We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Rabbit Gut, OK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good room for the price”
Reviewed 24 May 2008

After reading the reviews and making reservations for this hotel I worried that I would be the one that got the bad room. Because after all, its a fifty dollar room on the interstate. It was bound to be dirty or infested or have a bed that rolls you to the middle when you lay on it. Or even worse...All of the above.

Heres the facts

The price was low
The room was clean
The people were friendly
The bed was comfortable
The shower was hot
We were happy

And our luggage was perfectly happy too, while we spent the day exploring the area and having a nice lunch on some of the money we saved on lodging.

I love it when a plan comes together.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Wasn't free
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabbitGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    47
    28
    19
    23
See reviews for
53
47
38
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Stayed overnight on 3/10/08..arrived late and were greeted by very pleasant desk staff. We were originally hesitant as it was one of the cheapest hotels around...and then we were pleasantly surprised. Room was nice, nothing fancy but pleasantly decorated, very clean and comfortable. Had all the amenities..we were also pet friendly and didn't feel like we'd been placed in the worst room in the hotel as happens at many pet friendly hotels.
Plenty of outdoor area to air pets too. Only drawback might be that the room was fairly small, but we were only there overnight and it suited us perfectly.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — small room, hard to see entrance sign
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sremos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summersville wv
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

I searched simply for the lowest priced hotel in Hickory because I wasn't spending a lot of time in the room. I was greeted and checked in by a very nice lady. The room was rather small but it had everything I needed and was very clean. The front desk called and left a message asking if I needed anything.

This is a bargain for the price.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — 2 nearby restaurants closed
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ovieotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 May 2006

Having stayed in 5 star hotels most of my life, I stopped late at night off of exit 125 in Hickory NC and was greeted by a most gracious host by the name of Gary. Although it was 3:00 in the morning he was very alert, friendly, and made me feel more welcome than I have at most 5 star motels. He even walked me to my room and made sure I got in safely. The room was average, but very clean, but the hospitality of the Office personnel certainly made up for the fact that this may not be rate 5 starts by anyone, but after staying here one time, I will definately be back. I was surprised by the quality I received for my price plus the advantage of having a cappicinno machine right in the lobby. If your tired and travelling late at night....take exit 125 off Interstate 40. If your lucky enough to be greeted by Gary you are in for a nice laugh. I appreciate his sence of humour and the kindness he showed a totally exhausted late night traveller. I will definately stay here next time I come through.

Yours truly,
Terrence Mack
Knoxville Tennessee

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 13 in Hickory
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hickory

Property: Red Roof Inn Hickory
Address: 1184 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, I-40 at Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, Exit #125, Hickory, NC 28602-5169
Region: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hickory 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory — THE center for furniture outlet stores! Red Roof Hickory is within 1/2 mile of the Hickory Metro Convention Center and within 1 mile of the Valley Hills Mall and Hickory Furniture Mart. Hickory Speedway, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and L-P Fran Stadium are all within a 10 minute drive from this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing