We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had found it sooner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Ranked #68 of 194 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Moose Café brings a piece of the North Carolina Farmers Markets to the Hendersonville Community. Customers can enjoy southern farm fresh comfort food seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Being in the heart of apple country our ionic Apple Butter taste better than ever and is served fresh with a hot scratch made biscuit with EVERY MEAL!!
Deatsville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish we had found it sooner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ate here our last night and what a pleasant surprise! The food was awesome so was the service and the price. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    27
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just wait until you are presented the biscuits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A friend and I drove up from Greenville, SC on a day trip. A friend told us about this place. Problem is, the only sign I could see was small, and facing the highway! Didn't really matter, as we were seated in a window booth, and almost immediately served huge wonderful fluffy biscuit, with homemade apple butter. Yum! What a start to a delicious lunch. We both enjoyed our lunch that also came with a very good corn bread. Food was fresh and tasted homemade. One side dish was cold, but replaced rapidly with a fresh one. Cant wait to try their Great food at breakfast. Very reasonably priced, as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranger2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great home cookin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friends took us here for lunch and they hit the nail on the head. My husband was crazy about their fried chicken livers. I had their farmers wrap, fried green tomatoes - yum yum and cheese grits. Very good. The applesauce they serve with their bread is out of this world. Chunky, good apple flavor, lots of cinnamon and only $5.00 at the front counter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sooo good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here and it was as always so good fast service and the food was great I love the in season fare I had the baked peach never had that before but it was great I want to go every season just to try what's new

Helpful?
Thank Scoobstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Style Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This location has been occupied by a number of struggling restaurants. Moose Cafe took it over in January 2014. Gourmet food, it is not. Good food, generous portions, reasonable prices and good service are what they have to offer. Order meatloaf and you get a slice about twice as thick as you expect. It is tasty and well prepared.
There were fresh biscuits with an apple spread, like chunky apple sauce with cinnamon, very tasty, kind of like apple butter.

I happen to like country ham so I tried that and found it to be a generous portion, well prepared and tasty. As the folks in this part of the country say, it was a homey place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing