We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Springfield Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
QualityInn
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$96
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City(Elizabeth City)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
ComfortInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Inn(Elizabeth City)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
RodewayInn
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
27
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggsthought of everythingcountry breakfastguest roomsb and bnext morninggracious hostshome away from homejoepecanherefordantiquesguestsgoats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Wonderful place to get away for the weekend. The Inn is beautifully decorated. The surrounding farm is charming and fun and the breakfast was fabulous. It was such a treat to have such attentive and friendly service.

Room Tip: The first floor only has twin beds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Doesn't get much better than this....every detail of the furnishings, food, ambiance, was addressed in an elegant, comfortable manner. From the fresh blueberry and peach breakfast parfait at breakfast served in delicate glass, to the antique linens in the guestroom, to the stacks of "Our State" magazines, it's like Mary and Joe said, "Now, what else can we think of to make our guests feel special and pampered?"....The breakfast alone, consisting of eggs fresh from their chickens, grits, biscuits, jams, cheese, and sausage was delicious; and the fact that it was served on beautiful china with even the salt and pepper shakers made from fine pink glass, was the finishing touch. Everything at this B&B is the "finishing touch". This is a refined, elegant, and yet "down-home" experience.....

Room Tip: Our room, "Tama's room" was steeped in history, as are the other rooms, and had a "sheep" theme with pillows, wall hangings, etc. Original painted hardwood floors and original ceiling, plus a comfortable chair, extra bed, tv, fridge, and pretty linens...no AC noise! and yet temp was great, ceiling fan also...
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BFGNagsHead_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were in Hertford for a funeral and knew that there weren't any hotels there. When we found this lovely B&B we decided to give it a try. We were amazed at the home restored to perfection and decorated beautifully. The innkeepers, Mary and Joe White, treated us like family. The food was wonderful. The three days there were too short and we would love to visit again when we would have time to relax and explore their working farm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmgcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My parent's treated me to a night alone from the kids and surprised me with a stay at Springfield. It was heavenly. So quiet and charming. Mary was a kind, caring and very accomodating hostess during my stay. The room was so comfy (I stayed in Tama's room), had a terrific country breakfast and good company at the breakfast table. If you are staying in a country B&B expect grits, bisquits and locally made sausage -- all delicious. I read my book on the swing on the front porch and visite the chickens in the coop behind the house. I saw a newly born baby goat and was given a tour of the beautifully restored farm/grounds and the house. I highly recommend this B&B. I will be returning but next time with my husband!!! One thing that needs adding -- Mary, ya gotta get your pool!! Mary and Joe, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3daughtersHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for our 7th Anniversary and found this home to be a one of a kind hideout. The hostesses, Joe and Mary White, direct descendents of the original Whites of Hertford, welcomed us like dear old friends. Each morning we awoke to the scent of a gourmet breakfast cooking , served with loving care with the utmost attention to presentation and fresh fruit parfaits all homemade by Mrs. White. In the afternoon, we were offered Lemon Pie to compliment our relaxed meanderings around this rescue farm. Tending to newborn baby goats, amidst bold sunsets, we relaxed to a state of mind we'd long forgotten. Tours of the Great Dismal Swamp, the waterfront in Edenton, to Layden's Country Store(dear friends of the Whites)kept us intrigued with a mixture of history and excitement. If you want to relax in a home away from home,offset with exciting adventures surrounding the area, this is the place.

Room Tip: We loved our room, the Hunt Room, and would love to stay in any one of the Whites beautifully decorated rooms. Each room has a theme, ours being horses with family pictures that take you back into time.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erynsnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews