We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and relax!”
Review of CedarWood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CedarWood Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
1 review
“A great place to stay and relax!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this inn. We found it to be as advertised, which was awesome! We happened to come right after Labor Day so we had the place pretty much to ourselves, since the leaves have not atarted turning yet, and the kids have all gone back to school.

We like to pick apples in Flat Rock and this place was pnly minutes away from SkyTop Orchard!

The owner is awesome. The rooms were clean, and at breakfast, she(the owner actully sat down and talked with us! I enjoyed the conversations we had as much as anything else we did. The rates were similar to any hotel you might stay in, but the atmosphere was totally more relaxed.

My kids, wife and I relly enjoyed the time and would definitely recommend it. Take the time to visit the actual website of this inn, so you will understand what you are booking. If you are looking for a Hilton, this is not it, and they don't claim to be. It is just a great, clean, quiet and freindly place to stay! Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Room number 30 (there are thirty rooms) has the only screened in porch. It is a single double bed r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I'm late in responding to the review of your September stay with us. My apologies but Leaf Season has started with a flourish. You nailed so many of the local attributes for our location and this area still holds so many more experiences to try. I also enjoy the breakfast table conversations. There is such a richness in slowing down and getting to know fellow travelers. Even though we have a room #30 we only have 18 rooms. Somewhere in its history this 1950's motor court started with room #11. True to a long ago practice accommodations businesses would never have a room #13, and that is the case here. Better safe than sorry I guess. Room #30 is one of our largest, with 1 King bed, full kitchen, sitting area and outside screened porch overlooking the Shuffleboard and Horse Shoe areas. We hope you do get that opportunity to relax in it some day. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    24
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
37
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Charming little cottages, super clean and so close to downtown Hendersonville, you can practically walk to it. Located in town right on Greenville Highway, but don't let that scare you, it is VERY quiet. There is a gazebo with grill to enjoy and most cabins have a little porch. The owner was very helpful and the breakfast each morning was excellent, lots of fresh fruit and bread choices. The rooms are sweet and simple, ours was very small but we only slept and showered there so if you need a posh large upscale room, don't look here, but if you want quiet, charming, well kept, clean, half B&B and half motor inn, you will love it here. Oh some websites say they have a pool but it is gone. They do have a fabulous covered area for a hammock where I slept and listened to a thunderstorm : - )

Room Tip: Rooms from 14 and on up are away from the main road. #17 does not have its own porch but is shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveBigBlueLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I'm always excited to hear guests' experiences at the CedarWood Inn. The comments you make allow us to fine tune and improve what we offer. Your kind words are much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to post them. You did something I have wanted to do for so long, take a nap in the hammock. Our 18 rooms range from 188 sf to 406 sf and this may be something I need to add to website. An amazing thing about 1950s construction -- close the door and you hear NO traffic on Greenville Hwy even in the unit closest to road! Wood, one of the best insulators, was this areas most plentiful resource back then and they built things to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Having been "on the road" for two weeks in chain hotels.. this was a much needed surprise! Charming and super clean little cabins in a wooded setting. Karen, the owner, was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the event room was great. When I return to Hendersonville, I will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graphixguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Your comments were greatly appreciated and a validation of everything we try to provide at the CedarWood Inn. A true WNC experience from the 1950s. Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to post your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It seems that good, clean, well-maintained "mom and pop" motels are becoming hard to find. This one is awesome! The grounds are very nice, and the room was quite clean, and the bed was comfortable. This is a wonderful location for Flat Rock Playhouse, DuPont State Forest, Hendersonville downtown, Carl Sandburg home, and the list goes on. What a continental breakfast with guests eating while seated around a long table sharing experiences with each other and with Karen, the owner. (Of course, you don't have to eat around the table if you prefer.) The room where breakfast is served is beautifully decorated, and the food was superb. Even the coffee was extraordinary - Karen's blend after doing some experimenting. And, I sure like the fact you can park right at your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Your wonderful comments on your stay at our Inn showed you really got it! Our goal of bringing back the 1950's "mom and pop" accommodations so prevalent throughout WNC, actually throughout the US, has been validated. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast table experience, a trip back in time when travelers sharing conversation was a great way to start your day. Thank you for such well written comments that will hopefully encourage others to consider small accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Locally owned, not a chain. Vintage charm, unique, reminiscent of Adirondacks cabins. Rooms are immaculate, owner onsite and working daily, also surprisingly quiet. Very convenient location. Near Carl Sandburg's home with its famous goats, the beautiful stone St. John in the Wilderness Episcopal church, Historic Hendersonville downtown, and others including some really great local restaurants. Great for a long weekend road trip.

Room Tip: If you want modern, shiny, plastic don't even think of staying here. This is lovely rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Manager at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated. Everything you mentioned is what we take great pride in offering to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just got home from spending 2 nights at the CedarWood Inn....what a great time! I almost cancelled my reservations after seeing the comments from the previous traveller and am so glad that I didn't. If you want a cookie cutter hotel like the Marriott or Hampton Inn, then this is not the place for you. If you want a small establishment that takes pride in what they have to offer and can give you a warm welcome and great accomodations reflective of the 50's....then this is the place for you. Our room was immaculate, the bed was very comfortable and we loved the rustic look of the interior. Very true to the era. Loved the rotary phone on the wall! Picked up the receiver just to see if it still worked.
We had two delightful mornings talking over breakfast with Karen and other guests. Even though this is not considered a B & B (the breakfast is a deluxe continental breakfast), the "Event Room" is conducive to the same type of experience one would have at a B & B. Karen made restaurant recommendations (both of which were very good) and suggestions of things to see and do in the area.
My husband and I will definitely plan to stay here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italianlady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Manager at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your trip back to the 1950's at CedarWood Inn. It's rewarding to hear our efforts to recreate WNC accommodations atmosphere have been successful. One of the important ingredients of this era was taking the time to get to know other people, where they come from, where they are headed and how we can help you enjoy our beautiful mountians. All of us at CedarWood Inn thank you for leaving your imprint on our future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here for one night while we were in Hendersonville for the weekend. The location is great, very close to downtown Hendersonville and Flat Rock!! The rooms very small but clean and decorated cute.
Unfortunately, we couldn't figure out how to turn the heat on so we were cold!! We have a 7 month old so it really sucked!!! The office closed at 7 so we weren't able to call to find out what was going on. The hot water did not last but a few minutes, so most of my shower was cold..my husband didn't even get to take one. I was disappointed because I don't get to take many decent showers because we have 3 kids and I have to be in and out...quick. I was looking forward to a long hot shower on our mini vacation. The rooms don't have hair dryers, definitely not used to that.

I think my parents would love this place. We probably won't stay here again...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmayhew1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O, Manager at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your stay at the CedarWood
Inn. Of course we wish all comments were positive but that would not give us
the opportunity to improve. After seeing your comments we investigated the room
you were in. Water heater was tested and working perfectly, water temp for each
of the 2 rooms using same new tank was within Health Department guidelines. The
room has been rented multiple times since with no hot water problems so we are
unable to address this issue any further. The size of room was discussed with
you upon reservations, we suggested a larger room at same rate for the 3 of you
but you chose the smaller room. At time of your stay we were just beginning to
see lower fall temperatures, not all heaters were turned on yet. A call to the
Front Desk via the phone in your room would have resolved this problem. We do
apologize that your stay at the CedarWood Inn was not a pleasant one and are
appreciative for your comments as they provide us momentum to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
466 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
73 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CedarWood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CedarWood Inn

Property: CedarWood Inn
Address: 1510 Greenville Hwy, Hendersonville, NC 28792-6337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — CedarWood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between Historic Downtown Hendersonville and Historic Flat Rock, close to Flat Rock Playhouse, DuPont State Forest, Carl Sandburg's Connemara, Pisgah Forest, Blue Ridge Parkway, only a two-hour drive to anywhere in WNC. Shopping, restaurants, music, plays, outdoor activities, etc. Enjoy beautiful seasonal changes in the Smokey Mountains. Rooms are clean and comfortable due to Green initiative housekeeping is available on request, ground level with parking at your door, continental breakfast in our Event Room allows a relaxed atmosphere in which you get to know your fellow travelers and share experiences.Porches, shuffleboard, horse shoes, gazebo with charcoal grill, picnic shelter. CedarWood Inn -- where you're treated like family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your CedarWood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing