We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Live up to Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Didn't Live up to Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Perhaps it is because the name Biltmore raised my expectations, but this was really not a great stay. I was only there one night, thank goodness. The "suite" was handicapped accessible, yet incredibly narrow and tight. Not sure how maneuverable it would be for someone confined to a chair. We requested an early check-in (not available) and the room still wasn't cleaned at 3:30 pm.

The suite did have a microwave/refrigerator which was appreciated. Cleanliness of the hallways and our room was not up to my standards and didn't appear to have been vacuumed recently.

I heard more noises from rooms next door and above than I have ever encountered. It was a very noisy night and sounds travel through the ceiling incredibly well in this hotel. If your neighbor uses the facility at 3 am, you will know about it.

The breakfast was included in the cost of the room. There was cereal, breads, waffle-maker, fruit and juice/coffee provided. I would have liked bacon/eggs or some other protein, but it was nice to have a complimentary breakfast as an option. Parking was very convenient and the staff were responsive to requests.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful night ask for an upper corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesJefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    41
    29
    21
    30
See reviews for
46
47
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here recently because the hotel was listed as an affiliate for the Kersey Valley Dark Circus attraction this Halloween, and offered a free shuttle between the hotel and the attraction. I should have just stayed somewhere else and gotten a cab. Maybe this is unusual for the property, but I heard while waiting in line that the hotel was sold out for the night. The hotel was clearly grossly understaffed to handle a large amount of check-ins at once. I waited in line to check in for more than 20 minutes because there was only one front desk person, who seemed completely confused and overwhelmed by the line in front of her.

I had booked a room with a jacuzzi because it was the same rate as the other rooms with the group rate, and I had been looking forward to relaxing in the tub. However, there was a ton of black mold between the tiles and in the caulking, which made me feel like the tub was very unsanitary and I wondered how long it had been since it had been cleaned properly. It was disgusting.

Well, finally it was time for what I had booked the hotel for - riding the shuttle to get to the attraction. There were more than twenty of us standing around outside waiting for the shuttle to arrive when a white Tahoe pulled up. Apparently, they have a shuttle bus, but it was broken down so the Tahoe was the only option available. This was a real problem because the hotel is not close at all to the attraction - a round trip for the shuttle to get there and come back took 30-45 minutes. I ended up waiting about an hour for a ride. The Tahoe had room for seven passengers, but we crammed elevent people total in there by having an extra person on each row and two squeezed into a very small space in the trunk, which was quite clearly unsafe. No one could buckle up because we were so tightly crammed into the Tahoe that we couldn't reach the seat belts. I know I at least tried.

I had a good time at the attraction, and had to wait again for the shuttle on the way home. One of the other guests had gotten very drunk, and when we returned to the hotel, the night front desk person was outside trying to tell him that he couldn't throw up outside the building, which I thought was extremely unprofessional. Yes, it's disgusting when people throw up, but it's poor customer service to boss customers around for any reason.

I was overall unimpressed. The only reason I have given this place two stars instead of one was that the woman driving the Tahoe was professional and friendly. She was apparently the hotel manager - which makes me wonder where their driver was if the manager was forced to drive the shuttle. Either way, my stay was not good and I would not stay here again. I would say this hotel had the pricing of a 2-3 star hotel with the quality of a 1 star. You might as well stay at a cheap motel and save your money if you are considering staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calivianya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for visiting and attending the Dark Circus event. This was our first year participating as the host hotel for the event and so naturally, there are some learning curves to overcome. Your feedback plays a very important role in our success with the event next year and for that, I sincerely thank you. We are in the process of renovating our hotel and are excited about the changes that are happening and that are yet to come. I am glad that you had a great time at the Dark Circus and will share your feedback with my team as well as the team at Kersey Valley Attractions. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was there just this week and had a very pleasant visit there. The Front Desk and the Manager are just awsome. Thank you for just a great stay. I normally do not sleep well away from home but I had a great sleep. When I woke up and working on my laptop I heard the planes taking off and or landing at the airport, but they never bothered me thru the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22ClaudiaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and staff! We look forward to having you as a guest of the hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a wonderful stay we had, went to a Wedding, went to the Biltmore, very pleasant experience, very nice people, I recommend this to all who goes to North Carolina, shopping was nice, and very pleasant, my only problem with North Carolina is that it is just to hot and humid, never experienced that before, you can take a shower and when you go outside you need another one, the best of it all was the Swimming Pool in the evening, they provide you with in the room a bathrobe and slippers, the room service was so great, the food was good, had a blast with the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wifi ony gave a "fair" signal which wasn't strong enough, so I used my husband's phone's hot spot. I reported to them about the blanket which was full of holes due to the material from which it was made. You pull up to make up the bed and your fingers go through the material. I thought the blanket would be replaced, but we had the same one. My concern would be to not get charged for it; hopefully we did not. A countertop with the microwave and coffeepot area had a substance permanently attached in several areas to the surface resembling dried glue. Renovations are definitely in progress, showing a nice lobby entrance. Our jacuzzi suite was quite interesting, plus we got a discounted price, making it equitable to a competitive hotel. The jacuzzi does take some time to fill, as the hot water pressure is weak, but the jets work. The location of the TV was not ideal, but I had the idea that perhaps it will be replaced by a wall mount TV. When you laid in bed your toes would be in the way of the screen! Very convenient location for restaurants, gas stations, etc. without the street noise. Breakfast was adequate with oatmeal, waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc., but not a full service hot eggs and meat meal. Very friendly staff! I would stay here again! Recommend that you ask for a renovated room.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbnache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for providing specific details! We are working on increasing our internet speed and connectivity, so hopefully next time you are in town, you will be happy with the difference. I am sorry this affected you during your most recent visit. Our renovation is definitely on-going and is to include a new type of bedding and new appliances. We look forward to having you back as a guest of ours in the near future and hopefully you will be excited to see the changes that we are working very hard to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently during a race. All other hotels were booked, and after traveling all night and then searching for a hotel for 2-3 hours, we settled here. WHY??? Ok, first the room is [--] for the price, the Jacuzzi is an old as Jacuzzi from back in the days and it was dirty. The coach was dirty, the bed was uncomfortable and the cheap as sheets and towels broke me out. The bathroom was nasty, the door looks like someone had tried to break in and it's too open. No ashtrays in a smoking room, and an old as T.V.. Then after I wanted my money back, they said that they didn't do cash refunds, so I asked for a manager, who didn't come in until the next morning. I called early that morning and she said she couldn't do a refund, the general manager would have to do it on Monday when he comes in. She said she could give us a free night, didn't want to stay there, but was tired and didn't have a choice seeing that everything else was booked up. But I will definitely not return, EVER!!!...Didn't even want there breakfast, just wanted to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not such a pleasant one. We are making great strides to improve our hotel with renovation and added amenities. We pride ourselves in our personal guest service and guest advocacy. I am sorry that we did not keep all of our promises to you. I sincerely hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future as great things are happening at the Biltmore Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have stayed at the Biltmore Suites Hotel for several months as a long-term guest. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff is very friendly and personable. The staff knows my name and takes pride in the property. Updated rooms, new flat screen televisions, brand new beds, and new spacious refrigerators have all been big improvements I have observed first hand. The hotel is located in a quiet and safe professional district away from the loud freeway, but conveniently situated as to allow quick access to all major routes. Excellent restaurants are directly across the street and well as several gas stations. Free Wi-Fi and grab-and-go breakfast are great perks. As compared to other higher end hotels, the Biltmore Suites offers a lot without the inflated price. If you are looking for a very nice hotel without the high price, then I recommend this place. Especially, if you are needing short-term or extended stay rates, the management is great and will work with you. I plan on staying for even a longer term than originally scheduled. High marks!

Room Tip: No smoking rooms are available. Free parking and shuttle to major local events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F, General Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We are so fortunate to have such loyal guests and nothing makes us more happy as a team to hear of wonderful experiences. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these High Point hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
5.4 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.0 mi away
J.H. Adams Inn
J.H. Adams Inn
#2 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#8 of 14 in High Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in High Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biltmore Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Suites Hotel

Property: Biltmore Suites Hotel
Address: 4400 Regency Dr, High Point, NC 27265-8029
Region: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Biltmore Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Biltmore Suites Hotel is conveniently located near Piedmont Triad International Airport, furniture shops, dining, shopping malls, and entertainment. The hotel offers many amenities to better accommodate your stay. The Biltmore Suites Hotel is the Triad's Best Value in Quality Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Biltmore Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel High Point
The Biltmore Hotel Greensboro Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing