We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Pantego, NC, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed a bit”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The reviews were good. So, we booked it. The price was ok. The sign at check-in said free coffee making materials in the king rooms. We had a king room and no coffee materials anywhere. There was a Sub sandwich in the refrigerator. Question is: How long? We declined to find out. There was matted hairs in the tub. Not one or two, but probably 20+. Long, black ones. Forgot to check when booking, but USUALLY, a motel has some type of breakfast. This one, nada, none, nothing. So, all in all, probably would not stay here again or recommend this motel. For some of you, you would love this place. It allows pets. We know, because the guy next door had 3 dogs that barked at any noise, anywhere within earshot. They also had 3 handicapped rooms, of which I had one. They had one handicapped parking space for 3 rooms. Anyone see any problem with this?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBPantego_NC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like you to know that we truly value all feedback and take all complaints seriously. I understand how distressing it can be to go into a room that was not properly cleaned. I have recently completed a re-training program with many of the staff members and we feel confident as a team that this type of situation will not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and providing us the opportunity to improve our level of service. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop in and give us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made.

Sincerely,

Kimberly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    47
    27
    17
    22
See reviews for
52
43
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Room was clean but spartan--no mini-fridge for example. Hotel is convenient to the interstate and there are plenty of places to eat nearby--some within walking distance. Staff was friendly at check in and check out was a simple dropping of the keys on the front desk counter. If you simply need a place to stay that is quiet and reasonably priced, this hotel is worth your consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our Inn! Our staff knows the importance of maintaining a positive, friendly, and professional presence at all times. We truly want each and every guest to feel Confident, Significant, and Delighted with our service and our rooms. We know that you have many choices for your lodging needs and we thank you for choosing us. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back to Hickory Red Roof Inn any time!


Kimberly Wensil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pungoteague, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stopped here on a road trip with small dogs. Room was clean. Able to park car right outside room. Staff was efficient and friendly. Grounds were clean where dogs were walked, plenty of grassy areas. Bed comfortable. Great value for just an overnight stay and as a single traveler felt relatively safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZO2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Traveler,

THANK YOU! We are so glad that you have found value in our Inn. As you know we are pet friendly and love meeting our guests pets! We take pride in providing not only you with a clean room to stay in, but providing all our pets with clean grounds to play on! I will share your comments with the staff and we look forward to the next time you pass through.

Thanks Again,

Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Downside: The standard hotel room was VERY SMALL. The bathroom was a miniature closet space with a toilet and tub, sink was outside with the room. Air conditioner was old and noisy. My itinerary said I could check in at 1 PM, but beware that the staff won't let you check in until 3 pm (apparently this is their guideline)

Upside: Bed was comfortable, towels replaced everyday during our 3 day stay.

Room Tip: If you have claustrophobia, I wouldn't recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazed071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Values Guest,

We are very sorry that your air condtioner unit was noisy. It is our goal to ensure that each guest has a pleasant restful stay with us.Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have been replacing all older units in efforts to correct this problem. We hope that you will come back and stay with us and see the changes that we have been making.

Thank You,

Kimberly Wensl GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

First let me say that if you're a smoker and have no sense of smell, you'll think I'm crazy.

If you are NOT a smoker, then be warned. Though the rooms look ok, they might as well have installed air conditioners from a chain smoker's home! Our family booked two rooms, BOTH smelled terribly of cigarette smoke, (even though they were non-smoking) and one had a broken air conditioner. The rooms were fairly clean but the air-conditioners were blowing out horribly stinky air the whole night. I even woke up thinking I was smelling burned spaghetti sauce it was so pungent!

NASTY!

we cancelled our reservation for the remaining nights. Also we were not offered any discounted price due to the nasty air.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker choose another hotel! All "Non-Smoking" means in the advertisem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Values Guest,

Let me say that I sincerely apologize for the smell that the air conditioners were putting off in your room. At Red Roof Inn in Hickory we truely care for each and every guest and hope that each guest has a positive experience. I would like you to know that we have ordered several new air conditioners and have spent a great deal of time to ensure that this problem never happens again. We do hope that you will come and stay with us again and give us the chance to show you that each concern is addressed and corrected. I want to sincerely thank you for bringing this problem to our attention. You have given us another way to improve the quality of service that we can offer our guests!

Thank You,

Kimberly Wensil, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

So much better then i thought! The best motel I have ever stayed in!!!! No problems! The bed was AMAZING!!! I slept SO well! The staff was great! The room was clean..I will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nette2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
THANKS!!!

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We absolutely love feedback at Red Roof. Feedback lets us know when we are doing well and when we have room for improvement! I am so pleased that you had a positive experience with us during your stay. I am even happier to hear that you will be back. We look forward to serving you again. I will let the staff know of your great review!

Thanks,

Kimberly Wensil, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Excellent stay. I just finished writing a review for this chain for a location in Chapel Hill NC. We stayed in this one on our return a couple weeks later. It is a mirror of the other one. It is an excellent place to stay. We were in a Superior King and it's well worth it to reserve. It's clean, fresh and pretty. Great value and a wonderful nights sleep. We have a new favorite in Red Roof Inn. The service was wonderful and with a smile.

Room Tip: Go for the King Superior. It's worth the few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkansasfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
THANK YOU!

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that we are your new favorite chain! That's Great. We take great pride in knowing that you have plenty of other choices for your travel needs but you have chosen us! I will be sure to pass along your review to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again and prviding you with great servce.

Thank You,

Kimberly Wensil, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 13 in Hickory
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hickory

Property: Red Roof Inn Hickory
Address: 1184 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, I-40 at Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, Exit #125, Hickory, NC 28602-5169
Region: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hickory 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory — THE center for furniture outlet stores! Red Roof Hickory is within 1/2 mile of the Hickory Metro Convention Center and within 1 mile of the Valley Hills Mall and Hickory Furniture Mart. Hickory Speedway, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and L-P Fran Stadium are all within a 10 minute drive from this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing