We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Style Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Ranked #67 of 194 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Moose Café brings a piece of the North Carolina Farmers Markets to the Hendersonville Community. Customers can enjoy southern farm fresh comfort food seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Being in the heart of apple country our ionic Apple Butter taste better than ever and is served fresh with a hot scratch made biscuit with EVERY MEAL!!
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Style Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This location has been occupied by a number of struggling restaurants. Moose Cafe took it over in January 2014. Gourmet food, it is not. Good food, generous portions, reasonable prices and good service are what they have to offer. Order meatloaf and you get a slice about twice as thick as you expect. It is tasty and well prepared.
There were fresh biscuits with an apple spread, like chunky apple sauce with cinnamon, very tasty, kind of like apple butter.

I happen to like country ham so I tried that and found it to be a generous portion, well prepared and tasty. As the folks in this part of the country say, it was a homey place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    27
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
216 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We ate here the day after they opened and were not impressed. However, they have been open several months now so we decided to give them another chance. Well, I think it was worse. The biscuits must have been made the day before and warmed over (don't even compare with Cracker Barrel). It's a country place, so I decided to order the country ham. It was tough as leather and tasteless. The cornbread was also not fresh. And what's the big deal about the applesauce, you can buy better out of a can. For a place that supposedly features farmer's market freshness, they failed miserably. We won't be going back a third time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Large Portions, Low Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Biscuits and applesauce brought to you when you take your table. Large tasty servings of country ham---enough for two meals. Fresh corn on the cob. Very good fried squash. Moist and delicious cornbread. Meals are good quality and a great deal for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RimeIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“June 22nd visit to Hendersonville, NC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After attending church, we stopped at the Moose Cafe. We were seated immediately upon arrival, even though it was very busy. I ordered Granny's meatloaf. It was a large piece and very tender. The sweet onion was good as a side but it was hard to get ahold of. The food was very good, the service was very good also. The only problem was there was a lack of silverware. The waiter had to keep going back to the kitchen to get a spoon or a fork. The speed of getting your food after order was surprising. Within 5 minutes our table of four got their food and it was hot. For the price it was a good value. I would go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good luck, Moose Cafe, with the challenging location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had a good breakfast at the new Moose Cafe location at Highland Square Mall in Hendersonvillle. You have to drive alongside Sam's Murphy gas station to get to the parking lot for Moose Cafe. I know of two other restaurants that died in this almost hidden spot. I got a skillet with scrambled egg and corned beef which was enough food for two, especially with their biscuit and a pancake. I would strongly suggest they do something about the A/C cold draft across the table that made us uncomfortable. I will go back sometime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing