before leaving town (they give you a sticker so you can come and go as you please.)

I will say that the lego car racing section was a bit of a let down as the lego selection was very poor. That particular activity is in serious need of new legos. There were very few to choose from, and the wheels for the cars were all coming apart from age and overuse. Most cars disintegrated on the way down the ramp as the wheels would not stay on the axles.

There was also an issue with two boys (one about 9 and one 5-6) that were running wild as there parents were obviously more intent on socializing than in disciplining their children. The boys took nearly every single item in the "grocery store" (and there were a LOT of things there) and made a massive pile by the pretend check-out area. They stomped on quite a few of them, and then proceeded to throw them at each other, coming close to hitting other children. I hate to discipline other peoples children, but I am a martial arts instructor, so I hate to see bad behavior. I quietly told them that I throwing things was against the rules, and they went running off.

I was very disappointed, as this area is visible from the front desk, and the staff made no effort to stop the boys, nor did they say anything to them about running (when they made a point to tell my daughter when we arrived that running was a no-no.) I went to the desk and told them what the boys had done, and they said "I guess we should tell their parents", and then they made no effort to do so.

When we came back later in the afternoon, the same two boys were still tearing around the museum, and going in and out the front doors repeatedly.

All in all though we really enjoyed our visit and would go back. I think the staff needs to be a little more firm about enforcing the rules, and not allow children to run wild and be disrespectful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDragonMartialArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing experience for the little ones!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a great place to take children- especially when the weather is not good. They have all kinds of experiential, education exhibits, with a creative bent - including a grocery store, a baby's nursery, an art area, a full size stage and costumes, etc. It's warm, welcoming and a nice oasis from shopping on Main Street.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Surprised by the activities available”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hands on (as it's called) activities for children of all ages. Educational and fun all in one. Staff is friendly and courteous. Well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hands On!-A Child's Gallery also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hands On!-A Child's Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing