We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place”
Review of umi

umi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“nice place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great food. Service was also good. They easy found the table for us, though we did not have a reservation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    95
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy food nice outdoor area”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

It is hard to find good sushi in tr mountains of North Carolina but Umi was top notch! Creative rolls, great bento boxes nice wait staff... Only problem is that the sushi chefs don't coordinate their orders so in our party of five we were all served at different times. A bit annoying!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best of WNC - Hendersonville, NC”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

There is a reason Umi keeps getting nominated for one of the best restaurants in WNC (Western North Carolina) - the food and cocktails are outstanding. And yes, we're talking sushi and Japanese food in WNC! It's my go-to restaurant when I have out-of-town guests. Atmosphere is upbeat and sophisticated, but not stuffy; you can go there in jeans and nice shirt and feel comfortable. The restaurant includes a sushi bar, of course and traditional restaurant seating. They accept reservations, a rarity these days, it seems. Food is fresh, tasty, and beautifully presented. Cocktails are fun and sophisticated. I give it a "very good" rating instead of "excellent" for two reasons: sometimes the service is sketchy, it seems they don't have enough servers at times; and they are often out of one of my favorite sushi - uni (sea urchin row). However, for Hendersonville restaurants, consider this an Excellent!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Our first visit was not fabulous. We had a terrible table and service to boot. We live in Hendersonville and decided to try again. I really wanted sushi and kept hearing how wonderful and fresh it was at Umi. Last Saturday we ventured there and it was everything I had been craving. The geisha roll on soy paper was amazing! The tuna melted in your mouth and the tempura crunch added great texture . I dream of that roll at night!

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dacula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The best tempura I've had since living in Japan. Great service and nice surroundings. We'd love to eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed umi also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing