We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hendersonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottages of Flat Rock
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed in cottage #6 for a week for a personal retreat. It was very charming, cozy, and nicely decorated with knotty pine walls. Though I was alone, there was plenty of room for 2 people. Staff were very responsive and friendly. The grounds were lovely with green grass, trees, bushes, and beautiful azaleas, iris, and roses. The owner even came by the first morning to offer me fresh eggs from the resident chickens (out of sight)! All in all, it was a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Cottages away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

I hate to let out this best kept secret but I think the Cottages at Flat Rock is a terrific place. The courtyard is pleasant, as are all the well kept cottages. The owners take their business very seriously and are hands on. If you notice, they comment on any negative (and false) reviews. They care about their cottages and their visitors. I don't find comparable prices anywhere and I am delighted to have found this place. I have been here 2 months and will be back again.

Room Tip: The only bad choice might be cottage #1 which is on the road. All the rest are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

my wife and I stayed at the cottage of flatrock,we were very impressed with our cottage,very clean,and hade all the items that we needed to make our stay very comfortable,the staff was very knowledge with the surrounding area , and steared us on many things to see during our stay,,I would recommened this place to anybody looking for a different adventure then what we have been doing..thanks again and we be returning to stay here vert soon

Room Tip: all seem to have there own advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

we have stayed at the Cottages of Flat Rock 7 or 8 times now and we LOVE it there! The cottages are charming, clean, and in a delightful setting. The owners are two of the most hospitable and wonderful people we have met and they invest so much of their time, energy, and care into this place. They offer such personalized service, you couldn't find anything better.
The surroundings are wonderful and the owners gave us really great recommendations on where to go and what to see in the area.
We are always highly satisfied with our stay here and will return anytime we are up for a mountain getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank addie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Musty, not well cleaned and infested with ants. If rustic is acceptable, then this will work. If you prefer clean and varmint free, this is not your place. Also, our cabin backed up to a trailer park that was quite noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlowishusCPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucydOg70, Owner at Cottages of Flat Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to read my response to this comment .We have a monthly pest control service and did not find any ants when the client left.The noise from the park next door was from a company removing a tree.The housekeeping staff is my wife and I and we are onsite daily along with our staff to see that each cottage is ready for the next guest.We have a 24 hr on-site manager that is there too handle any comments our guest may have .The problem is with Tripadvisor, they will post any comments that anyone posts, true or false,it gets posted.So if you have any questions about staying with us PLEASE call me on my personal cell phone (828)606-8703 and I will make sure your stay is the way you want it to be.We have a better than 90% return costumer base and we are open year round.Thank you again for your time .
Tim Robison, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have stayed in Hendersonville several other times and am now HAPPY we found Cottages of Flat Rock. These cottages are spotlessly clean with a flair for comfortable cozy furnishings. The owners could not be more helpful and check frequently to accommodate your every need. Fully clean equipped kitchen, comfortable beds with living area as well as eat-in kitchen. All screened porches have a lovely view of the surroundings. We are leaving for 4 days and coming back for the month of September. We love this place!!!! and the close proximity to EVERYTHING imaginable.

Room Tip: Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! Very happy.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank gammygayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We love these little cottages built in the 1940s but with all the conveniences of today. The cottages are set around a large circular drive. In the center of the circular drive is grass, flowers, picnic benches, a patio with tables and chairs and grills. It's quiet and peaceful. They have loads of books and DVDs to borrow. And Hendersonville is a terrific base to explore the surrounding area of Flat Rock, Asheville, and Chimney Rock.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank RetiredCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
0.1 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
100 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
331 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Flat Rock
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages of Flat Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages of Flat Rock

Address: 1511 Greenville Hwy, Hendersonville, NC 28792-6333
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hendersonville
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing