We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum”

Captain Bob's BBQ & Seafood
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Hertford
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Not certain what the rave reviews could be from. The food here is typical fried and bland. The bar-b-que is often dry. I think because it's only one of a few places to eat and the locals love to congregate to chew the fat (pun intended) is why this place is consistently full. Nothing to write home about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayo1VaBch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    22
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mmmm mmmm good!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Traveling on Rt. 17 S/N look for Captain Bob's in Hertford, NC. Loosen your belt and unbutton your slacks you are in for a treat. Great fried chicken, bar-b-q and fresh sweet tea. Not a place for dieters or special food selections.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really good food in a really remote location”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why this place has so many negative reviews, the food was good, service was friendly, and prices were very reasonable. Its not a corporate chain so the decor and building are a little dated, but for being in the middle of nowhere, Captain Bob's is much better than I expected to find. I had the BBQ beef sandwich and would definitely recommend it

Helpful?
Thank ben21horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merry Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stopped by for a late night dinner after shopping the day in Elizabeth City. We had passed by earlier and noticed the parking lot was crowded and it was the same coming back in the evening. We thought this was a good indication of a good home cooked meal since the exterior is nothing to write home about. The food we ordered was average at best. We entered and was greeted by a large crowd of visitors paying there bill at the front counter. There's a Special's Board and Friday night is there Seafood Buffet for $16.95. This may be the reason for the large group of diners. We sat at a table of our choosing and was greeted by a friendly waitress who took our drink order and answered a few special's question. A paper tray of hushpuppies was placed on our table w/ 2 pre-packaged margarine tubs. These were actually quite tasty and fresh. We ordered a la carte off the menus that were on the table. The shrimp po' boy was a huge disappointment. It was fried shrimp served on flattened hamburger bun for $5.49. No fries or side order were included except for a pre-packaged container of cocktail sauce/tartar sauce. I thought I had ordered the Chef's Choice Friday Special for $7.99 of blackened flounder w/ two sides described by our first waitress, but when the bill came I was charged $8.99 and was told by a different waitress that it's part of the regular menu. Go figure.
The flounder was a small portion, but seasoned well and not fishy considering it was served w/ the bottom skin intact. The small side of mash potatoes/gravy were real and tasty. The small side of Brunswick stew was watered down and incl. peas which made the flavor mealy and not a favorite. The worst was the pancake "cornbread" which was cold, hard and not edible. Would have been better served solo like the po' boy shrimp sandwich than to include this on the plate.Thank goodness for the hush puppies and the fact we weren't starving.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theginster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Not a place for me!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I gave this place a 2nd chance thinking they had a bad night. The place is always crowded, and we thought it must be good. But the real reason is that the folks who eat there have no taste buds.
This food is horrible. The NC pulled pork barbecue is mush, the corn bread is a deep fried hockey puck. The veggies are boiled to death. I am a little afraid to try the seafood. You will not see my car in the parking lot again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Bob's BBQ & Seafood also viewed

Hertford, North Carolina Coast
 
Hertford, North Carolina Coast
Hertford, North Carolina Coast
 
Hertford, North Carolina Coast
Hertford, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Bob's BBQ & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing