We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sandwiches in town”

Cafe on the Veranda
Ranked #65 of 195 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: phone 828-692-0393
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere with exceptional food and service.Enjoyed the store with excellent selections of wine. Business is always busy.Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Finally there is a place in Hendersonville that fixes sandwiches like you see on Tv where the host visits best places in US to get the best sandwich in the US. I went there to try them out and believe me, I will be a regular. I had a tuna sandwich with potato salad. They pile on the tuna salad, and believe me it is a meal!! Their sandwiches are made with TALENT and some ARTISTIC approach not just tuna out of the can with a little mayo. I have since had the egg salad and WOW it was the best egg salad yet. Will I go back once a week?? You bet your sweet hippy I will.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
439 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I visited today for the first time at the urging of a pal. She started with their vegetable soup and I had the tomato basil...both were steaming hot and delicious. She then had a salad with ranch dressing and a 1/2 chicken salad sandwich. I had 1/2 of a tuna salad sandwich and a Greek salad. Again, everything was fresh and very tasty. Then to top it all off, we decided to share one of their homemade deserts. The lemon curd cake we decided on could not have been fresher or more flavorful....memorable is the only term I can think of to do it justice. Our first visit will certainly not be our last!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizonafoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a charmer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Also called "A Day In The Country", this is a charming restaurant and gift shop. The menu offers an array of salads and sandwiches and wraps. Also soup and interesting veggie sides. I was told they will have a wine license this summer.

The gift shop has a delightful display of local goods and is fun to browse in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GITL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced tasty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My friend and I enjoyed a reasonably priced lunch. I had a 1/2 turkey sandwich on a delicious cranberry bread and Minestrone soup. My friend had a grilled cheese sandwich which was oozing cheese and tomato basil soup. The food was very tasty. We are already planning a return visit to try their tea (reservations required). My only negative would be that you need to order at the counter so we felt rushed in making our decision. We were given a number and the food was delivered in a timely manner. The restaurant is in a quaint older home within a cute store. All items are displayed in a well thought out manner. Prices are reasonable. Found several great unique gift items and a couple of things for my home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MediaLadyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Veranda also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cafe on the Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing