We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay - unreal value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Hickory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay - unreal value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

When planning to attend my brother-in-law's graduation ceremony at Lenoir-Rhyne College we booked a room at this hotel. Our primary reason in booking this hotel is because it was the only pet friendly place in the area we could find. To our surprise it was extremely affordable, close to the college, convenient off the interstate and there was no additional pet fee which was the biggest surprise. We had never really stayed at a Red Roof before but were pleased to find good reviews on here about the place. We had a great experience from the time we pulled up until the time we left. The front desk staff was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was ready and very clean and very accessible on the first floor. My wife was nearly 8 months pregnant at the time so that was great. The room had 1 king bed which was very comfortable. There was also plenty of room and there were more seating areas for visitors. I booked the room that came with free internet access. It was easy to connect too and worked great. The bathrooms were clean and passed my wife's inspection which is always tough to do. This hotel is in such a great location even if you are not going to be near the college. It is right off I-40 and near all the restaurants and shopping areas. The deal we got was just unreal. I couldn't believe what we paid and how great everything was. Look, it's not the Hilton but everyone should know that. You don't stay there for luxury, however, it is clean, in a great location, very affordable and has plenty of extras you need for a good stay. My wifes family stayed at what I guess they thought were "classier, more expensive" hotels and would not stay where we did. I visited their rooms and I would stay at the Red Roof over theirs in a heart beat. Thanks Red Roof! Two thumbs up. Maybe we'll see you again one day. If we're ever in Hickory thats a definite.

  • Liked — pet friendly, no pet fee, location, value
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jlfharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    46
    26
    16
    21
See reviews for
48
40
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rabbit Gut, OK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

After reading the reviews and making reservations for this hotel I worried that I would be the one that got the bad room. Because after all, its a fifty dollar room on the interstate. It was bound to be dirty or infested or have a bed that rolls you to the middle when you lay on it. Or even worse...All of the above.

Heres the facts

The price was low
The room was clean
The people were friendly
The bed was comfortable
The shower was hot
We were happy

And our luggage was perfectly happy too, while we spent the day exploring the area and having a nice lunch on some of the money we saved on lodging.

I love it when a plan comes together.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Wasn't free
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabbitGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

Stayed overnight on 3/10/08..arrived late and were greeted by very pleasant desk staff. We were originally hesitant as it was one of the cheapest hotels around...and then we were pleasantly surprised. Room was nice, nothing fancy but pleasantly decorated, very clean and comfortable. Had all the amenities..we were also pet friendly and didn't feel like we'd been placed in the worst room in the hotel as happens at many pet friendly hotels.
Plenty of outdoor area to air pets too. Only drawback might be that the room was fairly small, but we were only there overnight and it suited us perfectly.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — small room, hard to see entrance sign
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sremos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summersville wv
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

I searched simply for the lowest priced hotel in Hickory because I wasn't spending a lot of time in the room. I was greeted and checked in by a very nice lady. The room was rather small but it had everything I needed and was very clean. The front desk called and left a message asking if I needed anything.

This is a bargain for the price.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — 2 nearby restaurants closed
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ovieotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2006

Having stayed in 5 star hotels most of my life, I stopped late at night off of exit 125 in Hickory NC and was greeted by a most gracious host by the name of Gary. Although it was 3:00 in the morning he was very alert, friendly, and made me feel more welcome than I have at most 5 star motels. He even walked me to my room and made sure I got in safely. The room was average, but very clean, but the hospitality of the Office personnel certainly made up for the fact that this may not be rate 5 starts by anyone, but after staying here one time, I will definately be back. I was surprised by the quality I received for my price plus the advantage of having a cappicinno machine right in the lobby. If your tired and travelling late at night....take exit 125 off Interstate 40. If your lucky enough to be greeted by Gary you are in for a nice laugh. I appreciate his sence of humour and the kindness he showed a totally exhausted late night traveller. I will definately stay here next time I come through.

Yours truly,
Terrence Mack
Knoxville Tennessee

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickory
BEST WESTERN Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hickory

Property: Red Roof Inn Hickory
Address: 1184 Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, I-40 at Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, Exit #125, Hickory, NC 28602
Region: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hickory 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory — THE center for furniture outlet stores! Red Roof Hickory is within 1/2 mile of the Hickory Metro Convention Center and within 1 mile of the Valley Hills Mall and Hickory Furniture Mart. Hickory Speedway, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and L-P Fran Stadium are all within a 10 minute drive from this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing