We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Clean off the Interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Cheap and Clean off the Interstate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Last week my fiance and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Hickory, NC while visiting family in that part of NC. The hotel was bare bones, but very clean and well within our tight after-Christmas budget.

Our room was not large, but it was spacious enough. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional. We had a microwave and a desk. The woman at the front desk was kind and gave us a 12:30 PM check-out even though their stated check-out in 11:00 AM.

This hotel won't win any awards for beauty or atmosphere, but for cleanliness and friendliness on a tight budget it's well worth it.

Room Tip: We chose our rooms via priceline.com, and got a king-sized bed with amenities such as a microwave fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mboyd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your honest assessment of our location! We are here for travelers who need clean rooms at a nice price. I am glad you stopped in to see us and hope that you will visit other locations. Red Roof Inn has some wonderful changes in store. Keep your eyes on us to see what's coming next!

Thanks!!

Kimberly =) GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    46
    26
    17
    22
See reviews for
50
40
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Years ago I routinely stayed at Red Roof but the chain was sold and the new owners failed to maintain the standards of the founders. After encountering more than one dirty and poorly maintained room and no satisfaction from corporate when I complained I simply stopped staying at the chain for the past several years. However this location was near where I needed to be the next day and I was able to book at a very reasonable rate. I also knew new corporate owners had purchases from the previous. I took a chance and was delighted. Room was new, clean and beautifully appointed and comfortable. Staff extremely courteous. Exceptional price value. I also like a room where I can park at my door and not down a long interior noisy corridor and far from a fire or emergency exit. Overall I was delighted with this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you gave our brand a try again! With over 300 inns throughout the United States and most being renovated I am sure that you will find other locations that you enjoyed as much as ours. We are truly happy to have such a great staff who genuinely cares for each and every guest we have the opportunity to serve. I hope that you will visit other locations and keep being pleasantly surprised!!

Thank you so much!

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable room at a very good price. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was nicely appointed and extremely clean. The location is very convenient off of I-40. Having experienced a few sub-standard motels over the years, staying at this property was a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive review. I am so pleased to hear that you had a good stay. Many guests do appreciate the fact that we are so close to the interstate. Our staff takes pride in providing clean rooms and excellent customer service. We are so happy to greet and serve every person that comes our way. We look forward to serving you again.

Thanks Again,

Kimberly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pantego, NC, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The reviews were good. So, we booked it. The price was ok. The sign at check-in said free coffee making materials in the king rooms. We had a king room and no coffee materials anywhere. There was a Sub sandwich in the refrigerator. Question is: How long? We declined to find out. There was matted hairs in the tub. Not one or two, but probably 20+. Long, black ones. Forgot to check when booking, but USUALLY, a motel has some type of breakfast. This one, nada, none, nothing. So, all in all, probably would not stay here again or recommend this motel. For some of you, you would love this place. It allows pets. We know, because the guy next door had 3 dogs that barked at any noise, anywhere within earshot. They also had 3 handicapped rooms, of which I had one. They had one handicapped parking space for 3 rooms. Anyone see any problem with this?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBPantego_NC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like you to know that we truly value all feedback and take all complaints seriously. I understand how distressing it can be to go into a room that was not properly cleaned. I have recently completed a re-training program with many of the staff members and we feel confident as a team that this type of situation will not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and providing us the opportunity to improve our level of service. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop in and give us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made.

Sincerely,

Kimberly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Room was clean but spartan--no mini-fridge for example. Hotel is convenient to the interstate and there are plenty of places to eat nearby--some within walking distance. Staff was friendly at check in and check out was a simple dropping of the keys on the front desk counter. If you simply need a place to stay that is quiet and reasonably priced, this hotel is worth your consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our Inn! Our staff knows the importance of maintaining a positive, friendly, and professional presence at all times. We truly want each and every guest to feel Confident, Significant, and Delighted with our service and our rooms. We know that you have many choices for your lodging needs and we thank you for choosing us. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back to Hickory Red Roof Inn any time!


Kimberly Wensil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pungoteague, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stopped here on a road trip with small dogs. Room was clean. Able to park car right outside room. Staff was efficient and friendly. Grounds were clean where dogs were walked, plenty of grassy areas. Bed comfortable. Great value for just an overnight stay and as a single traveler felt relatively safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZO2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Traveler,

THANK YOU! We are so glad that you have found value in our Inn. As you know we are pet friendly and love meeting our guests pets! We take pride in providing not only you with a clean room to stay in, but providing all our pets with clean grounds to play on! I will share your comments with the staff and we look forward to the next time you pass through.

Thanks Again,

Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Downside: The standard hotel room was VERY SMALL. The bathroom was a miniature closet space with a toilet and tub, sink was outside with the room. Air conditioner was old and noisy. My itinerary said I could check in at 1 PM, but beware that the staff won't let you check in until 3 pm (apparently this is their guideline)

Upside: Bed was comfortable, towels replaced everyday during our 3 day stay.

Room Tip: If you have claustrophobia, I wouldn't recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazed071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Values Guest,

We are very sorry that your air condtioner unit was noisy. It is our goal to ensure that each guest has a pleasant restful stay with us.Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have been replacing all older units in efforts to correct this problem. We hope that you will come back and stay with us and see the changes that we have been making.

Thank You,

Kimberly Wensl GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickory
BEST WESTERN Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hickory

Property: Red Roof Inn Hickory
Address: 1184 Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, I-40 at Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, Exit #125, Hickory, NC 28602
Region: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hickory 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory — THE center for furniture outlet stores! Red Roof Hickory is within 1/2 mile of the Hickory Metro Convention Center and within 1 mile of the Valley Hills Mall and Hickory Furniture Mart. Hickory Speedway, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and L-P Fran Stadium are all within a 10 minute drive from this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing