We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“true hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1898 Waverly Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk,CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“true hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

true southern charm and hospitality. Loved breakfast, evening social hour. The room is relatively small, but had all essentials , was very clean and cozy. I truly enjoyed peaceful and relaxing evenings in a rocking chair on a porch. the staff is wonderful. highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalliask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    59
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
225
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the accommodations. The hosts and breakfast crew were very nice, the house is charming, parking was good so overall it made for a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was delicious even though we missed out on the signature dish of French toast - that was disappointing. Wine and cheese on the front porch late in the afternoon was very nice and it gave everyone an opportunity to visit with others and discuss where to eat, places to visit, etc. We stayed in the Hepatica Americana room on the third floor. It was nicely done and comfortable but lacked much space to open a suitcase without it being in the way. The bathroom in this particular room is tiny and manipulating the shower curtain around the claw foot tub was challenging. If you're looking for a more spacious room, choose one of the others. The third floor was also a challenge after all the walking we did during the day! The location couldn't have been nicer...a block or two off the main street where all the shops and restaurants are located...all within walking distance. I personally loved rocking on the front porch and watching the birds at their giant feeders. My only suggestion . . .someone needs to wipe the chair railing and baseboards in the bathroom and do a better job of dusting. Everything that is important to me was clean (bed, tub, toilet, floors) but this would have made it that much better. My husband and I would highly recommend this B&B and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front face a busy street. We couldn't hear traffic over the air conditioner but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for three nights. From the warm staff, the inviting facade and the amazing in town location, I would highly recommend the Waverly. The owners are great, the food is delicious and the rooms are quaint and comfortable. I will definitely stay here agin given the chance.

Room Tip: I got a suite and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cah858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I will agree the hospitality is wonderful as Diane, John & staff do a great job hosting breakfast & the evening social hour. And you can't beat the location with its convenient walk to downtown Hendersonville. However, the room accommodations would greatly benefit from a little TLC. The bathrooms are in need of a good deep cleaning, sprucing up & the beds could use some new mattresses. But yes, the Inn is very quaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the B&B for a week while visiting the area. Hosts were gracious and extremely helpful advising us about the area. The breakfasts were delicious, as were Darla's home made cakes and cookies. We especially enjoyed the wine and cheese on the front porch at 5:00 each day. Highly recommend this B&B. We will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creaky_Kneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reagan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Loved this retreat!!! Everything about the B&B was great from the food and the room to the hospitality that came from the inn keepers! Breakfast was "made to order". We had banana pancakes with pecans and maple syrup among many sides! Yummo! The room had a comfy bed and many fluffy pillows which made for a good night's rest! Highly recommend it and we're already planning another visit! I give it 5 stars all around!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SwaffKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My sister and I were traveling home from Charleston and had to spend an extra night, unexpectedly, and found this charming B&B. They were so gracious! This was a gem of a place that we stumbled upon! We will definitely be back to visit! The staff, food, rooms, claw foot tub, the town, the wine were all wonderful! I have nothing at all to complain about other than I only got to stay one night!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
5.6 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hendersonville Inn
BEST WESTERN Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Property: 1898 Waverly Inn
Address: 783 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing