We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property
Peaceful and serene...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful and serene...
View of the living room taken from teh loft master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Peaceful and serene...
View of the living room taken from teh loft master bedroom.
The garden and front of Mountain Vista Retreat as you approach the house.
Approaching the house at sunset.
Sunset viewed from Mountain Vista Retreat on May 17, 2014
View of the kitchen taken from the loft master bedroom.
The glass tile back splash, bronze fixtures, and bamboo handscraped flooring can all be viewed here.
The kitchen has a quartz countertop, new Ge Slate appliances, and custom Martha Stewart cacinetry.
Sunset, champagne, hot tub...need we say more?
Looking towards the entry from teh living room.
The gas fireplace. Note the custom maple mantle done by a local woodworker.
The loft master bedroom has a private balcony leading off it and a wonderful view.
The master en suite bath has his & hers sinks & a travertine tiled floor.
The private balcony features a bistro table & chairs...just room for two!
A Jonas Gerard original oil painting a a custom handrail highlight the stairwell.
The lower level master has a king size bed and a 48 inch smart television.
This bedroom has a private door leading to the deck & hot tub.
The ensuite in the lower level master has dual vessel sinks and chandeliers add a little bling!
This bath has a large tiled walk in shower.
The third bedroom has two twin xl beds that can easily be converted into a king if desired.
This bath has a pedestal sink and walk in shower with a frameless shower door.
Want another king bed instead of two twins? Let us know and we'll be happy to convert them for you.
Sliders lead directly onto the deck from this bedroom.
The rocking chair front porch is perfect for morning coffee!
The stairs leading up to the entry and covered front porch.
As springtime comes to the mountains, the azaleas burst into bloom at Mountain Vista Retreat!
Holiday ready!
The hot tub at night as viewed from the balcony off of the loft master bedroom.
Chimney Rock State Park in Chimney Rock, NC is located about 15 minutes from Mountain Vista Retreat.
Cruise along local attractions and landmarks on a covered boat tour on Lake Lure.
The fabulous Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC is about 40 minutes from Mountain Vista Retreat.
The Sierra Nevada Brewery in Mills River has an amazing guided tour. Reservations are recommended.
For those looking for adventure, The Gorge zipline in Saluda provides a real adrenaline rush!
Tubing the Green River in Saluda, NC is one of our favorite ways to spend a hot summer afternoon!
Let the Asheville skyline captivate you.
The North Carolina Arboretum is a wonderful place to discover flora native to the area.
The WNC Nature Center is a rescue center for injured or orphaned wild animals.
The River Arts District in A'ville, where new & established artists produce and display their work.
DuPont Forest is an enchanting place to hike. This is Triple Falls.
Visit award winning Burntshirt Vineyards for a wine tasting.It's located less than 15 minutes away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hendersonville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter M
1 review
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautiful retreat. The sunset is gorgeous, and when you wake up in a cloud, it is truly surreal. Very convenient to a ton of hiking trails. It would have been 5-stars, but we had an unannounced guest when the owners' insurance agent came by to verify their address. We chose this place for the privacy, so it was somewhat off-putting when someone randomly showed up. But the owners apologized, and all was well afterwards. We would definitely recommend the location to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701bettyb
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Breathtaking View”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Absolutely love this home. Beautiful mountain views while enjoying the hot tub. Very spacious rooms inside. Beds and sheets are heavenly. Will defintely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for the kind words. We know how important a good nights sleep is, so we cover our comfortable mattresses with the softest sheets we could find! It makes it extra inviting to go to bed after that relaxing soak in the hot tub.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsinclai...
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful home in great location”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My wife and two teenage daughters spend 3 nights in Mountain Vista Retreat in late December. We found the location perfect, as it allowed us to easily visit both the Asheville and the Lake Lure/Chimney Rock areas. The house was very nicely decorated and included everything you could possibly need. Additionally, the hot tub was a perfect way to spend time taking in the great view. Suzanne also recommended a great hike to Bearwallow Mountain. I would highly recommend Mountain Vista Retreat and hope to return again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thanks for the nice review! We are always happy to give recommendations on what to do or where to eat. Of course, many guests prefer to sit tight at the house and enjoy the beautiful view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock8415
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Home”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a couples weekend and everyone absolutely enjoyed the home. The pictures are spot on and more beautiful in person. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Gee, I sure wish I knew what more to do in order to get that elusive fifth star from this guest! All kidding aside, the fact that they will return says it all. We love first time guests, but those that come back again and again are the ones that tell us we are doing something right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernl...
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain paradise”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This cottage was perfect for a girls getaway. It was close to everything but felt isolated with mountain views and privacy for hot tub under the stars. Cozy, but well-appointed and comfortable, it was more than we could ask for and Suzanne couldn't have been any more helpful. We'll be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
The location of Mountain Vista Retreat is tough to beat. Located halfway between Hendersonville and Lake Lure, the house is central to SO many activities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jconeill7...
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Mountain Vista Retreat”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a beautiful mountain House with all the comforts of home. I highly recommend the Vista to anyone. We had a beautiful family reunion. Thank You! Joan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Being able to bring families together is one of the most rewarding things about owning a successful vacation rental property. We know how hard it is to get a group in the same place at the same time, so we strive to make the surroundings extra special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

I was SO excited to stay at the Mountain Vista Retreat for my Honeymoon in October of 2016. It did not disappoint! I don't think we could have felt more private and secluded anywhere else - yet we were close enough to all of the major stores and restaurants in Hendersonville (about 15-20 min) that it was still convenient. The hot tub was the perfect way to relax at the end of the day (or beginning), and all of the amenities provided were exactly what we needed for our week-long stay. We did run in to quite a few insects in the home (many of them already dead), but this is expected for such a secluded "in the mountains" home. On the bright side, the only insects we found in the master bedroom upstairs were lady bugs which did not bother us much. The only other down side of our stay was not being able to get the fireplace to turn on via remote. I just wanted to mention the issue for anyone who sees a fireplace as a necessity, but this issue did not diminish how much I enjoyed this rental in any way!

Everything else was absolutely perfect, and we can't wait to visit again when we get the chance!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Thanks for the nice review. I just want to respond to a couple of things mentioned above.
The guest contacted me about the fireplace no working. Sometimes the batteries in the remote are not seated properly. I suggested that she bang the remote once with her hand. She said that did the trick. We never heard again until now that the fireplace did not work. Had we known, we would have made every effort to remedy the situation.
As for the bugs, the house is in an agricultural area. When it starts to get cold, bugs leave the field where they have been feeding and try to find their way inside for the winter. The stink bugs and ladybugs are the worse culprits. They can flatten themselves and get through the tiniest of openings. The good thing is that they do not harm. We try to vacuum them up as much as possible. Again, had the guests notified us of the situation, we would have taken care of it.
You can't fix a problem if you don't know it exists.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing