We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerywood Fine Foods - CLOSED

Emerywood Fine Foods
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant to be refreshing in its menu options and decorating. Great little lunch place.

Helpful?
Thank ditzymudgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
405 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Always good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We come here a lot and it is always good! The service is great and the food is always good! We eat a lot
of salads and sandwiches there and they are always inventive with ingredients and the dressings are delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Blacksheep101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
385 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Triad Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Finally took the opportunity to have lunch at this High Point favorite (5 years old now) that emphasizes fresh ingredients and excellent service in a small, intimate environment. This place is indeed small, and busy - they apparently do a very large takeout business, and folks were hurrying in and out to pick up orders. They offer a nice variety of salads, soups, sandwiches, and plates for lunch.

We were greeted immediately and warmly, and chose the small bar area for our seating - I very often eat in the bar areas of restaurants, especially the smaller ones, because it is often quieter and the service is almost always excellent - and that was true here.

We ordered the Three Salad Sampler ($8.65), choosing Eggs Salad, Spicy Pimento Cheese, and Southern-Style Pasta Salad. They also offer Rosemary Chicken Salad, Tuna Salad, Potato Salad, Three Bean Salad, and Caesar Salad.

Our 3 choices were outstanding. The Pimento Cheese has some nice tang to it, and the taste and texture are very, very nice. The cheese is actually grated, using a small hole grater, and this is just an excellent version of this dish - in fact, one of the very best I've had. The Egg Salad is its equal in every way - the taste is full flavored with some zip. They blend in some chopped egg whites to give the texture a nice touch - again, as good as it can be.

The Southern-Style Pasta is also very good - nice amount of spiraled pasta, mayo based - nice in taste and the amount was more than good. We took home a pint of all 3 salads.

The Philadel-icious steak sandwich ($8.95 with a side) was also excellent. Plenty of thin slice beef, loaded on a nice crusty, toasted sub roll, with provolone cheese, portobella mushroom, carmalized onions, lettuce, tomato, and mayo. No drieness at all to this sandwich. The side was a well-sized garden salad with great blue cheese dressing. Brought half the sandwich home. Also tried their Oatmeal/Raisin cookie - OMG.

Met the owner, Steve Shellberg, and talked with him for a few minutes - nice, very friendly guy - UNC grad, extensive restaurant experience with Darryl's, Olive Garden, and others in the SE area. Proud of his restaurant, and rightly so - this is a small, but precious gem in this area.

We'll be back - can't wait to try the dinner menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although I really love this place, either the service or food is never in sync. My last experience was only fair. I was literally served a burnt sandwich, honestly black, and had to wait until everyone had finished eating to be noticed by our waiter. So, bummer to eat while everyone had finished, but is quite the tasty sandwich when cooked correctly. They usually have great sandwiches and salads and are most definitely reasonably priced. Will go again, but walk up to the register if I need service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends...eat here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Meet your friends here for lunch! Gracious staff, fun atmosphere and good food! Try the "To brie or not to brie" sandwich. It's great with a cup of soup! I tried a salad today; and while it was very large, the quality of lettuce used just could have been better. It was a little disappointing. The sandwiches are tastier.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emerywood Fine Foods also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing