We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1898 Waverly Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This B&B gave excellent service. The room was very nice along with the location of the B&B, very convenient so you can walk to restaurants. For breakfast, we were given several choices to choose from and the breakfast entrees tasted delicious. The afternoon wine on the porch was really fun! I would certainly go to the Waverly again if I am ever in the area again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    61
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
232
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Within fifteen minutes of our arrival, we had left the busy world behind and we felt relaxed and at home! The Waverly Inn is a beautiful place with all the right ammenities. The staff was excellent and quickly became friends of ours. The room was decorated beautifully and very well kept. The bed as the most comfortable we have ever slept on away from home. I can't say enough about the food!!! There was a variety of breakfast options and by far the best breakfast we have ever had! We also enjoyed the daily fresh-baked cakes. Sitting on the front porch in rocking chairs while enjoying cheese and wine was the perfect ending to a wonderful day in the mountains. The Waverly Inn is located in a great location, close to restaurants and shops but also close to nature including many trails and waterfalls. We can not wait for our next vacation and trip to The Waverly Inn!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayce, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location is prime - a short walk from the historic downtown area. The staff is very friendly and helpful and always asked after our plans at breakfast, and asked how it went when we saw them in the evening. The breakfasts were the highlight of our stay - delicious pancakes, French toast, and a masterful omelette. The room itself was very nice too. The biggest area of improvement would be the old, noisy window AC units, but complimentary earplugs are provided, so don't let this deter you from staying here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberPwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This was my husband and my first experience with a B&B. We found a great deal on Living Social for the 1898 Waverly Inn, so we decided to give it a try to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. It was a beautiful home on the outside with great landscaping and inside it was so charming. Right from the start we knew we were going to have a great stay. The owners were so friendly and made us feel right at home. Our room the DOGWOOD was really nice and clean. It had a wonderful rice bed with a super comfortable mattress. I loved the claw foot tub with all the free bath products and the 2 super comfortable robes to use! It had a small tv with cable but you could get movies and dvd to watch on the larger tv in the library if you wanted to for free. There was an office, library, and wifi available for free and a wonderful snack area with free coffee, soft drinks, tea, popcorn, and homemade cookies and cakes. They had a reception on the front porch in the evening with snacks and drinks and we really enjoyed meeting new people and getting to know the owners as well. It was nice and quiet at night, and we got a great night sleep. The next morning we awoke to the wonderful smell of breakfast being made. A full wonderful breakfast was included. Everything was homemade, even the jam for the bread! I have to say, it was one of the best nights stay away from home that I have ever had. This is the kind of place that makes you feel at home, and I will definately be staying there again one day. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: a picture of each room is listed on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tby2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My husband and myself, we enjoyed the coziness and the elegance of the place. It was very comfortable and delightful to stay there. It was also very clean and charming.The ladies that ran the place were very helpful and kind. We definitely plan to stay in the Waverly Inn again. The room we stayed in was very attractive. Also, the breakfast was like eating gourmet food, delicious!!!!!!!!
Thank you again,
Gary & Nydia

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We have stayed at the Waverly Inn numerous times over the last ten years. We consider it OUR place when in Western North Carolina. The hosts are friendly, and know everything and everybody concerning Hendersonville and the surrounding area. We have often timed our stays to coincide with performances at the nearby Flat Rock Playhouse.

Okay, the B&B itself.... Although we live over 550 miles away we leave home early enough to make their wine and cheese evening social when we arrive. You get to meet other visitors that way, and learn where they have been spending their time seeing things you may not have seen in the area. The Waverly Inn is indeed within walking distance of the very interesting downtown area of Hendersonville. Lots there even for a husband to enjoy while wifey is shopping. Each morning you arise to the warm smell of coffee and good things being prepared in the kitchen. Their breakfasts are tops!

If you have had knee surgery, or other difficulty with stairs, be sure to request a downstairs room as they don't have an elevator.

All in all, the Waverly Inn is our favorite place to stay in Western North Carolina!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Wow, what a great place! Great people and the best breakfast I have ever had! Its within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Just a great location. We really enjoyed the wine sampling with the cheeses. Best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed in. We will definitely be seeing these great folks again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
752 reviews
2.2 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
458 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
71 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Property: 1898 Waverly Inn
Address: 783 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing