We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were upgraded in our room at no request for my...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    203
    122
    61
    30
See reviews for
254
120
42
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamlet, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel was far enough off the main road so it was quiet. The room was in great shape and very clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a simulated fireplace which was a very nice touch! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was clean and nicely stocked. My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at this property. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Place used to be great years ago but no longer. Hotel lobby now ruined with a bland open nothing but boring space. Who picked the floors???? Some gross metalic gray throughout the lobby. Who picked the color for the outside lobby?? Mustard yellow? Seriously! My bathroom was disgusting with broken cracked missing calk that looked 20 years old around the tub. My AC unit was on but barely blew out air it was so old and tired. Elevator also old and beatup they should do something about it. A huge bug was in my room upon arrival. Needs a repaving outside but they said everything was done. I complained they were nice but seemed perplexed. They said the room was renovated but not the bathroom and the rest of the room looked clean but old. Did they miss my room???? DId they even look to see if the work was done in their own hotel?? I dont think so. Someone asleep at the swich here

Room Tip: Tell then to renovate the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodfood212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, SC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I wanted to stay in this hotel because I had read some reviews that were positive. When I initially called this hotel for a room with two beds, they told me they were booked up and had no room, but I went through Booking.com and was able to reserve a double bed room. When we wernt to check in, at first they had no record of us getting reservations, but when they saw it was through Booking.com, it was easily remedied. I think someone may have forgotten to key us in. Our room was on the second floor, it was comfy with lots of room and we had a FIREPLACE. It was a little cool in the room, so this was nice. The TV, a flat screen, was big enough to be able to be viewed easily anywhere in the room. My daughters went to the pool, and they said the water was cold. Not only that, when they took two towels, I later realized we only HAD two towels in our bathroom so we had to go downstairs to get more, but that wasn't an issue. We also got extra shampoo since my girls use a LOT of it washing their hair. Later on when I went to turn on a little air, our A/C didn't work, so I called the front desk. They were all set to send someone up immediately but I told them not to worry about sending someone that night as it wasn't that warm, but to put it on the record that it needed to be checked. It seems they are still upgrading their A/C units. They're renovating, so it's expected. We went for their free breakfast the next morning and even though they start at 7, they actually let us get started at 6:45 since we had a lot of people that were coming in and had to leave early. The selection was excellent, but there is a tip jar. Leave a tip, they do a fantastic job. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Took a chance that the Wingate remodel was done and booked this hotel for two nights. The much-needed remodeling project is barely underway. Positives: The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was convenient; breakfast was quite good with a huge variety of items; and the mattress was excellent and the room was clean.

Negatives: Bathroom lighting was terrible; Shower was conducive to slips/falls and the old whirlpool tub surround looking terrible; Hide-a-bed sofa was typically uncomfortable to sit upon and the upholstery was really showing its age. Layout of the room was quirky. The ELECTRIC fireplace and opposite corner microwave/dorm refrigerator area just ate up valuable space. Linens were mismatched but clean. One tiny elevator for a hotel of this size is rather disappointing. The door to our room did not close snugly and therefore left a huge crack that allowed light and noise to enter from the hallway as well as being a potential security issue. The tap water smelled and tasted horrible and whatever product was used for carpet freshening severely aggravated our nasal allergies. I will likely seek other lodging when I next visit High Point or at least make certain the renovation project has been completed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electriciandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The level of friendliness and service at this hotel reminds me of a different gentler era. I love the hotel. The rooms are cozy, the gas fire place is charming and warm. I have had 2 types of rooms on my visits, the queen and the king jacuzzi. Both were nice; the rooms are big, desk area and couch setting areas are very comfortable and the beds sleep great. There is a microwave and small fridge just the right size to keep some snacks or heat up leftovers. The gym and pool are intimate, I worked out on the treadmill. The business center computer area is very accessible.

I think that the hotel atmosphere makes the people more friendly. When people come to breakfast they talk and share. I attribute that to the nice breakfast area and the excellent breakfast fare provided. There is a good selection of fruits, cereals, waffles, fruit juices and more. The chef is so accommodating and his gravy and biscuits are delicious. If I were to make one suggestion it would be to get better/larger plastic forks.

Finally, I cannot say enough about the front desk staff. I arrive late night for each stay and am instantly and warmly greeted. During my stay staff is eager to provide recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area. Last month when several of us were snowed in, we congregated in the breakfast lounge and laughed and talked and made waffles.

Recently, the Ashford Suites changed to a Wingate by Wyndham. I hope Wyndham realizes what a great asset they have added to its flag. The new renovations are very nice, but the service and quality of care given to the guests make it a hotel worth visiting.

Room Tip: I like the jacuzzi king room, but the 2 queen room is nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Point
5.3 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.9 mi away
J.H. Adams Inn
J.H. Adams Inn
#2 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#9 of 14 in High Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham High Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham High Point

Property: Wingate by Wyndham High Point
Address: 3901 Sedgebrook St, High Point, NC 27265-8703 (Formerly Ashford Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham High Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham High Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing