We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute little place where locals meet for coffee.”
Review of Ugly Mug

Ugly Mug
Ranked #82 of 198 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Restaurant details
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A cute little place where locals meet for coffee.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I love coffee, and drink more than 1-cup if I'm sitting with friends, so while the coffee at the Ugly Mug is very good, I'm not happy paying for a second or third cup. Their breakfasts and scones are quite good, but overall, a bit pricey for what they serve.

For a nice quiet place and good, quick cup of Joe, the Ugly Mug is a nice occasional stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stanv
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than Starbucks”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

From light flavored to robust & strong there are options for any coffee lover. And, you don't have to say grande or venti! Better yet, you don't have to pay the extra star"BUCKS"

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We hit the drive thru for a quick cup at work. Staff very conscientious about us getting exactly what we wanted. They have many, many varieties, roasts, and drink choices. Great find!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Telozgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Harsh Name.....Warm Environment”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great coffee, wonderful selection of sweets and breads, warm welcome and comfortable atmosphere to relax away from the rush of the day. Locally owned, non-chain attitude and interest in making your visit relaxing and fulfilling. Great prices .A wonderful escape from any hectic day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality service, fresh pastries, good coffee”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have been coming to the Ugly Mug a couple times a week since moving here a year ago and have to confess, this is a really cool, eclectic coffee shop. Liz the manager knows every regular, if not by name, then most definitely by the type of drink ordered. I counted twenty-one different types of coffee, beans ground fresh for each pot. It's an art watching them carefully create an espresso drink. Coffee, espresso, tea, pastries.
I also have to comment about the way Mackenzie makes their pastries, cookies, muffins, and scones - bar none, the best I've ever tasted. My son orders the quiche. That they got my son to enjoy broccoli alone is worth noting.
In fact, freshness is one of the cornerstone's the owner has instilled upon the entire staff. I'm not a fan of tea but they have an entire cabinet of choices. Bagels are delivered fresh daily from Joey's down the street, the homemade cream cheese is portioned out and the cups are dated. The smoothies are made with fresh puree and the even added Greek yogurt to mine today. The frappe mixes are prepared as you wait, and the little extras like Wi-Fi, clean CLEAN bathrooms - makes this one-of-a-kind coffee shop worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Mug also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ugly Mug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing