We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Bed and Breakfast experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melange Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 January 2011

if you love Beautiful Antiques, Ornate Rooms, Gigantic Mirrors, Extensive Yard and Grounds, Lovey hosts who instantly become your friends, very relaxing atmosphere, very unusual amminities (straight faucet fixture, automatic lid trashcan in bathroom) and european cuisine, this is for you. I also recomment 2 days in Hendersonville looking at antique stores, 1 afternoon in the lovely Irish Pub, and 1 dinner at the Haus Heidelburg German/austrian restaurant. It is a local favorite. Highly recommend this place . They are an authentic eruopean couple with an extensive family of several nationalities. Very Interesting hosts, Then there is Martha, a neighbor who hosted us 1 nite. She is a Jewel, a native Hendersonvillian, a rarity in this retirement community. Highly recommend this !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingdruggist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2011

We had planned to stay at the Melange for one night and ended up staying up for three. There are not enough superlatives to explain the hospitality we received at the Melange. Mehmet and Lale bent over backwards for four days to make sure that every detail of our stay was perfect. My husband is a professional photographer and took hundreds of pictures because everywhere we turned there was something unique and eyecatching. The home is decorated with a casual elegance that is both eclectic and fascinating.

The house is amazing but even more amazing was the service. Mehmet and Lale made us feel like we were honored guests in the home of good friends. After we settled in the first day, Mehmet had a glass of wine for me and a beer for my husband waiting by the huge fireplace in the sitting room where we sat to unwind from the day. When we returned from dinner, he had the most delicious dessert we have ever tasted waiting for us in the same room. I am a fine dining fanatic but this dessert was as good if not better than anything I have ever eaten!

Our hosts were so accommodating and gracious without being overbearing or intrusive. We stay at bed and breakfasts all the time since we travel full time for business and often at a bed and breakfast, we don't feel like we are totally able to relax and unwind. Not the case at the Melange. I think the only thing more relaxed than us was the cat who was stretched out in front of the fireplace.

We are currently on a 45 day trip and had no plans to stay at any hotel or B&B for more than one night but after the first night there, we didn't want to leave and ended up staying three nights! We are newly married and have vowed that we will celebrate our first anniversary at the Melange.

This was the first visit of many.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaigeMitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Our family booked rooms at The Melange for a family wedding. The wedding ceremony was held outdoors and the staff did everything they could to make the occasion thoroughly amazing. The reception proved to be equally wonderful with excellent service. As for The Melange itself our rooms were fabulous, clean and comfortable.We have never tasted such lovely, exotic food in our lives. We would recommend The Melange to anyone and we hope to return in the future. Even with being miles away from Ireland we felt very much at home with Mehmet and Lale. It truly was the best vacation ever.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

What an unforgettable experience. We have stayed at literally dozens of inns and B&B's over the years (in addition to nice hotels) and I have to say this one is a stand-out. Not only is the facility spectacular looking and the food to die for, but Mehmet and Lali, the owners, went out of their way to make sure literally everything was perfect. My husband and I travel a lot and it is rare to find a place we really don't want to leave. Thank you for a wonderful week!
Susan Ireland, Fairfax, VA

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanireland24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Tried Melange off of a review on the net. Was looking for something in the mountains and close to home( no more than three hours drive). Inn is in town and within 1 miles of shopping, multiple culture cuisines, and historic downtown section. Nearby state mountain parks and sites and attractions found in mountainous areas number many. Although Inn is in town the setting sets it off as to being secluded to itself. Owners go out of their way to be accommodating. Inn is older colonial type home extremely well preserved and clean. Excellent place for weddings, special events, or occasions such as in our case anniversary, or just getting away for a few days. Rooms are quite different themes from each other offering a big change from the usual same room every floor routine. A delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

A work friend recommended this hidden gem and I booked a weekend stay at the Melange with my fiancee. We were warmly greeted upon arrival by our courteous hosts Mehmet and Lale (sp?) and shown to our room. I booked the Scarlet Room and we were really impressed with the decor and how comforable the bed was; everything in the B&B is first class and romantic! In the morning we had the best breakfast I had ever had and it was a gourmet affair. Our gracious hosts made sure to ask in advance if we had any allergies or particular tastes and accomodated my fiancee's allergy to certain fruits. We burned off the calories by the hiking trails close by and rented bikes to get around a bit. I suggest a visit to "jump off rock" in Hendersonville! What was interesting is that they also do weddings, and it is the perfect setting. After having a few meals there we are leaning towards having our wedding there in May! We were really impressed with the owners and the setting. We had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Four girls- all friends from Melbourne and Vero Beach, have stayed at the Melange in Hendersonville during our annual get together. We stayed in the Rose Suite for four nights.
I would like to thank Lale and Mehmet from my heart for making our stay a special one.
We sat in front of the crackling fireplace, Mehmet offered us interesting appetizers from all over the world with wine and warm local cider. We played bridge in our room, laughed and had a wonderful time. We loved our visit to Du Pont State Forest .The last evening was the most special- we enjoyed a candlelight dinner and the flavors and tastes were out of this world. Later, I played the piano.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thousandroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
3.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
795 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
505 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
1898 Waverly Inn
1898 Waverly Inn
#4 of 15 in Hendersonville
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melange Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1230 5th Ave W, Hendersonville, NC 28739-4112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range: £166 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melange Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of a bed and breakfast with European flair, the Melange is a romantic getaway in a historic mansion in Hendersonville. The historic mansion, with its classic gardens and inviting main rooms, provides the perfect ambiance for intimate vacations, private dining, celebrations and romantic weddings, alike. The Melange is secluded, private and within walking distance to Downtown Hendersonville and convenient to Asheville, the Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock, Flat Rock Playhouse and Dupont State Forest. Guests enjoy a gourmet breakfast and upscale amenities in six, beautifully appointed guest rooms (4-king size rooms and 2-suites, each with 2 bedrooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Melange Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melange Hotel Hendersonville
Melange b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing