We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed?”
Review of Mother Butter's - CLOSED

Mother Butter's
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Mother Butter's is relocating to Flat Rock mid-summer 2014. Please "Like" our Facebook page to keep in touch with our progress. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed?”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ate there in June and the food was great but there was a sign on the door saying the restaurant was closing soon so check before you go!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acgteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldelace, Owner at Mother Butter's, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Mother Butter's is not closing, however, we are in the process of relocating to The Village of Flat Rock just south of downtown. Please check back with us (by 'Liking' our Facebook page) to see how we are progressing (and thank you so much for your kind words!) Love, Mother <3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grandma's recipes updated”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Sunday brunch was very good with a selection of four entrees, including fish, chicken, beef, or veggie, and tasty family style sides. Warm, simple, friendly, and inviting interior furnishings are arranged to reduce noise levels, and the friendly knowledgable service staff is eager to answer questions and offer suggestions to their guests. Luncheon visits offer a nice selection of salads, sandwiches, and soups. Many of the available dishes originated with the owner/chef's grandmother, and tastefully remind you of good southern cooking. It's easy to find but is off Main Street, with ample parking on the street or in the metered parking lot across the street. Deserts are rumored to be outstanding but serving size has not allowed me to try them. Maybe I'll get something to go at my next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I Shall Return!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Among our group, we had: the broccoli cheese soup, chicken salad sandwich, special of the day - andouille hash with eggs, and the reuben-esque "Rebekkah" sandwich. Verdict: not a note missed on any of the dishes or sides.

The menu may lead one to believe the restaurant serves sandwiches and salads - but that is deceiving in that it doesn't say how much attention is given to flavor in each component of the meals. We plan on returning to try other items on the menu.

NOTE: the restaurant has a cool and quirky "homey" ambience, but the seating is limited. (I almost hope it stays small for fear the food quality would suffer if they were to focus on serving more people.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNickatNite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off site place that is overlooked because it is not on Main St.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

we tried this place on Trip Advisor recommendation; please note that when looking at the rating also look at the number of reviews because it does effect the ratings. But in this case it was a good choice. Atmosphere is nothing special and it was a little too cool inside. But the food was great. I had the pretzel salad; (the chicken salad is yummy), potato salad is so so but it was a nice salad with a big pretzel base! My hubby had the chef special which was a pasta selection. It was very good; reminded us of goulash. It was served with fried green tomatoes; which were delicious. The sauce for the fried green tomatoes was disappointing though; thousand island dressing. We will return again when in Hendersonville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRossow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fresh and homey”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Our tremendously peppy and sweet waitress easily handled our rather complicated order. The food came out perfect. Everything was fresh and tasty. The atmosphere is down home cute...was that mom in the back?

Helpful?
1 Thank FredS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother Butter's also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing