We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

After having trouble with our first reservations in Hickory, I called the Quality Suites and asked for a block of rooms. The group reservationist Laura was so helpful, even though we were booking at such a late date. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were told they had put the entire group on the same hall in the recently updated rooms. The rooms were great, large, with comfortable beds. I even heard how comfortable the pull out couch was. Very clean. Breakfast was another plus. Hot eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, fruit, hot coffee, etc. They kept it well stocked all morning long. The only complaint I heard from our group was that the AC in some of the rooms wasn't cooling as well. Some had to purchase fans to keep their rooms cool, and we wished they had queens beds instead of full size beds. All in all, though a great little find.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    50
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
48
39
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were driving through NC and looked on our Garmin for a place to stay in Hickoru, NC. We were pleasantly surprised with our room, bed was comfortable, room was decently clean except for a few stains in the carpet, and extra space in the room was a plus. I was a little disappointed that I couldn't access Wi-Fi from the room, but had no problem in the lobby. Breakfast was good. We'll stay here again if we are ever passing through the area. The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Best hotel value in Hickory! I have stayed in this Quality Inn over 50 nights the past 2 years. It used to be Comfort Suites so it is very upscale for a Quality Inn!! Many of the rooms have been recently renovated with new carpet, granite counter tops, flat screen TVs, higher beds, new furniture....everything! The staff is outstanding and very courteous and the new management team brought in 2 years ago is great. They have really made it a better place.

Ask if one of the newly renovated rooms is available upon check-in. Although there are no elevators, the 2nd floor rooms are quieter since there is no one above you.

There are several restaurants within walking distance which is great when you are pulling a trailer and don't want to have to drive for a meal. There is a Cracker Barrel adjacent to the hotel! Other restaurants within 200 yards walking distance include Kobe Japanese, Hooter's, Waffle House, Zaxby's and Outback Steakhouse.

Room Tip: Ask if a newly renovated room on the east side is available upon check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chip1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We booked a one night stay here through Choice Rewards advance purchase and got a king room for around $50. We weren't really expecting much but were pleasantly surprised at how spacious, clean and comfortable the room was. A couple things to note..this is an older 'walk-up' style 2 story property, but we were able to get a first floor room so that wasn't an issue. The amenities are dated, with an old style TV and towels are on the thin side. Other than that the room was fine and suited our needs for a good nights sleep. What made this place a real bargain was the breakfast they served. Mounds of real scrambled eggs, sausage patties and links, sausage gravy and hot biscuits in addition to all the other standard cold items, and everything was good including the coffee. We had just come from a Comfort Suites in Georgia where we paid 30 bucks per night more, the room was musty and the breakfast sucked so we were very happy to have found this place. If you don't mind the walk-up and don't need top of the line amenities, I would absolutely recommend this Quality Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billdozerGroveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My Husband and I was on our way home we were tired and decided to stop, we look at the outside first before we decide on a Motel. The outside was very fomal looking very neat. We decided to stop and I went in to see if they had a room, I was greeted with a smile and made to feel like I was at home. I was told that they had a big hot breaksfast waiting for me the next morning. The Room that we got was the greatest room that we had on our whole trip very spacious and the beds were really great, everything you needed and then the Free Breaksfast was great had a lot of choices to choose from. I would highly recommend this Motel

Room Tip: the room that we had was room no 150 a corner one it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan2013486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This has to be the nastiest hotel I have seen in years. Booked it online and when we told management the room was not satisfactory they told us too bad you already checked in. We ended up paying for an used room for 4 nights. It's not just that it is very dated... It's dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

When we arrived we had been in our car for over 17 hours with our 4 kids. Needless to say we wanted to get in and relax. The desk staff was wonderful and expedited our check in but when we asked about the pool we were told inspectors had not yet verified the installation of newly-installed handicap apparatus. This meant their pool was unavailable and would remain so for the length of our 2 night stay. However, the staff and owner took it upon themselves to call affiliated hotels in the area to inquire about their pools (while I was out relaying the bad news to my family). Unfortunately none of the other area pools had been inspected either. So they called unaffiliated hotels and even the local YMCA to try to solve our little "problem." They went over the top to see us happy but couldn't overcome the fact that a pool wasn't going to be available and so they instead helped us identify other activities we could engage in as a family and our early evening was saved!
The hotel appears to have gone through some recent renovations with carpeting, pool, and landscaping upgrades. We were very happy with the suite we stayed in.
It is close to restaurants like Cracker Barrel and Hooters (walking -75 yards) and fast food, too. Shopping is within just a couple miles. We had no problem getting anywhere in Hickory from the hotel in a hurry. We reserved online a week or so in advance and paid less than $100 per night for a suite with double beds, a fold out sofa, and whirlpool tub.
We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickory
BEST WESTERN Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1125 13th Avenue Dr SE, Exit 125 off Interstate 40, Hickory, NC 28602-5176 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites is under new management as of May 2012. This property has a great location, adjacent to Cracker Barrel and several other resturants. We are less than 10 minutes away from various shopping and malls and Union Square in Downtown Hickory. A complimentary full hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, suasage patties and sausage links, biscuits, gravey, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, waffles, fresh fruits,assorted danishes and assorted cereals is served daily. Outdoor pool is located in the center of our courtyard. Guest laundry is on site. We have a fitness center and business center available to our guests. Pets are allowed with a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hickory
Comfort Suites Hickory
Hickory Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing